Author Topic: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!  (Read 5978 times)

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« on: January 27, 2010, 02:57:56 pm »
Here it is. Only 96 games covered to start with, plus 4 remakes.

FPS and new games sections are not up and running/

It is work in progress and things may be added / changed / deleted over time.

http://www.retrogamesreview.com/

Enjoy!

eule

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 889
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 03:06:51 pm »
Cool, i already found some gems i never heard before of.  ;D
bookmarked!

darfgarf

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 03:26:28 pm »
nice, with more content it could prove to be an epic site  ;D

Kalisiin

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 04:12:47 pm »
Bookmarked for later perusal.

Meneer Jansen

  • Posts: 511
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2010, 04:55:47 pm »
Wow! Cool site.  :)
Finally got me a new Dingoo after I Kentucky ~~::fried::~~ the other one. Yippee! [edit] And lost it!

Shred

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 139
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2010, 05:28:23 pm »
Nice site, I like the layout and the format but I do think the reviews are a tad too short for a 'review' site.
I know they are supposed to be kept short and sweet but to me they seem like blurb descriptions with a sentence or two tacked on the end describing the graphics/sound etc.

Overall, looks very promising if more content and more meaty reviews are written. Keep up the good work Hellsing.

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2010, 05:54:47 pm »
Alot of game are very old and most people know what they are. Some have longer reviews/summaries, such as Zelda Ocarina of Time, but others such as Bounder are very basic and don't really need a big review.

Still trying to get the right balance between info about the game and how it play. Have included the video to show how it plays to I don't have to describe it.

They're more like reminders than reviews at the moment.

Plan to reach about 650 reviews/summaries by end on 2010.

If you want to write a review you can send it to me via the email address on the site. Make sure it will fit in the text boxes or I'll have to edit it down. You will get credit on the page. Don't send any attachments as they will be deleted, add to body text.

Any feedback is welcome, I won't take it personally as its just a bit of fun for me.



« Last Edit: January 27, 2010, 05:58:09 pm by Hellsing1 »

Shred

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 139
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2010, 09:20:51 pm »
Any plans to include sections for Sinclair Spectrum and Sega Master System? They were much loved machines for us English folk. :)
Maybe just adding a few of the best exclusive titles for those platforms?


Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2010, 09:25:56 pm »
Hi, I am from England as well - Spectrum - possible but as I had to pick one of the other , C64 or Spectrum to start with, and I had a C64 and graphics were more colourful and sound was much better.

Master system - not sure as, may add a misc section but most games were available on the other system, Mega Drive for example. I tried to pick the best version of the game and covered that.

May happen but not for a long time. MSX and Dreamcast are currently being worked on.

Shred

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 139
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2010, 10:01:34 pm »
To be honest, there wasn't a great deal of AAA exclusive titles for the SMS. A lot of the library consisted of Arcade ports and the like. But there were some gems hidden away such as the original Phantasy Star, Alex Kidd and Zillion. So yeah a Misc section makes sense.

While the C64 was technically superior to the Speccy, there was a wealth of great titles available for both platforms. Ultimate (Play the Game) who later evolved into the company Rare produced quite a few quality games for the Spectrum. Plus who can forget the seminal classics such as Manic Miner and Jet Set Willy?

I'm quite surprised you are covering the MSX which wasn't at all popular in the UK and US. Although I understand there were quite a few Jap games made for it.

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2010, 10:09:01 pm »
Hi,

I had an MSX in the 80s and loved it. That's the only reason is going in. There only about 16 games worth covering so I can get it out of the way quite quickly.

It was home to the original Metal Gear Series, Bomberman and Parodius

Nickeng

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2010, 12:19:31 am »
Hi,

I had an MSX in the 80s and loved it. That's the only reason is going in. There only about 16 games worth covering so I can get it out of the way quite quickly.

It was home to the original Metal Gear Series, Bomberman and Parodius

I have one too in fact still got it the Konami games on it was ace.

santino

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2010, 12:26:16 pm »
I know gba isnt that retro, but could you add a section? Think it would be nice, because gba is the best emulator on the dingoo imho. :)

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2010, 01:07:55 pm »
The systems to be added are MSX, Dreamcast, Saturn, GBA, NES and Arcade.

I have complied a list of each system, but its going to take along time to do.

Its a lot harder to write reviews/summaries than I thought it would be.

strider_mt2k

  • Posts: 218
    • Dingoo Scene-Voice of the Dingoo Revolution!
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2010, 01:14:54 pm »
Bookmarked!
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4
Toshiba Excite 10 AT300
Ouya!

Nickeng

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2010, 01:42:55 pm »
Nice site by the way.

Kalisiin

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2010, 02:32:08 pm »
thanx for reviewing Nexzr, for PC Engine!!  I spent 3 HOURS looking for a copy of that one after I saw the review and video on it, because it looks like a really awesome shooter.

Still can't find a good copy of Nexzr anywhere... (pout, whine, cry)
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 08:51:32 pm by Kalisiin »

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review Launched - finally!
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2010, 08:12:00 pm »
Hi,

MSX section added - 16 games