Author Topic: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")  (Read 9281 times)

Deen0X (OP)

  • ***
  • Posts: 1653
[REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« on: February 03, 2014, 02:56:07 pm »
[REVIEW] GPD-G5A


NOTE: This is a summarize of the original article located in my blog

Acknowledgments

To GPD manufacturer for send me a sample of their product GPD-G5A to test it and write this review.

Usage of this article

The Author give permission to use this review, part of this or by a link reference, to anybody wants to use it, with only one condition that you must keep the author of this article, and the original source, that is on my blog.

For any update for the content of this article, i suggest to visit the link avobe.

Product description(Enumerate of components that conform the product)

  • Left analog stick
  • DPAD
  • Left speaker
  • 5" Screen
  • Right analog stick
  • Action buttons 1, 2, 3, 4
  • Right speaker
  • Operation led

Rear view


  • Left ergonomic grip
  • Camera 2MPx
  • Right ergonomic grip
  • Reset hole

Right side view


  • Right grip

Left side view


  • Left grip

Top view


  • Button 6 (R1)
  • Button 8 (R2)
  • Mini-HDMI Port
  • MicroUSB Port (Data and charger)
  • Charger port
  • Button [POWER]
  • Button 5 (L1)
  • Button 7 (L2)

Bottom view


  • MicroSD Slot
  • Button [START]
  • Button [VOLUME DOWN] & Button [VOLUME UP]
  • Button [SELECT]
  • Headphones port
  • Microphone hole

Product information


According with the manufacturer, or searching info on web pages, we can found many sources of information about the device and sometimes these information may be not consistent (may be different from one web page to other), and this may cause some confusion for anybody that wants to get info about this product.

  • Android 4.2 OS, Quad-core , Cortex A9  1.8GHz *
  • 1GB RAM 8GB memory
  • Mali-400 GPU
  • 5" TFT capacitive Screen
  • Virtual key mapping function
  • Battery for 3000mAh **
  • Mini HDMI
  • Micro USB
  • G-sensor
  • Two vibration motor ***
  • Analog variable L2,R2 ***
  • Wi-Fi
  • 0.3M Front Camera ***
* CPU is a RK3188-T at 1.4GHz
** In some stores is mentioned as 2800mAh, and other sites as 4000mAh. As i checked (and while i can confirm), the device come with a 3000mAh.
*** After checking the device, i can confirm that these specs are not corresponding with final version of the device. I asked to manufacturer for updating their specs on their web page.


Antutu Benchmark X(Google Play version)

This is a version special anti-fraud.


Summarizing points:

  • RAM Operation:  1812
  • RAM Speed: 1067
  • CPU integer: 2307
  • CPU lfoat-point: 1575
  • 2D graphics: [480x752]  1617
  • 3D graphics: [480x752] 4086
  • Storage I/O: 1242
  • Database I/O:  645
  • CPU frequency: 1416 MHz (x4)
  • Multitask: 3370
  • Dalvik: 1264
  • Total: 18985
Youtube Gallery


     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

   

For more videos, visit Deen0X's Youtube Channel

Pros, cons and improvements.


Pros

  • The most important and evident point is the design. Is so comfortable and ergonomic, and bring a similar experience than a standard controller usage.
  • Analog Sticks are so good. The better analogs i tested in android gaming devices.
  • Full set of buttons. There are ALL the buttons of any standard controllers, including L3 and R3
  • DPAD design is good, not the best, but comfortable.
  • Buttons are right positioned. Similar to any pro controller in their distribution layout, you can use without problems, even in fighting games where you need to press 2, *3 or 4 buttons at the same time, with only the thumb. (*3 buttons, depends on the skill of the player, of course)
  • Shoulder buttons are comfortables too. May be the first impression result a little bit odd the L2 and R2, but with some usage these buttons become normal.
  • Touch Screen is so responsive.
  • Stock Firmware (official firmwares) run very smooth and are clean in general speaking.
  • Official firmware come with Joystick Driver for controls.
  • Official keymapper include all controls of the device, this include L3, R3, Select and Start
  • There exist a Custom Firmware based on Source Code of the device.
  • Speakers are located on front.
  • There is a specific port charge for battery charging
  • The device can charge via MicroUSB Port
  • The device weight is lighter than expect.
  • Sound Volume is good, and the speakers quality is enough for enjoy multimedia contents.
  • Sleep and Deep Sleep are working well, and there is no battery drain
  • HDMI output has no lag. You can play directly on TV without any problem.
  • Screen rate is 60Hz from factory default.
  • Materials are correct/good. Better than i expected for this device, considering the price.

Cons

  • Controls in general and DPAD in particular are noisy. There is a "clack" noise that is produced when DPAD is released, and the plastic of the chasis and the DPAD contact. Pressing donīt procuce this weird sound, only when releasing controls (DPAD particulary)
  • There is no Bluetooth. In my opinion, is a very important feature for allowing wireless gaming (with the device connected to a TV), or simply for use of wireless headphones.
  • In the case of the sample iīm testing, wifi signal is not so strong as other devices, but enough for normal usage. Other users tell to me that their devices have very good wifi signals, better than any other device. This really is not a critical point to consider, because in any case the wifi signal is respond correctly, even enoguh for gamestreaming playing.
  • Camera is back and only 2MP. I think may be better to usage this as frontal camera, for videochat.
  • Well, this is not really a bad point, but i will consider the L2 and R2 buttons arenīt analog triggers as manufacturer mentioned in their outdated specs in their web.
  • In the same way, i will consider as "bad" point that manufacturer mention that this device will include vibration motors, but the final device really donīt have it. Personally i donīt consider this as a critical point.
  • Screen viewing angle. After testing and using IPS screens, this TFT display is evident have lower quality in angles view speaking, but in my opinion, is enough for their function, as a gaming console device screen. I consider as bad point the angle view, but this is inherent to this kind of screens.
  • Design is not easy to transport in a backpack or pocket. There is necessary to find a proper bag for keep and transport.

Improvements

  • Quit the noise of controls, specially from DPAD. May be adding a soft border to chassis or controls pieces.
  • Add bluetooth module. Is a must have for this kind of device (in my opinion)
  • Is not necessary but adding IPS panel may be fine.
  • Add a wist strap hole in the design.
  • Add real analogs to L2 and R2

Original Article

Please visit this link for get a complete version of this review.


Zalu2!

Deen0X
« Last Edit: February 03, 2014, 08:28:00 pm by Deen0X »

wakutan

  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2014, 07:37:37 pm »
Thanks for the review. I've read the review on your blog and watched the videos.

I have ordered mine via Willgoo a week ago. But they are on a holiday so I have to wait for it.

All in all good review and a good android gaming device.

chevette

  • *
  • Posts: 152
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2014, 07:49:09 pm »
Deen0X - Thanks for the excellent review. Mine is on its way from WillGoo. Hopefully it will be here in a week or two.
Thanks again

jamesensor

  • **
  • Posts: 672
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2014, 08:29:27 pm »
What's there not to work on soft lvl? Both skelton and tincore are backing it up. Awesome just for that.

Thanks for all the info deen0x. I almost want to buy one  ;D ....must ....be...  :( strooong...! Uuurggh
PSP 3000 | PSP Go | Ps 2 | Xbox Original | Ireadygo Much i5 | Aurora II | Pipo w2f | Tonsmart Vega S-89h | Lenovo K3 Note | Tronsmart Draco H3 | Raspberry Pi 2

foleyjo

Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2014, 09:56:48 am »
I am considering one of these for my next handheld. Seems to have everything I need.
Just don't know if I want to go for the G5 or G7.
What are the main differences (except size) between the 2?
I think the G7 would be better for me to read books and comics. Though G5 for emulating.

skelton

  • *****
  • Posts: 6503
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2014, 10:40:49 am »
I am considering one of these for my next handheld. Seems to have everything I need.
Just don't know if I want to go for the G5 or G7.
What are the main differences (except size) between the 2?
I think the G7 would be better for me to read books and comics. Though G5 for emulating.

g7 has two more face buttons, but probably main differences are screen size and quality and resolution. But I haven't got a G7 model yet, so I cannot compare.
Retired

Magnus72

Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2014, 04:56:24 pm »
Nice ordered one today from Willgoo, seems like pretty smooth gameplay and framerate.

Norbert

  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2014, 08:37:18 pm »
I think analog L2-R2 is totally unnecessary . No need for emulators,and no need for android games.

2GB RAM should be better. On the right side it could be more ergonomic with right stick UNDER the action buttons like X360 controller.

Sacramentum

  • *
  • Posts: 64
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2014, 09:07:09 pm »
I disagree, L2 and R2 are absolutely necessary. Moreover, this device is perfect for playing San Andreas with the L3 and R3 buttons (for the horn, for example).

Even GPD must add more buttons like back and home. I hope in a future release.
g p 2 x w i z   •   g c w z e r o   •   g p d q 9   •   g p d x d

Deen0X (OP)

  • ***
  • Posts: 1653
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2014, 12:26:28 am »
I think analog L2-R2 is totally unnecessary . No need for emulators,and no need for android games.

no, i think Norbert mean that "analog" in  L2 and R2 are unnecessary, but i donīt agree because Dreamcast have analog triggers (as an example)

and more games will u se these analogs, for sure

2GB RAM should be better. On the right side it could be more ergonomic with right stick UNDER the action buttons like X360 controller.

Donīt agree again. X360 may be a good controller, but you canīt use their layout in any android console for one single reason, for ergonomics, you must put the right stick centered on the controller, but in any android device you got the screen.

check the Much i5. is a nice device, but the x360 layout is horrible. playing any game with two sticks are so uncomfortable (for long periods of time)



Android devices may have two real alternatives: sticks on top or sticks on bottom (both of them)
on bottom, i think is good idea, but there is a risk that the same sticks controls get uncomfortable when you using dpad and buttons (and you press them accidentally)

in my opinon, the best layout for any android console is both sticks on top, like GPD-G5A/JXDS7800B .is more natural and less obstructive for usage.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2014, 12:30:35 am by Deen0X »

lemmywinks

  • ***
  • Posts: 2447
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2014, 01:25:48 am »
I thought L2 and R2 were actually digital on the G5A?
Handhelds:
GPD Win, GPD XD 64gb, Pap KIII-Plus, 3DS XL, DSi XL, GBA SP, GBBC Clone, Gameboy Pocket, PSP Go
PC:
HP Envy M6
Acer 522
Psion 5 & 5MX

ClawShrimp

  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2014, 01:42:04 am »
I thought L2 and R2 were actually digital on the G5A?

You're right :)

If we're making wish lists...
- Nintendo-like d-pad (SNES, DS, Gamecube, Wii, Wii U...all great d-pads).
- Analog L2/R2, in a lower position (they feel weirdly high, and at the wrong angle).
- IPS screen (I'm happy with the resolution...just beef up the colours, contrast, brightness, and viewing angles).
- No ridiculous branding! Just a plain device, with no text on it!
- More buttons (home, back, etc) so we can get rid of the system bar permanently.
- More traditional button labels (A,B,X,Y...not 1,2,3,4)
- More RAM...just because
Proud owner of
Sony Xperia Play - JXD S5110 - JXD S603 - JXD S5100 - JXD S7300 - JXD S7800B - GPD G5A

If we can hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards...checkmate!

lemmywinks

  • ***
  • Posts: 2447
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2014, 11:18:25 am »
I would like it if manufacturers put two SD slots on the console and maybe even another one inside which could be bound to the onboard storage or something like that.
Handhelds:
GPD Win, GPD XD 64gb, Pap KIII-Plus, 3DS XL, DSi XL, GBA SP, GBBC Clone, Gameboy Pocket, PSP Go
PC:
HP Envy M6
Acer 522
Psion 5 & 5MX

Sacramentum

  • *
  • Posts: 64
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2014, 12:01:52 pm »
Quote
If we're making wish lists...
- Nintendo-like d-pad (SNES, DS, Gamecube, Wii, Wii U...all great d-pads).
- Analog L2/R2, in a lower position (they feel weirdly high, and at the wrong angle).
- IPS screen (I'm happy with the resolution...just beef up the colours, contrast, brightness, and viewing angles).
- No ridiculous branding! Just a plain device, with no text on it!
- More buttons (home, back, etc) so we can get rid of the system bar permanently.
- More traditional button labels (A,B,X,Y...not 1,2,3,4)
- More RAM...just because

Totally agree, point by point.

In addition, that you can choose between two colors (black and white, as was originally thought).

Select and start buttons (and if add back and home) below the display, not on the side like now.

And best speakers, not in power (sound very strong, itīs a point), but in sound quality (like it's just me, but the sound in G5A seems like "canned").
« Last Edit: February 16, 2014, 12:47:10 pm by VeritasSacramentum »
g p 2 x w i z   •   g c w z e r o   •   g p d q 9   •   g p d x d

Deen0X (OP)

  • ***
  • Posts: 1653
Re: [REVIEW] GPD-G5A (Quad-Core, 5")
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2014, 02:01:39 pm »
I thought L2 and R2 were actually digital on the G5A?

You're right :)

If we're making wish lists...
- Nintendo-like d-pad (SNES, DS, Gamecube, Wii, Wii U...all great d-pads).
- Analog L2/R2, in a lower position (they feel weirdly high, and at the wrong angle).
- IPS screen (I'm happy with the resolution...just beef up the colours, contrast, brightness, and viewing angles).
- No ridiculous branding! Just a plain device, with no text on it!
- More buttons (home, back, etc) so we can get rid of the system bar permanently.
- More traditional button labels (A,B,X,Y...not 1,2,3,4)
- More RAM...just because

ips screen, yes, may be a very good improvement, but is not really necessary if the device cost increase so much.

label buttons, in my opinion may be any label that manufacturer want to put, while the driver act as joystick, for me is ok if the names are abcd, 1234, ka tchi tsu ke no, dog cat house mountain peter, etc.
Check the Much device. their 4 face buttons are mountain, sun, river and moon (i think are these 4), but is non important really. The most important in any way is that system report as standard control button

more ram, yes, will be fine, but only if the device cost will not increase so much.

i think the most important improvement for now "for this model" are the following:
- D-PAD noise reduction. Adding a soft border that absorb the impact when the dpad is released, and with this, eliminate the "clack" noise
- Add bluetooth. one of the most important improvement, in my opinion. This allow to use bluetooth headphones, uses tethering with phone (bluetooth is less comsumption power than wifi thetering), and use bluetooth controllers, to allow to play with the device connected to TV.
- Add a hard cover for the device to protect sticks. I think if the device come with a removable hard cover that you can plug on the device when youīre not using, will solve most transportation problems. Mine device broked their right stick, R3 and R2 button, because an accident (is in my back pack and this fall down, and the device receive the worst part of the impact). I think if the device come with a hard cover may be guard about this.

time ago i used an hercules dj control mp3 deck, that come with a hard cover that you can remove and plug in the back side, working as support for the deck.
I think , may be a good idea to release something that have the same idea but aplying to GPD-G5A



^_^

 

Post a new topic