Author Topic: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice  (Read 1824 times)

DougOnEarth (OP)

  • *
  • Posts: 66
GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« on: January 26, 2019, 11:29:26 pm »
Ordered the KingsSpec 512Gb SATAIII and the Transcend 512GB SATAIII from Amazon the other day.

Both have the exact same specs.
 
The Kingston was $65 and the Transcend was $264. No brainer on price. Ordered both anyways. Still waiting to receive them.

Seen all kinds of opinions and posts about overheating on some of these drives and looking to get some advice on the best SSD to replace the 128GB SSD in my recently purchased GPD WIN2.

Really wanted a 1TB SSD drive, but none out there.

Thoughts?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 01:36:16 am by DougOnEarth »

DougOnEarth (OP)

  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 01:37:28 am »
I saw this review from Phawx:) and it basically scared me but it is 1 year old:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewZDgkmUCwE


Smoker1

  • *
  • Posts: 357
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2019, 03:56:15 am »
I have the Transcend 512GB . Works perfectly. The Phawx mention that the other Brands heat up like no other. So my suggestion is to Clone your current SSD onto the 512 Transcend, use that, then when you have everything Installed that you want, Clone it to the Kingston and just have it as a Backup.

DougOnEarth (OP)

  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2019, 04:46:38 am »
Thanks!

Is the Dogfish brand any good?

There is a 960GB one out on Amazon for $249.99?

Smoker1

  • *
  • Posts: 357
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2019, 08:18:25 am »
Never even heard of that name. Went looking, but could not find the 1TB/960GB . One I saw only had 8 Reviews, which is not good enough to me. Stick with Brands that are Known for now. Then later, if they get more Ratings that are Positive, maybe.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2019, 05:18:43 pm »
I just checked eBay, from brand is what is know and are selling in central Europe, there is only - Transcend, its low end, big even biggest sellers keep it selling as low end.. its reliable, they honor RMAs and failure rate is not insane.

Kilrah

  • *
  • Posts: 58
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2019, 08:23:42 am »
You can get the new Transcend (MTS430S), 512GB for about $90 and works great although hot (have one).
The Chinese DRAMless no-names have appalling performance.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2019, 10:24:24 am »
I just replaced 256 original BWIN SSD fro that Transcend 512 GB. I not have exact numbers but i would say that it seems to be to colder too..

 Original:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/et04kdzcbkdg8pt/diskIO.png?dl=0

Transcend 512 GB:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/92nbo9y160t0r54/disk512.png?dl=0

quadjfet

  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2019, 08:07:27 pm »
I have a Dogfish 1TB 2242 in one of my laptops.
It works fine with no problems for me. Have been using it for about a year now.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2019, 10:46:40 pm »
Its good that such thing exist, because 512 GB is not big enough for me, but regarding of ebay it looks quite expensive and i never heard about this brand, it could be some US only stuff etc, but it would be nice to see at least some review.

  Could you run Crystal disk mark on it?

quadjfet

  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2019, 02:38:39 am »
  Could you run Crystal disk mark on it?

Hmm, nope. That program seems to be Windows only and I couldn't get it to run under WINE. I'm not sure that the result from my current situation would be all that helpful anyways - It's EXT4 encrypted, 66% full, I think the link's SATAII, and the CPU is an old little 15W ULV thing. So I don't expect the numbers are too great in its current configuration.

 If you were looking to compare with other items running Crystal Disk Mark, the right way would be to pull the drive, format the whole thing to FAT32, and put it in a SATA3 slot on some Windows machine with an i7. But I'm not willing to do that.

I could try running "iozone3" if you're interested, but I'm not sure how to get results that are comparable to the numbers crystal disk mark puts out.

 I did do a test when I first installed it with gnome-disks, but I didn't save it. IIRC it was something like ~300 MiB/s read, ~150 MiB/s write, 0.1 - 0.01 ms access time, but that's going by memory. I do remember it looked like the speeds were bottlenecked by the laptop side, not the drive. All I really care about is write access time (~= 4k write performance), and it must have been good enough.

As for the brand, yeah I was a bit uneasy too, but it was the only 1 TB drive I could find on any website in the 2242 form factor at the time. I think I paid about $200 for it. If I was buying now (and feeling lucky), it looks like there are some cheaper KingSpec ones on ebay these days: https://www.ebay.com/itm/163662813633
« Last Edit: August 07, 2019, 09:52:40 am by quadjfet »

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2019, 09:20:17 pm »
If you are Linux guy, it would be complicated unless some scripting, you would need write some blocks sequentially and randomly, i guess that crystal mark author would give exact info want to do.

  I bough 512 GB for 80 dolars, Kings specs are band lowest low end.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2019, 01:38:51 pm »
BTW were you able to rotate Grub boot screen to right orientation, i tried now Linux Mint 19.2 Live and and Grub boot screen is rotated by 90 and same as whole OS, but whole OS is fixable but im not sure bout Grub.
   Also what about touch?

quadjfet

  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2019, 10:27:50 pm »
Hi Ruthan,

I'm running Manjaro GNOME on my WIN 1, since that was the only distro I could find that worked with the MicroSD card slot (very important when only 64 GB onboard storage!).

My current setup does not boot to GRUB, it just goes straight to Manjaro. I have only Manjaro installed on the device, I am not dual booting.

I don't use the touch screen at all for my use. I did just test it now and it seems to work though.

Wifi doesn't work on Manjaro out of the box, you have to put that stupid broadcom file somewhere. I got wifi working on mine but I forget the exact details. I just had to download a file and put it in one of the linux system folders.

Kolbaska

  • Posts: 1
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2019, 09:49:41 pm »
I changed stock 128gb ssd to 2tb ssd and make video about this. Hope it helps: https://youtu.be/cdlXPpMnbbc
Kind regards.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2019, 01:53:29 pm »
Its Kingspec.. worst of the worst.. but they could get better.

Post pleas price and Crystal disk mark results and some temperatures would be great too.

ruthan

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: GPD WIN2 SSD M.2 2242 Replacement Advice
« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2019, 01:58:39 pm »
My current setup does not boot to GRUB, it just goes straight to Manjaro. I have only Manjaro installed on the device, I am not dual booting.
     Device still need some bootloader as far i know there is way around it, i would be really suprised if some present Linux distro would use anything else that Grub.
  Even if you dont see any Grub menu - because you probably have only 1 options, so its hidden.. (but its still to good know how to use it, because of safe mode.. or use of other kernel file).

  I just tried Mint USB, it booted with work screen rotation, but through preferences-Display-Clockwise i was able to fix it, but screen some from time to time strangely blinking and no touch, but i have similar problem and with Windows and Android x86, so my touch screen could be half dead.