Author Topic: GPD XD VIDEO Review vs N3ds XL, PPSSPP, ARCADE, Farcry 4 gamestream..  (Read 58998 times)

nielo360 (OP)

DISCLAIMER: your unit may or may not arrive with certain imperfections as this is an early unit. If I notice any such things I shall mention it in passing but it will have no bearing on the review. I also suggest you DO NOT use my review as your only source and have multiple sources to make your purchase decision.

VIDEO REVIEW POSTED
#Invalid YouTube Link#

IMPORTANT NOTES:

Problem diagonal down+ left DPAD: I apologize to everyone that I missed this in my review
After further testing I realized that the down left diagonal is extremely hard to pull off because the dpad axis favors the Up+right diagonal more and is easy to do.

It is possible to do it but its simply too hard to pull of while gaming in most platformers with diagonal movement:
examples: Batman returns, streets of rage.etc.. the analog works fine for all diagonals

again Im sorry I missed this I only tested the Up+left diagonal thoroughly, and Down+left in circular motion for street fighter which works fine. Precision Down+left is pretty bad and broken unless u mod the axis.

Added annotation on 12:52 of the video regarding this.


.TEST RESULTS:
Stock governer interactive max usage in launcher 1.2ghz(swiping apps opening closing)

1hr psp emulation Test Untold legengs Lots of enemies constant fighting.
 setcpu modified settings (skeleton directed)
Staring values:
Battery at 46%  wifi on screen brightness 25%  Setcpu:1.4ghz max & min lock, governer ondemand, deadline.

Ending values:
Battery at :34%    clocks 1.4ghz constant.
heat: none that I notice.

Conclusion: Problem Fixed runs at 1.4ghz constant for 1hr if setcpu is used with ondemand,deadline 1.4 lock. Game runs smooth no skipping.
Recommendation: Definitely needs to be clocked higher as heat is a non issue. Set CPU IS REQUIRED for max performance.
Thanks Skeleton:)

FIXED
.There is some severe under clocking going on with the device when it comes to psp emulation, Im 100% sure its not running at 1.4ghz for more than 1hr 22mins. Most likely 800mhz-900mhz. This may be due to extreme temperature control as the device simply never gets hot at all.

Another reason is battery life is extremely long, so long that it is impossible that the device is constantly running at 1.4ghz while emulation.
A custom kernel is required for anyone who wants psp emulation. That will fix it.( YOU WILL NOTICE THIS IN NORMAL USAGE LIKE BROWSING AS WELL DURING LONG PERIODS OF USE)


.Latest Retroarch only launches but cant be used or taped on, its a bug as the newer retroarch's are extremely buggy. (can be related to 160 dpi also)

.Swap storage is NOT available on the XD you will need to use 3rd party apps.(future firmware may fix this)

.Screen refresh rate is 60hz (good for retro gaming)



Antut X score:

Benchmarks Atutu and Gpu bennchmark EDIT MAY BE FALSE!!!

outer box

open

close up

comparison 1

comparison 2

comparison 3

compariosn 4

comparison 5




my tests:
. Physical comparison between New 3ds xl & XD , Hinge strength, hinge position levels, ergonomics. DS emulation (drastic)

.usability and comfort: heat, sticky/clicky buttons, sound, screen quality,refresh rate, wifi strength, analog, dpad

.Software GBA ,  ps1, psp, Ds,  Moonlight gamestream(applies to wifi strength)

Benchmarking, battery tests, overclocking, custom firmware note:
I will run the antutu benchmark however for more in depth benchmarks & battery tests Id advise you to wait for DenoX's review as he usually discusses these in great detail. As for custom firmware, Id gladly test them should any become available.

Specific tests:

Diagonals & Dpad : contra hard corps, Street fighter

Button sticky test: Gradius Galaxies (Shmup)

Screen color test: Vs GPD q9 vs new 3ds Xl (resolution will be disregarded)

Native Android game performance:  Dungeon Hunter 5 ( fps is locked at 25/30 on android)
                                                      Strangers Wrath: All at high settings


User tests Edit:

ookla wifi speed

Mario64 analog motion report.

Modern combat 4/fps game test.



..Smash test. GPD XD will be smashed with a 600 ton Boulder or Space Beam/nuke a cola launcher to see if it survives.. based on this it shall receive +/- 1 million review points;)
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 05:06:17 am by nielo360 »

eragon2890

  • ***
  • e
  • Posts: 1843
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 10:07:27 am »
How on earth did you get it already? *staring daggers* i am totally not yealous or anything~! :-P

Anyway, for wifi , why not also run ookla speedtest? I know from deenox g5a review that 2 mB/second is enough for moonlight, z while i definitely want to drool ov- see moonlight tested running pc games like just cause 2, skyrim, or dead space, ookla might be a better indication of wifi strength ;3

Also, some anime streaming. Why? Because it gives a clear image of how the colours look!

Also maybe wifi display :3

Is it possible with some scriptfu to switch l3 and r3? Then you canmactually use them while using their analog stick :3

How is sound/volume trough the headphone jack?

And finally how is the touch screen?

Thats it!

lemmywinks

  • ***
  • Posts: 2426
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 10:19:47 am »
The Mario64 test for the analogs would be good - seeing if you can make him turn in smooth circles at gradually increasing speeds.
Handhelds:
GPD XD 64gb, 3DS XL, DSi XL, GBA SP, GBBC Clone, Gameboy Pocket, PSP Go
Consoles:
XBox360, Wii, PS2 Slim, PSOne
PC:
HP Touchsmart 11 (AMD A6)
Voyo A1 Mini
Psion 5 & 5MX

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 10:21:12 am »
How on earth did you get it already? *staring daggers* i am totally not yealous or anything~! :-P

Anyway, for wifi , why not also run ookla speedtest? I know from deenox g5a review that 2 mB/second is enough for moonlight, z while i definitely want to drool ov- see moonlight tested running pc games like just cause 2, skyrim, or dead space, ookla might be a better indication of wifi strength ;3

Also, some anime streaming. Why? Because it gives a clear image of how the colours look!

Also maybe wifi display :3

Is it possible with some scriptfu to switch l3 and r3? Then you canmactually use them while using their analog stick :3

How is sound/volume trough the headphone jack?

And finally how is the touch screen?

Thats it!

Ill use ookla with my home network and test it.

All keys in pretty much any android device can edited via the keylayout file as long as device is rooted. So no problem there, just need to edit the correct file which should be the xbox 360 controller USB layout or PS3 Usb Layout.

Ill try to setup some video stream if I can.

I dont have a wirless display dongle so wont be able to try that one.

Oh yes I will check the touch screen sensitivity as well.

LOL this is definitely  not the version for consumers(from what I think) as its an earlier build from what Iv been told so nope you dont want to be using this one, youll be getting the good ones.

eragon2890

  • ***
  • e
  • Posts: 1843
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2015, 10:23:22 am »
Thank you!

Also maybe modern combat 4? You really need good/smooth analogs for that fast paced fps

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2015, 10:23:35 am »
The Mario64 test for the analogs would be good - seeing if you can make him turn in smooth circles at gradually increasing speeds.

I can try it out and let you know when the unit is here, but cant put it on video since its nintendo stuff.

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2015, 10:25:37 am »
Thank you!

Also maybe modern combat 4? You really need good/smooth analogs for that fast paced fps

yes ill do that one added it to list

redlemon

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2015, 10:45:12 am »
Does he XD support opengl es 3 ? If it does could you test Jeanne D'arc on ppsspp? I remember reading on their forums it only works on devices that support it. Also could you check easy rpg. On the G5A the setting menu doesn't appear so I can't set the physical controls.

Melquiades

  • *
  • Posts: 289
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2015, 11:00:54 am »
I would ask you to check some of the PSP games that are currently playable but not perfect, just to see how it compares to the Q9... also, it would be great to see if KOTOR can be installed on this directly from Google Play. It must run perfectly, but on the Q9 cannot even be installed without sideloading from a 3188 device.

Thanks in advance!

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2015, 11:18:23 am »
Does he XD support opengl es 3 ? If it does could you test Jeanne D'arc on ppsspp? I remember reading on their forums it only works on devices that support it. Also could you check easy rpg. On the G5A the setting menu doesn't appear so I can't set the physical controls.

While I dont have Jeanne D arc Ill check out easy rpg.. but for what its worth this uses the same chipset/clock as the Q9 so anything that doesnt work on the Q9 wont work on this either
« Last Edit: August 06, 2015, 11:21:43 am by nielo360 »

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2015, 11:21:08 am »
I would ask you to check some of the PSP games that are currently playable but not perfect, just to see how it compares to the Q9... also, it would be great to see if KOTOR can be installed on this directly from Google Play. It must run perfectly, but on the Q9 cannot even be installed without sideloading from a 3188 device.

Thanks in advance!

I dont have kotor on android, but because its the same chipset/clocks, there will be no difference with compatibility or performance for the most part, the only advantages/disadvantages you can get are the control's and form factor.

eragon2890

  • ***
  • e
  • Posts: 1843
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2015, 11:22:02 am »
Does he XD support opengl es 3 ? If it does could you test Jeanne D'arc on ppsspp? I remember reading on their forums it only works on devices that support it. Also could you check easy rpg. On the G5A the setting menu doesn't appear so I can't set the physical controls.

While I dont have Jeanne D arc Ill check out easy rpg.. but for what its worth this uses the same chipset/clock as the Q9 so anything that doesnt work on the Q9 wont work on this either

It does support that, so it should work~

SONY

  • ***
  • Posts: 1382
Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2015, 02:49:46 am »
Try running HL and Portal.
SONY PS3
SONY PS4 Slim
SONY PS4 Pro

GPD XD

jmorneno114

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2015, 07:52:00 pm »
are you going to do a video?

nielo360 (OP)

Re: GPD XD Review in progress, ask what you'd like to see.
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2015, 10:24:26 am »
are you going to do a video?

Yes video review will be posted soon just got the pics up

 

Post a new topic