Author Topic: [S7800] Should I get one? Or should I get the GPD G5A?  (Read 9107 times)

the_randomizer (OP)

[S7800] Should I get one? Or should I get the GPD G5A?
« on: March 03, 2014, 03:22:54 am »
Hi! If this is the wrong section, I apologize in advance. So, I'm new to Android handheld gaming as a whole and I'm torn between devices, both of these look really awesome and I'm having a heck of a time deciding which of the two I should get.  ;D  Now, while I'm weighting the pros and cons of both, I'm learning more towards the GPD G5A because of the price and how the size is just right for on the go gaming and, using Skype, watching videos and so on.  8)

My only concerns are the unfamiliarity of the hardware's reliability and the possibility of being held at customs indefinitely, costing me even more money. On the other hand, the S7800B look really awesome and is also reasonably priced, so yeah, kinda confused as to which route to go since I've never owned a Dingoo or other related console. What do you guys suggest? Thanks in advance.

Other concerns include the stories about the stock AC adapter having issues overheating, not full charging, then to also install apps from Google Play, etc.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 07:32:50 am by the_randomizer »

nielo360

Re: [S7800] Should I get one? Or should I get the GPD G5A?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2014, 09:49:15 am »
In my opinion the G5A is a solid device, as you probably saw the videos posted on the GPD forums, its light, hardware is the as the one in s7800b with the excepetion of the screen rez and quality. Battery life might be on the low side.

Hardware reliability, as with most china branded devices, this is hit or miss, that being said, the GPD device is built pretty well and if you do have an issue you can always have it replaced.