Author Topic: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon  (Read 6354 times)

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« on: October 24, 2009, 02:22:06 pm »
Hi Guys,

Been busy setting up a website for retro games. Site is about 6 weeks before going live but here's an early screenshot,

Will have about 500 reviews at launch.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 06:22:43 pm by Hellsing1 »

blizz

  • Posts: 66
    • #dingoonity
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2009, 02:25:05 pm »
Looks promising. I'm a fan of Videoreviews :)

Meneer Jansen

  • Posts: 511
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2009, 03:22:49 pm »
Wow! It looks super duper cool. I used to love classicgaming.com when they had regular new reviews of old games.  :)
Finally got me a new Dingoo after I Kentucky ~~::fried::~~ the other one. Yippee! [edit] And lost it!

cas398

  • Posts: 88
    • Cas's Virtual Home
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2009, 01:46:11 am »
Looks great. Seems like a one stop shop for all our Dingoo related gaming needs. I'll definitely be using it as I'm not much of a retro gamer but I'm getting there.
Live/PSN = CASgamer398
My Dingoo Vids

reaven

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2009, 12:38:16 pm »
looks awesome!

s3rious_simon

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2009, 04:51:59 pm »
looking forward to see the site...
till then, theres at least a source for reviews of BAD games: http://www.cinemassacre.com/new/?p=2874

Rebelphoenix

  • Posts: 161
    • Critical Indie Gamer
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2009, 11:52:13 pm »
Looks good.  ;D

Kalisiin

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2009, 11:57:31 pm »
Hi Guys,

Been busy setting up a website for retro games. Site is about 6 weeks before going live but here's an early screenshot,

Will have about 500 reviews at launch.

Looks great!!  Takes me back to my youth, i'd give ye 10 Karma for it if I could...you'll have ta settle for one.

Will you be allowing registered members to write reviews for the site, too?  I think it could be majorly cool if you did.  Would also rapidly increase the number of games you had reviewed.

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2009, 06:19:41 pm »
OK, currently I'm writing all 515 reviews - there only 132 words long and are brief summaries as these games have been out so long most people know them. I'm not wasting time writing a 1000 word review on Bounder for C64 when all you do is bounce a ball on grey tiles. When site launches people can email me with games they think should be added and can provide a review if they want.

System and review number are: N64(33), SNES(104), Genesis(72), NES(53), GBA(59), Amiga(31), MSX(16)
Dreamcast(16), Saturn(8), PC Engine(39) and C64(66). Some new games will be covered.

There won't be rating out of 10 as the site will only cover the best games and games which are still playable (no crap games). I have tried to find the best version of a game and review that. So although the NES has Klax the Megadrive version is much better so that is reviewed. The info section will mention that it is available for the NES.

Review screen will have brief summary, 3 screenshots, 1 gameplay video (with no commentaries), some info (systems which also have the game), and some recommendations of similar games on newer systems -e.g Super Mario World for the SNES Review page will have recommendations for Super Mario DS and Mario Galaxy for the Wii.

Launch date is expect first week in January 2010.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2009, 01:15:45 pm by Hellsing1 »

Spanone

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2010, 07:46:53 am »
Make sure to link  game ports and such
EX: Games ported from SNES to GBA or N64 => NDS

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2010, 09:32:45 pm »
Site is on indefinite hold, due to shit web software which keeps randomly deleting work / pictures.

Edit :  Site has been officially scrapped.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2010, 07:08:10 pm by Hellsing1 »

cas398

  • Posts: 88
    • Cas's Virtual Home
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2010, 04:57:37 pm »
Sorry to hear that  :(
Live/PSN = CASgamer398
My Dingoo Vids

eule

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 889
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2010, 07:00:12 pm »
Yeah, sounded intriguing.

Hellsing1

  • Guest
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2010, 05:03:00 pm »
Site is back alive but scaled back - only 96 reviews to start (16 per system). It was too much work to launch with 650+.

Will cover N64, SNES, Megadrive, PC Engine, Amiga and C64 to start with.

Will launch it in 2-3 weeks - only reviews to write but I do them only when I feel like it.

Hellsing

eule

  • * Former Staff
  • Posts: 889
Re: Retro Games Review - Coming Soon
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2010, 05:08:15 pm »
Cool! What about some user generated content?  :D

 

Post a new topic