Author Topic: [EXPERIMENTAL] Android 7.1 for GPD XD  (Read 47729 times)

skelton

Re: [EXPERIMENTAL] Android 7.1 for GPD XD
« Reply #120 on: May 07, 2018, 06:52:25 pm »
In theory this alpha of android 7 support vulkan, but other things didn't work correctly.
Retired

e-ghost

« Reply #121 on: May 08, 2018, 04:29:58 am »
Hi CommanderKitler,

Sorry I may ask silly question as I have limited Linux knowledge  :-*. May I ask what components are different? I think phh has provided the big piece in terms of Android 7.1 with CPU and GPU with Vulkan support so running latest EMU should not be a problem? Does it produce sound while playing latest EMU? Can we port the gamepad app from XD+ to this experimental Android 7.1 for XD? (From previous post by phh, seems he intended to put gamepad support in kernel but not yet completed. Then will it give us room to use non-kernel app to add-on gamepad support?)

So what is missed is gamepad, hdmi or propably power management (sleep)? Can we re-use any app from XD+ rom to make it works?

Thanks a lot!

CommanderKitler

« Reply #122 on: May 08, 2018, 08:29:52 am »
Well it seems like most of the major issues in the kernel are fixed (v4 seems to be able to suspend) and you could flash the rom and probably run any emulator with vulkan support fine.

As for the Gamepad - it does work it is just lacking an app to emulate ps3/xbox controls or map the buttons in another way (just taking the GPD XD+ gamepad app wont work though as there are differences in how input is handled) if the Emulator used does support input mapping that should not be a problem though. Someone would need to make their own Gamepad app for this rom if needed.

I don't know much about the hdmi - maybe the support yet has to be implemented into the kernel or the rom but I highly doubt any of the GPD XD+ apps will fix that.

there seem to be other issues like the wifi driver not working quite right.