Dingoonity.org

Other Portable Consoles => Gemei A330 => Topic started by: Santaclaws on November 17, 2010, 10:17:28 am

Title: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Santaclaws on November 17, 2010, 10:17:28 am
Post them here as they pop up
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Solstice on November 17, 2010, 02:37:14 pm
Did you just decide that lol wtf
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: flatmush on November 17, 2010, 07:56:36 pm
Mine's a little bit too ethereal for my liking. 0/10
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 22, 2010, 04:47:07 am
 Received my GA330 just a little while ago. Woohoo! First impession was that it's smaller than I thought. From images I'd seen I thought it was a fair bit bigger. It is only a little bit bigger than the A320, it even fits in my offical Dingoo bag snuggly. My free gifts from Ownta were a santa hat and a carry bag. The bag is way too big for tha A330. Perfect fit for my Letcool though so it's still a bonus.

 The GA330 is a nice looking unit with decent build quality. It feels  a little light, and not quite as solid as A320 but not flimsy or fragile. D-pad and face buttons feel on par with A320. Shoulder buttons are an improvement in size and placement. They are easy to press and comfy to use. They are not clicky though and initially I thought felt a bit spongy.

 Turning the unit on was my first dissapointment. The screen is not as vibrant or sharp as the A320. I have my my Dingoo screen set to 3 and that is brighter than the Gemei at full setting. The gemei has poorer veiwing angles too with the image washing out or going dark depending on wich way the screen is tilted. The screen also as a "soft" look, the images display just dont look sharp or crisp like on A320.

 Had a bit of trouble selecting roms to play at first. Selecting internet games kept giving me a list of pre-installed games with .JGC format.Had to change "browse type" setting in the settings menu to "Directory browsing". System menu works pretty much like Dingoo native. Now when you click on a rom it gives 3 options. Single mode, create server and search server. Only have one unit so can't test multiplay. Also the first time you run a rom the system takes a screenshot and when you select that rom in the future the menu shows the pic as a preview.

Tested a few games - most Emulators seemed to run very well with the exception of sonic 1 on Megadrive/Genesis wich had obvious slow down. My unit also didn't come with a snes sim so it won't even recognize Snes roms.It also came with 2 3d games. 7 days and another, both in chinese ant the file extension now .cc instead of .app.
 
 Anyway that's all I have time for now, Got to take daughter to ballet lessons. If people want to suggest games that were "problem games" on Dingoo I'll test them on Gemei later tonight.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: renejr902 on November 22, 2010, 06:02:39 am
thanks to be honest Wiierdguy !!  I really appreciate it, i read a lot of post from you you seem a very honest guy. i said that because:

Turning the unit on was my first dissapointment. The screen is not as vibrant or sharp as the A320. I have my my Dingoo screen set to 3 and that is brighter than the Gemei at full setting. The gemei has poorer veiwing angles too with the image washing out or going dark depending on wich way the screen is tilted. The screen also as a "soft" look, the images display just dont look sharp or crisp like on A320.

ITS a deal-breaker for me.  I cant live with the letcool screen (soft look) and i can barely accept  the dingoo screen. so for me the gemei a330 is not a good solution. i have a caanoo too and the screen is awesome, so i will spend my paypal money for something else.

its bad for me, its look really a cool handheld. But again thanks for be honest about the gemei a330. and thanks too for your previous help about the letcool too.

still is it worst than Letcool screen ? (brightness and '' soft'' look)

Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 22, 2010, 09:01:50 am
still is it worst than Letcool screen ? (brightness and '' soft'' look)

 No it's a lot better than the Letcool. Funny thing is I watched the clip that came on it and looked at the pics, for them the screen seemed pretty sharp with good amount of detail. Maybe the soft look in the emulators is some effect or filter they added.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Shin-NiL on November 22, 2010, 11:45:56 am
Tested a few games - most Emulators seemed to run very well with the exception of sonic 1 on Megadrive/Genesis wich had obvious slow down.

What a pity!
Could you test Sonic 2/3 for Sega Genesis?

Thank you very much, 1wiierdguy :D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Santaclaws on November 22, 2010, 12:35:34 pm
Does Golden Sun for GBA work on this one??
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 22, 2010, 08:48:51 pm
@ Shin NiL - Sonic 2, Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles all run slowly.For Sonic 3 and S&K the sound stutters and for Sonic 2 the sound keeps cutting out completely.

@ Santaclaws - Golden Sun runs very well from what I tested.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Shin-NiL on November 22, 2010, 09:04:23 pm
@ Shin NiL - Sonic 2, Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles all run slowly.For Sonic 3 and S&K the sound stutters and for Sonic 2 the sound keeps cutting out completely.

Well, then I guess I can wait a little longer before buying an A330.

Thank you for the information.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: renejr902 on November 22, 2010, 10:37:14 pm
is the nes emulator run perfect ? speed and no frameskip ? ( ex: mario bros 1 or 3, or megaman 1,2,3 or 4)
is the nes emulator look '' soft'' too ?
Does it have ghostling or a lot of blur in fast action?
thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 23, 2010, 07:20:10 am
is the nes emulator run perfect ? speed and no frameskip ? ( ex: mario bros 1 or 3, or megaman 1,2,3 or 4)
is the nes emulator look '' soft'' too ?
Does it have ghostling or a lot of blur in fast action?
thanks

 The soft look is in all emulators. Megadrive/Genesis emulator is the only one with slow down and sound issues.All games I've tried so far on the other Emus all run really well. The A330 screen doesn't suffer from any ghosting that I can tell.
 The more time I've spent with the A330 the more I have become accustomed to the look of the screen. If you go straight from Dingoo to A330 the soft look is really noticable but after a few minutes It's forgotten and you just play. Whilst it was initially dissapointing it no longer bothers me. The rounded edges and improved shoulder buttons make the A330 very comfotable to use. With Booboo working on Linux I still think this could become a worthy successor to the A320.

*Edit- Uploaded a photo to try show screen differences. Dingoo screen set to 3, GA330 at 5 and the Letcool can't be adjusted.

(http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac28/1wiierdguy/IMG_0903.jpg)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Minexew on November 23, 2010, 01:55:17 pm
...

Maybe it's just the photo, but the A330 screen looks it has much better contrast than the other 2 - can you confirm?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on November 23, 2010, 02:34:56 pm
Yeah, from those photos the A330 looks to have the most vivid screen. I wouldn't say it looks the best though, the A320 & the Letcool both show a lot more detail than the A330. The A330 looks too bright and a little washed out. Damn the Letcool has a big screen.

What's emulation like for CPS1, CPS2 & Neo Geo? On my A320, the performance is only acceptable when overclocking to 400 MHz. Do these run smoothly on the A330?

How is snes emulation? That was probably the worst on native A320.

Have you tried the A320 TV-out cable on the A330, does it work?

Shame to hear about the mega drive emulation. It sucks on the A320 too but at least there was a fix for it.

Thanks for all the info thus far.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Shred on November 23, 2010, 02:43:17 pm
What's emulation like for CPS1, CPS2 & Neo Geo? On my A320, the performance is only acceptable when overclocking to 400 MHz. Do these run smoothly on the A330?

The answer is two posts above....
Megadrive/Genesis emulator is the only one with slow down and sound issues.All games I've tried so far on the other Emus all run really well.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Harteex on November 23, 2010, 07:39:24 pm
On the A320 the screen is actually rotated, which means that the screen is lighter for one eye and darker for the other.
Can you see this problem, and is it present on the Gemei A330?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 23, 2010, 08:55:42 pm
 To my eyes the GA330 looks evenly lit across the whole screen. In regards to contrast it really depends on viewing angle. If you hold it in the sweet spot it has detail similar to Dingoo screen. Slightly tilted forward it begins to wash out and slightly tilted back it begins to go dark. Unfortunatley I cant find the Snes emu to download. Going back to the videos released showing each Emus performance in the lead up to release one is not shown....Snes. I think there is no Snes native emulator at this stage.

*Edit just a quick note- Neo Geo emulator is fixed. No scaling issues. I'm finaly able to play baseball 2020.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: RodrigoCard on November 24, 2010, 02:00:08 am
Is the screen well protected with some kind of hard plastic like a cellphone or it is fragile like the A320 screen?

I dont want to accidentally sit in its screen and broke it, like I did with my first A320 :P
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 24, 2010, 07:18:58 am
Is the screen well protected with some kind of hard plastic like a cellphone or it is fragile like the A320 screen?

I dont want to accidentally sit in its screen and broke it, like I did with my first A320 :P

 The GA330 screen isn't hard protected. You get a stick on screen protector to apply with the unit itself.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on November 24, 2010, 12:31:40 pm
Hello.  Can you tell me what the screen protector is like.  Is it easy to put on?  Can you tell that it's on when it's on?  Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 24, 2010, 08:04:28 pm
Hello.  Can you tell me what the screen protector is like.  Is it easy to put on?  Can you tell that it's on when it's on?  Thanks

 It's a bit tricky to get it on without getting air bubbles trapped underneath it(at least for me).It's just a touch smaller than the screen so you can see a line around the edge of the screen and can tell it's on.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: RodrigoCard on November 24, 2010, 09:55:47 pm
Is the screen well protected with some kind of hard plastic like a cellphone or it is fragile like the A320 screen?

I dont want to accidentally sit in its screen and broke it, like I did with my first A320 :P

 The GA330 screen isn't hard protected. You get a stick on screen protector to apply with the unit itself.

These screen protectors only protects from scratches, but not from heavy asses :P
Anyway, thanks for the info.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 26, 2010, 10:52:39 am
 Another screen comparison. GA330 on the left, Dingoo on the right.

(http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac28/1wiierdguy/IMG_0911.jpg)

 If you look at the tiled area, in particular around the life counter you can see the soft effect I'm trying to explain.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: tintami on November 26, 2010, 12:23:18 pm
What resolution is the A330 screen? That screenshot almost looks like a 320x240 res game being upscaled onto a higher res screen. Weird!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on November 26, 2010, 12:32:40 pm
That looks a bit rubbish in comparison, hopefully it's just the emulators. If I wasn't comparing side by side though I don't think it would bother me. Have you compared video files side by side to see if this effect is there?  My a330 is in the post. Don't have an a320 but want to see how it will compare next to my gameboy micro screen
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on November 26, 2010, 01:36:25 pm
I definitely can see the softness you described, great comparison picture. The A330 still seems to have better colours though, they're a touch more vibrant.

So, the one million dollar question: Is a Gemei A330 worth $100 landed for people with a Dingoo A320?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: ot4ku on November 26, 2010, 02:54:58 pm
Yust got my Geimei A330, lol they even packed in a cristmas santa hat and a nice bag with perfect size to carry the Gemei A330, im going to test him now, looks so awsome!

*EDIT* First Power ON:
OK the first thing that shocked me a little, you have to view directly to the screen, it is very hard to look at it when it just a little moves, the view angle (sorry my english) is not as good as the one from A320.

*EDIT-2* Display
WOW, the Display is really bad.. feels like its "blury", my eyes start hurting just from looking at it :/

*EDIT-3* ....
You know, i also use my A320 for music listening sometimes, and im am thankful for the "lock" function where the keys dont work, and the display goes off to save power... A330 has just a ON/OFF feature, no screenlock (as far as i see till now)


Ok, im really geting disapointet... it looks so nice, but i prefer my A320, i have to sell this thing fast on ebay...
I cant believe they made a step backwards with the screen, why would they do so?
Hoping the new Dingoo will be released soon, based on gemei A330 hardware but better screen... *hoping*
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on November 26, 2010, 03:13:43 pm
Man, it really looks like the A320 was just an uncanny fluke.

How they can spend so much time developing these things and still stuff them up so much is beyond me.

It's quite simple. Take the hardware of an A320, add 32 MB RAM for a total of 64 MB, double internal memory to 8 GB,  replace Mini SD with Micro SD, keep the same native firmware but change it to utilize the extra RAM and run the CPU at 400 Mhz, further optimise the emulators, throw it all in a Gemei A330 case. Sell it for $85 - done, the perfect bang for buck handheld.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: darfgarf on November 26, 2010, 03:30:13 pm
Man, it really looks like the A320 was just an uncanny fluke.

How they can spend so much time developing these things and still stuff them up so much is beyond me.

It's quite simple. Take the hardware of an A320, add 32 MB RAM for a total of 64 MB, double internal memory to 8 GB,  replace Mini SD with Micro SD, keep the same native firmware but change it to utilize the extra RAM and run the CPU at 400 Mhz, further optimise the emulators, throw it all in a Gemei A330 case. Sell it for $85 - done, the perfect bang for buck handheld.
you forgot to find the cheapest possible parts so you make the most profit on each one

looks like my predictions were correct, just another pile of chinese junk...though it seems like it's at least better than most
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: ot4ku on November 26, 2010, 03:37:53 pm
Ok, now after all this disapointment i started playing Mega Drive / genesis Games on the A330.
I dont know if its just my problem but...

I have only 2 Options:

- 3D games
- Internet games

I Made MD Folder like on the A320, but you cant browse the Gamefolder, you can select "Internet Game" and
there are all games, and i mean "all" all Megadrive, Supernes, Nes games all, sorted from A-Z but there
are no folders, its all in one big thing, thats really bad in my opinion... you have always to look on the
fileending to see what EMU this game uses...

the only good thing, it always lets you make a "create" server for every 2 player games, would be great if this really would work, and you can really play all 2 player MD / Snes game sover the Internet agauinst others... Some Street Fighter 2 Action would be nice.

Anywone here has also a A330 (Gemei) and can confirm this Problem? Or do i something wrong?
Ah and Sound finnaly also works thru speakers while playing...

*EDIT*
LOL another funny problem... anyone here can test this please for me?
When i start the MD_DEMO.smd (already installed on all A330) it loads the same Street Fighter 2 Demo it had already on the A320, i can select player eand everything, but as soon as the fight starts, my displays shows only big pixels, nothing to see anymore, can someone test?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on November 26, 2010, 03:44:30 pm
I dont know if its just my problem but...

I have only 2 Options:

- 3D games
- Internet games

I Made MD Folder like on the A320, but you cant browse the Gamefolder, you can select "Internet Game" and
there are all games, and i mean "all" all Megadrive, Supernes, Nes games all, sorted from A-Z but there
are no folders, its all in one big thing, thats really bad in my opinion... you have always to look on the
fileending to see what EMU this game uses...

This might help:

Had a bit of trouble selecting roms to play at first. Selecting internet games kept giving me a list of pre-installed games with .JGC format.Had to change "browse type" setting in the settings menu to "Directory browsing".
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 27, 2010, 01:40:28 am
 Movie playback screen comparison.

(http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac28/1wiierdguy/IMG_0929.jpg)

 Colours have a bit more "pop" on GA330 but overall the image is also slightly washed out. I guess people will have different opinions on wich is better.
@ tin tami - the screen is 320 * 240 according to Gemei official specs.
@Frank fjs - In my opinion it's not worth $100 for A320 owners to upgrade. Not yet anyway. I also completely agree with you. If they just bumped the original hardware specs, kept the same internals so it was compatable with what is already out. Threw the lot in the GA330 case it would have been better than this.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: fenixt on November 27, 2010, 02:31:10 am
Been lurking for about 2 weeks waiting for someone to get an a330. I don't have a dingoo, wanted one for the longest, was gonna get one recently, heard about new version, waited to hear impressions, disappointed about news from a330's screen.

I'm probably gonna end up getting the dingoo, anyway, like the shape better. More minimal look. Plus the colored buttons give it a bit of personality. And because of the news of the screen.

Does the screen have a washed out look in the native menu, or just when playing media and games? Guess what I'm getting at is can the blur be fixed by an update, or is it just the screens hardware?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 27, 2010, 04:22:00 am
http://s882.photobucket.com/albums/ac28/1wiierdguy/?action=view&current=MVI_0943.mp4

 Quick clip of movie playback comparison. In the first part of the scene where the image is well lit the better colours on GA330 give it an edge. Second half of the scene the GA330 shows less detail in the darker areas. Good example is if you pause the clip at 6-7 secs as the girl turns her head. On the dingoo you can still see the detail of her hair whereas on the GA330 the detail is lost. Overall I guess people will have different prefrences on whats better. I think it also highlight that the image isnt really soft like in the emulators. Hopefully the softness in the emulators isn't an hardware issue and can be addressed with an update.

*edit- I have turned the GA330 down to 4 here also.It reduced the washed out look for only a small drop in brightness.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: tintami on November 27, 2010, 10:57:33 am
I've got to say I find the fuzzy effect on the screen confusing... How can something with a 1:1 pixel ratio look blurred? Maybe the glass covering the screen refracts the light slightly? Very odd!

john
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: gibberish on November 27, 2010, 11:16:53 am
it could just be a filter in the emulator, coded to be on all the time. i guess we'll know the answer to that once linux is running on it.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 27, 2010, 11:33:46 am
it could just be a filter in the emulator, coded to be on all the time. i guess we'll know the answer to that once linux is running on it.

I'm hoping so, Maybe to smooth the image when using T.V. out on a big screen.

 This is just a quick test I did for emulator speed. It's X-men Cota on Cps2.It compares emulator speed from starup until the insert coin screen shows.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4V6-rIcob8

You know, i also use my A320 for music listening sometimes, and im am thankful for the "lock" function where the keys dont work, and the display goes off to save power... A330 has just a ON/OFF feature, no screenlock (as far as i see till now)


 There is a software lock function in the setting menu.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on November 27, 2010, 03:48:44 pm
It's a tough call. The colours and contrast look better in certain circumstances on the A330 but the washed out look isn't appealing at all.

Thanks for the video, the emulation seems to run a lot smoother/faster on the A330.

I might wait & see if they drop down in price, if they do I'll grab one. Smooth emulation, a decent case and nice buttons, I'm sure I'll be happy with it.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Minexew on November 27, 2010, 03:53:11 pm
...

Do you think it's worth buying for someone who hasn't got any such smartheld yet?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on November 27, 2010, 07:28:32 pm
Thanks for the clips.  The a330 looks good to me.  Will have to wait til mine turns up to tell if i like the smoothing/viewing angle
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on November 27, 2010, 09:07:10 pm
taking a look at what has been posted on other sites and what has been reported on this site.. i can say i am glad i ordered my ga330.. worried about no native snes emu though.. and screen brightness issues.. thought the screen was supposed to be better than that of the 320

either way i ordered my ga330 2 days ago from deal extreme

anyone have anything negative to say about DX?  a little nervous about the order :P
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: dingoo on November 27, 2010, 09:23:05 pm
Well, I ordered mine  on November 17th and, two days ago, they shipped it to here (I live in Brazil). Well, it depends of where'd you live. But, if you ordered has only 2 days ago, probably, the probability of play with your A330 before or shortly after the Christmas is high. Don't worry that everything will be fine!

P.S.: Despite to know DX has over a year, only now I buy something there, and was a Gemei A330. :)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 27, 2010, 11:45:23 pm
 Just found this Dooom port for GA330 posted on Dingoo Brazil:  http://www.dingoobr.com/?p=3681

 They also have a port of Picshow 1.24:  http://www.dingoobr.com/?p=3698

 Another emulator test:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRytZU1szUE&feature=player_profilepage

 And one more:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYtsaxL2fS4
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: yoshi41 on November 28, 2010, 03:40:37 pm
anyone have anything negative to say about DX?  a little nervous about the order :P

DX is cheap and reliable, but sloooooow in order processing. I bought my 2 Dingoo's and numerous other gadgets there. If I order cheap items like cables and chargers, I always buy 2-3 to avoid returns. The return shipping charge is higher than the item value.

One negative point from my experience:

They declare everything as a gift, sample or a ridiculous low item value. Sometimes I'm lucky, but most of the time the parcel is being opened by customs and they add extra charges to estimate the value of the content.

I buy most of my games at Play Asia. They are very reliable and always declare the correct value. In this case, I just pay customs duty and VAT, no extra charges.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: fenixt on November 29, 2010, 01:54:36 am
Is this gonna eventually support controllers? Don't really wanna buy two for two player.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 29, 2010, 10:41:50 am
GA330 can run Marvel vs Capcom with Cps2.  Will test other not working A320 games to see what happens.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b02IinGQccs
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: TarMil on November 29, 2010, 05:15:54 pm
GA330 can run Marvel vs Capcom with Cps2.  Will test other not working A320 games to see what happens.
Would be great if it runs Street Fighter Alpha 3 :-)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: hi-ban on November 29, 2010, 05:53:24 pm
what about metal slug games? does it run them all? (mslug1, 2, X, 3, 4, 5)
do they run at good speed?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on November 29, 2010, 08:56:51 pm
GA330 can run Marvel vs Capcom with Cps2.  Will test other not working A320 games to see what happens.
Would be great if it runs Street Fighter Alpha 3 :-)

 Street Fighter Alpha 3 also works!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Minexew on November 29, 2010, 09:54:54 pm
Do you guys think that some later revision might have an improved LCD? Or is it pointless to wait anymore?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: TarMil on November 29, 2010, 11:19:52 pm
Street Fighter Alpha 3 also works!
\o/
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: darfgarf on November 30, 2010, 09:03:28 am
Do you guys think that some later revision might have an improved LCD? Or is it pointless to wait anymore?
it's about as likely as any other chinese pmp company providing any kind of support, so go buy lottery tickets, you've got a greater chance of getting something good
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 01, 2010, 07:33:59 am
Do you guys think that some later revision might have an improved LCD? Or is it pointless to wait anymore?

 In Booboo's blog he states that the next gen of Pmp will be based on the more powerful CC2000 and they hope will arrive by Q2 next year.
 Seem to be shooting themselves in the foot there. Why will people want a slightly more powerful unit with a poorer screen when something better is announced to be just around the corner.

what about metal slug games? does it run them all? (mslug1, 2, X, 3, 4, 5)
do they run at good speed?

 Did a quick side by side check, they run slightly better than on the Dingoo but there is still slowdown.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: difuno on December 03, 2010, 01:02:15 am
Do you guys think that some later revision might have an improved LCD? Or is it pointless to wait anymore?
it's about as likely as any other chinese pmp company providing any kind of support, so go buy lottery tickets, you've got a greater chance of getting something good

Actually a moderator on Gemei official forum did say that they had changed the LCD for GA330 since the 3rd batch, in reply to a user's conern whether it will be worthy to buy a GA330 with such poor quality LCD display.

But, you'd better cross your figures.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on December 03, 2010, 02:55:34 pm
Have you got a link to that post?  Any idea when the 3rd batch is/was available?  My a330 is still in the post but sounds like I may be replacing it if theres going to be a better one...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: difuno on December 04, 2010, 02:03:56 am
Have you got a link to that post?  Any idea when the 3rd batch is/was available?  My a330 is still in the post but sounds like I may be replacing it if theres going to be a better one...

Here's the link, I picked it up from my Mozilla offline storage. Can't get the page loaded now as it seems that the Gemei offical forum is down again (always happens).

http://bbs.gemeitech.com/thread-112677-1-1.html

Don't give it too much hope, many users are trying to pursuade Gemei to help replace the display, Gemei does not even bother to answer this type of posts.

Edit:

Alright, the official forum is back again, and the post where the moderator announced the change of LCD got deleted, and here is another post, where the moderator said that he made a mistake, the fact is the LCD has NOT been changed.

http://bbs.gemeitech.com/thread-112835-1-1.html

See, this is Gemei, this is what happens with them everyday, OFFICIAL RUMORS!!!

Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Minexew on December 04, 2010, 08:07:59 pm
Bad news... seems I'm getting my GA330 ASAP then. At least I don't have to wait for another x months.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: heilong79 on December 04, 2010, 08:24:15 pm
Ok, im really geting disapointet... it looks so nice, but i prefer my A320, i have to sell this thing fast on ebay...

Oh, Ot4ku looks like I just bought your system on ebay ;D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: sebnec on December 06, 2010, 12:34:22 am
Some useful informations for those who will receive their system soon.

To increase / decrease volume : keep START button whilst using UP and DOWN arrows.

To switch device off / on (alternative to power button) : push START for a few seconds.

To flash firmware : keep START and SELECT buttons when system is powering on (you can use the START method above to reset system)

To switch to english (or any other) language : in the settings menu, go to line 10. Press A to enter... and just choose the language you want !

Just put the roms where you want. As long as they are in a format the system can handle, the right emulator will be chosen automatically (ie : .mvs for Neo Geo, .smd for Megadrive).
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 06, 2010, 02:58:54 am
GAH! i cant take it any more... i need to know that ga330 will soon support snes.. that booboo will keep this machine alive with a linux port! i have chewed my nails off and am now working on my finger tips with shuddering nervousness... i know its stupid but i cant help it!... i bought this machine thinking it would be an upgrade to the a320 and this thing is teetering on the edge... please booboo give this machine wings and a soul!  ;)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on December 07, 2010, 05:30:21 pm
Yes! It has come... I havent had a chance to use it yet, just popped home in my lunch to put it on charge.  First impressions are its a lot bigger than i expected.  I thought for some reason it would be similar to my gameboy micro size but its not.  Quick question - how do you put the screen protector on?  It has a sticky label on 1 corner.  If I pull that off, whats under it?  Do I press that end against the screen?  Im just not sure which way round it goes.  But i only had a quick look while I was making my lunch.  Will investigate later.... :)

[edit] figured the screen protector out. But not without getting hair and air bubbles underneath it. And now i cant get it off! Grr I hate these things...

[edit2] I got it off!  But now its covered in dust.  I think i'll just leave it off.  Anyone know how easy these screens scratch?...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Snip on December 08, 2010, 10:44:54 am
Hello,

I've just received my A330... I can confirm that the display quality on its lcd screen is very, hmmm, surprising! It makes me feel like A330 is displaying on its lcd using composite format! My thought is that A330 is rendering picture on different resolution from the lcd internally and then some kind of rescalling is used producing that soft/jaggy pictures...

I've tested the A330 with component output on a monitor:
- In video mode, the quality is very good (576i) and the playback is very smooth... 1080p mkv files or mp4 are displaying without any problem.
- In game mode, the shortcut to switch to tv out is start + R. Here, it seems that the output format is composite by default (not component...). I don't know how to change this.

I will post some more stuff when I will found interesting things!

Sorry for my bad english!

Edit1: the jaggy smooth look is not present when using component tv-out, everything looks as expected.
Edit2: haven't found yet how to switch to tv-out when looking at photos
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Santaclaws on December 08, 2010, 03:06:03 pm
Does the GBA emulator run games any better than the A320 did?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 08, 2010, 08:18:36 pm
Does the GBA emulator run games any better than the A320 did?

Here is Doom2 for GBA comparison

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCncXRRWspU
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 09, 2010, 05:02:50 am
vastly improved! thank you wiierdguy.. hope we can get an official Ga330 board soon... sounded like the sound was still a bit lagged but thats a pretty graphically intensive game. i will make myself available to put up demo vids when i get my unit soon
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: heilong79 on December 09, 2010, 06:39:26 pm
I will do the same, just waiting for Ot4ku to send mine from Austria.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Santaclaws on December 09, 2010, 10:40:47 pm
Looks nice... BUT WILL IT RUN CRYSIS?!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: mandrake88 on December 10, 2010, 01:38:05 am
Looks nice... BUT WILL IT RUN CRYSIS?!

wtf???  ???

If u want to run Crysis, buy this: http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6850/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6850-overview.aspx
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: clach04 on December 10, 2010, 02:32:59 am
Looks nice... BUT WILL IT RUN CRYSIS?!

wtf???  ???

If u want to run Crysis, buy this: http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6850/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6850-overview.aspx

Awesome the new handheld with have a PCI-E slot! mandrake88 said so! :P

The Crysis thing is a meme on the board, don't sweat it ;D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: mandrake88 on December 10, 2010, 03:08:23 am
I don't know if that was sarcasm, or if that guy is really asking if the ga330 can run crysis.

Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: dingoo on December 10, 2010, 03:22:20 am
A joke, dude. I'm sure of this. :D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: clach04 on December 10, 2010, 04:26:23 am
I think it was darfgarf who started the Crysis thing :)

http://boards.dingoonity.org/other-game-systems/new-console-in-prototype-stage/msg24556/#msg24556
http://boards.dingoonity.org/dingux-general/app-wishlist/msg21949/#msg21949
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: gibberish on December 10, 2010, 09:42:54 am
I think it was darfgarf who started the Crysis thing :)

it's been a meme on gaming forums all over the internet since crysis was released. it certainly didn't originate here!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: darfgarf on December 10, 2010, 11:20:23 am
it's been a meme on gaming forums all over the internet since crysis was released. it certainly didn't originate here!

^^ that :)

that new playstation phone is pretty sweet and all, but nothing is worth buying if it can't run crysis
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: link5192 on December 10, 2010, 06:55:51 pm
Can it ?mulat psone ??
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 11, 2010, 09:57:54 am
Hey guys.. i am patrick from austria/ tyrol. I just ordered a gemei a330. I read about the bad quality of the Screen. Anyone knows which screen they used ? Will i be able to get another screen on it working? Is the Dingux for Gemei A330 still in progress ?

Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Snip on December 11, 2010, 10:25:15 am
Hey guys.. i am patrick from austria/ tyrol. I just ordered a gemei a330. I read about the bad quality of the Screen. Anyone knows which screen they used ? Will i be able to get another screen on it working? Is the Dingux for Gemei A330 still in progress ?

Thanks


Hello,

I think the screen is not bad but a330 use it badly. Maybe (hope!!) a futur firmware will fix this...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 11, 2010, 10:29:15 am
Ok.. i will wait till i have mine.. if there is no Good firmware till jan/feb 2011 i will sell it on ebay and get a OpenPandora  8)
What about the viewing angle ? that Angle viewing issues i only know off really old and cheap LCD Technology ?
Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 11, 2010, 04:04:17 pm
hi everyone!

many many thanks to all posters giving very useful details about this gemei--this topic is of great ressources thanks to you guys!

strangely enough i could only see one seller having some gemei a330 @ ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260705818857). i guess i'll order him one since he is from eu and shipping should be fast. can't wait, although i'm really disappointed to learn the display is not as good as the a320's one.

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=zh-CN&tl=en&u=http://bbs.imp3.net/thread-954138-1-1.html
hopefully the snes emu will be out soon - from the author's words it seems to run well, and even sfz2 is supported, so let's see which special chips this emu will support! have to wait, but looks promising. would be great if gemei developped a pce emu too, but well it's 99% sure they will..not. we will have to wait for linux, which should be released quite soon i bet, booboo seeming very active these days.

btw, is the gemei's cc1800 really a 600mhz cpu undercloocker to 500? hopefully this info is true!

have a great day all!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: dingoo on December 11, 2010, 04:18:27 pm
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=zh-CN&tl=en&u=http://bbs.imp3.net/thread-954138-1-1.html
hopefully the snes emu will be out soon - from the author's words it seems to run well, and even sfz2 is supported, so let's see which special chips this emu will support! have to wait, but looks promising. would be great if gemei developped a pce emu too, but well it's 99% sure they will..not. we will have to wait for linux, which should be released quite soon i bet, booboo seeming very active these days.

See here, friend:
http://boards.dingoonity.org/gemei-a330/snes-running-on-the-ga330/

:)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 11, 2010, 04:36:43 pm
btw, is the gemei's cc1800 really a 600mhz cpu undercloocker to 500? hopefully this info is true!

Not as far as I know...

BooBoo reported that it was a ARM926 400MHz back in November, which he got straight from ChinaChip.

 
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 11, 2010, 05:26:49 pm
@ dingoo:
damn, my bad! thanks! let's hope the sfc emu it will be released soon. i hope 400mhz arm will be sufficient this time..hopefully they have some good coder working on, though that's quite unsure..


@ Hellblaze:
thank you for the info! so -many- sites reports bs, for instance:

http://gbatemp.net/t266433-gemei-a330
>>
"Processor: CC1800 (ARM 11 Processor 600 Mhz Underclocked to 500 Mhz)"
(...)
"Emulators: Game Boy, Game Boy Color, Game Boy Advance, NES, SNES, Mega Drive, Neo Geo, Capcom 1, Capcom 2"
while actually neither gb, gbc & snes are supported at this time..=/
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 11, 2010, 09:31:46 pm
So now I have gotten over my problems, I have put some games on the SD card and played them (just Mega Drive at the moment) and here are my thoughts:

I like it, but... I dunno. Maybe I rushed into purchase? Really wanted an A320, loved the one my tutor showed me and was enamoured with the abilities. Wasn't prepared to get the wrong model due to the grey area between the two companies, but at the same time wanted to keep up with the crowd. Basically, looking forward to seeing if BooBoo does dingux for this machine. If not, I'll probably see about getting a second-hand A320, as it will suit my needs better...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: sebnec on December 12, 2010, 11:26:09 am
For the moment, no.

It can only emulate NES/Famicom, Megadrive/Genesis, Neo Geo, CPS1/2, Game Boy Advance for the moment.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: xdf on December 12, 2010, 01:49:12 pm
Heres a quick review I knocked up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1h2MHmvsY44

Its a bit rushed as my wife is nagging me to take her shopping. Oh the joys of days off work  ???
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: samir on December 12, 2010, 06:00:00 pm

Set to 3-button. How the heck do you change to Six Button in the MD emulator??[/li][/list]


That problem also has the Dingoo a320 (only with native emulator, in PicoDrive for Dingux you can configure the 6 buttons). Too bad that has not been solved.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 12, 2010, 06:39:06 pm

Set to 3-button. How the heck do you change to Six Button in the MD emulator??[/li][/list]


That problem also has the Dingoo a320 (only with native emulator, in PicoDrive for Dingux you can configure the 6 buttons). Too bad that has not been solved.

Yeah, it's a pain...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 13, 2010, 12:12:52 am
We should all work on a wiki page for gemei a330!..
as far as i have researched, there is none. this would also be a great opportunity
to get some of the fundamental questions answered for new buyers and users..
and open us up to ideas and info from outside sources...  ;D 

(i'm going to work on that right now)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 13, 2010, 01:42:20 am
I'll certainly lend a hand, with what little knowledge I have ;)
Haven't done a wiki page before, but it will be helpful for Uni. What would we need to start?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 13, 2010, 02:41:45 am
Here it is ladies and gents!

a new start on our gracious new dingoowiki Ga330 site

[Edit]
http://dingoowiki.com/index.php?title=Gemei_a330
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 18, 2010, 09:34:07 am
The native emulators on this device really disappoint. Everything seems very lagged but once dingux comes it will be a whole different story for me. The build quality is nice I like the button placement and it feels solid. I actually like the screen. All in all this had the potential to be another great device. 1080p videos do play but they seem to be downsampled instead of  true res. It plays mkv's fine. Funny thing about them saying its plays full hd is that a hd movie at 720p is 4.37 or more depending on movie length. The file system is fat 32 therefore no file over 4 gigs will be able to stored on a card :) I do not want to split my files up to see a fake 1080p movie.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Snip on December 18, 2010, 10:04:25 am
...The file system is fat 32 therefore no file over 4 gigs will be able to stored on a card :) I do not want to split my files up to see a fake 1080p movie.

I have a microSD on my a330 with NTFS file system and it work like a charm. The size of my microSD is only 4GB  so I cannot try to read a movie that exceeds 4GB but theres is no problem reading 3GB mkv...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 18, 2010, 11:51:12 am
If it reads ntfs that will be fine but dingux only reads fat 32 so you wont be able to share cards

Also though if you have too many roms in the same directory the machine locks up. I tried the same directory in the a320 and bam works fine. You can also get it to lock up really good if you for into settings then set file browsing instead of directory browsing and then try to look for games bam it locks machine with a nice pink screen. Come on DINGUX
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: flatmush on December 18, 2010, 12:29:03 pm
They should really open-source the native OS, there's only a fraction of the code that's actually different from the Ingenic ucos2 port which is already available.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 18, 2010, 01:12:43 pm
Just tested a 720p movie it plays but is very rough it is definately not displaying in 720p resolution. It does play smoothly though and is very watchable. The GBA, CPS, and MVS emulators are ok but md, and nes are all lagged and the sound is off. I'm really liking the design of the machine. Can't wait for dingux
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 18, 2010, 07:22:08 pm
man....... got my gemei a330 in the mail yesterday from deal extreme.... and wow.. i got screwed... the unit they sent had a different logo than what i expected... and the screen was all scratched up... i think they sent me a used unit unless others have had similar problems with new unit orders ;[

really upset
(http://i1136.photobucket.com/albums/n482/hammerhearts/th_SDC11868.jpg)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 18, 2010, 07:23:31 pm
larger... what the hell is with the MPS??
(http://i1136.photobucket.com/albums/n482/hammerhearts/SDC11868.jpg?t=1292699985)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: dingoo on December 18, 2010, 07:25:35 pm
MPS = Multiplayer System
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Nindor on December 18, 2010, 07:49:35 pm
Aint that exactly as the picture you got in the wiki your working on?

The scratched up screen is realy weird though. You should contact them about it.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Friendly Neighborhood Dingoonity Troll on December 18, 2010, 08:02:47 pm
DT A330 > G A330. :)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: RodrigoCard on December 18, 2010, 09:33:44 pm
DT A330 > G A330. :)

Gemei's one looks better :P
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: mandrake88 on December 18, 2010, 11:09:04 pm
DT A330 > G A330. :)

no! that psp case knock-off is awfull
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 18, 2010, 11:35:37 pm
i know what MPS stands for but look at the font (not stylized) .. and look at what its supposed to look like
(http://www1.dealextreme.com/productimages/sku_47741_1.jpg)

im going to paint it and get an "invisible shield" screen protector to deal with the scratches (ugh still makes me angry)

working on a mod for shoulder buttons to stop them from being so loose too... just want them to go in and out... not wiggle around  ;)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 18, 2010, 11:59:07 pm
hi there!

here are a few infos i found somewhere in the east:

1. http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-22-1-1.html
updated .sim's. contain the 6 of them (CPS1.SIM, CPS2.SIM, gba.sim, md.SIM, mvs.sim, NES.SIM), but only 3 are useful, the other ones stay at v1.0 (same md5's).
the updated ones (v1.1) are gba, nes (which was actually already released since a very few days), and neo geo / mvs.

i still have to check more for improvements, so far i can just say that gba and mvs sims didn't speed-up!! :/ haven't tried nes v1.1 yet.

>> GA330-SIMS.zip (3.39MB) :: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0EZOXW8P
(i upped that myself since it's not that simple to grab the many files the chinese bbs links, plus they are made for haozip, the asian winrar-like)

2. http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-21-1-1.html
fw v1.1! beta? maybe not, well who knows yet..anyways it works fine, *but* "improvements" are soooo minor =/

>> GA330-V1.1.zip (21.45MB) (71.8 once unpacked) :: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4PEGSGQJ

customized v1.1 "gals edition" @ http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-45-1-1.html

(http://pp.a.5d6d.com/userdirs/0/8/a330home/attachments/day_101218/1012181906faefdab54ad709d4.jpg)

btw i think we can put about 500 roms per folder. i tried something like 480 and everything went fine, while with ~550 the gemei HANGS :P

gemux pleaseeeeeee xD
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 19, 2010, 12:06:13 am
for those interested in the customized 1.1 fw from thread-45-1-1 @ a330home here is the direct link:

http://u.115.com/file/f6d20f6181

works nicely : )

have a great day everyone!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 19, 2010, 12:07:19 am
larger... what the hell is with the MPS??
(http://i1136.photobucket.com/albums/n482/hammerhearts/SDC11868.jpg?t=1292699985)

I have the same logo, small MPS. Did you get yours from Ownta?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 19, 2010, 12:29:26 am
i have this one as well, with small mps logo! a friend from shenzhen shipped it to me (for $78, and of course she makes some yuans at that price xD)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 19, 2010, 12:36:54 am
Are you having any problems with the SD not being read?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 19, 2010, 12:51:06 am
mm no, luckily enough not at all, and i plugged it in and out soooo many times. a kingston minisd adapter was in the box, and it works fine with my 8gb sandisk. btw some plastic covered my box, so it must be 100% original (hopefully you can understand me well, i'm still at spanglish level jaja :P)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 19, 2010, 01:35:41 am
hi there!

here are a few infos i found somewhere in the east:

1. http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-22-1-1.html
updated .sim's. contain the 6 of them (CPS1.SIM, CPS2.SIM, gba.sim, md.SIM, mvs.sim, NES.SIM), but only 3 are useful, the other ones stay at v1.0 (same md5's).
the updated ones (v1.1) are gba, nes (which was actually already released since a very few days), and neo geo / mvs.

i still have to check more for improvements, so far i can just say that gba and mvs sims didn't speed-up!! :/ haven't tried nes v1.1 yet.

>> GA330-SIMS.zip (3.39MB) :: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0EZOXW8P
(i upped that myself since it's not that simple to grab the many files the chinese bbs links, plus they are made for haozip, the asian winrar-like)

2. http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-21-1-1.html
fw v1.1! beta? maybe not, well who knows yet..anyways it works fine, *but* "improvements" are soooo minor =/

>> GA330-V1.1.zip (21.45MB) (71.8 once unpacked) :: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4PEGSGQJ

customized v1.1 "gals edition" @ http://a330home.5d6d.com/thread-45-1-1.html

(http://pp.a.5d6d.com/userdirs/0/8/a330home/attachments/day_101218/1012181906faefdab54ad709d4.jpg)

btw i think we can put about 500 roms per folder. i tried something like 480 and everything went fine, while with ~550 the gemei HANGS :P

gemux pleaseeeeeee xD

Thank you so much for these links. The os seems to be more stable and browsing the directories are faster. And it added a single player option. Likes like the native os is looking nice. Still wanting DINGUX though :)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 19, 2010, 01:56:08 am
Spoke too soon. Now no matter what I do it does not see my games at all. Even tried formatting my card and starting from scratch.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: qbertaddict on December 19, 2010, 02:11:29 am
Hint to everyone update jukebox!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 19, 2010, 04:39:04 am
 Thankyou Denku for the uploads. In terms of the firmware it's pretty much what was discussed at Dingoo Brasil. Added a file browser, a new sound setting in the settings menu(Which is overwritten by each Emus own sound setting, seemingly pointless).  Seperate options for selecting single player(Gba) or internet games(everything else except native 3d) and a new colum in the xmb for applications.
 As for the 1.1 Emus. Nes adds cheat menu as we already knew. Can see no difference in GBA. Mvs I can find no difference.


*Edit- Native games(.CC extension) no longer show up under 3D game. They show up under application but will NOT launch.

*Edit2- GBA 1.1 breaks compatability with Golden Sun. The game crashes just after garret joins your party.

*Edit3- Found this on Dingoo Brasil
                  "1 - The files with the extension. "C2M" will be assigned to all 2D multiplayer games."
                   2 - The files with the extension. "C2s" will be assigned to all 2D games single player.
                   3 - The files with the extension. "C3S" will be assigned to every single player 3D games

Changed native games file ext from .CC to C3s and they now show and launch under 3D games.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: chewdiggy on December 19, 2010, 11:06:56 am
Hint to everyone update jukebox!


So if I update the FW does this counteract the problem?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 20, 2010, 05:42:34 pm
I'll get mine tomorrow then i'll make a review.

I'll come with a new view because I did'nt have a D320 but i'm a old-school retro-gamers (mame-nes-snes-sms)
and my other portable console was a retro gameboy 1rst generation ...  :o :P ::) ;D ;D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 20, 2010, 10:23:54 pm
I got some MAME Format Roms.. anyone got a hint how to use them on the A330 ? Do i have to convert them in any way, if so, what tool do i have to use ? Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 21, 2010, 02:34:44 am
Mine came in today. Haven't had a chance to play with them much yet, but here's some quick impressions:

- I believe it's been mentioned before, but no TV Out cables. No wall charger either, but DDU packaged a pair of them in the box for us. :D
- Recognized instantly on Vista, haven't tested on Win7 or XP yet.
- I like that it has a clock built into the OS. A minor but nice detail.
- FM Radio didn't seem to be getting any signal. Will test more later. Most people seem to ignore this feature anyhow...
- OS looks ok, seems just a tad slow compared to A320 when it comes to changing global setting and updating memory though. 
- Shoulder buttons have a lose, springy feeling but seem quite responsive and are very comfortable. 
- D-Pad is firm, not sure if it's reading diagonals as well as it could be. Needs more testing, but was having trouble pulling off fireballs . May just need to be broken in a bit.   
- Since I have two units, I  decided to test out two player Street Fighter Alpha 2.  I playable, but there is definite slowdown while using two player mode. Probably not as bad on 8 bit games, but haven't tested yet. Hopefully, this will be fixed once we have Overclocking. Overall, it's a neat feature and was easy to set up and use. Going to have to see how hard it is to break it... I wonder if the ROM's need to be on both units and have the same file name. I also wonder if two player games are playable with TV out.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: clach04 on December 21, 2010, 02:56:44 am
- I like that it has a clock built into the OS. A minor but nice detail.

Woooh! The RTC works? I'd not heard that.  :)

I wish the clock worked on the 320. :-[
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on December 21, 2010, 03:02:52 am
Re the FM radio, I have heard numerous reports that it does not work.

Great to hear about the 2 player option, please keep us informed of anything else you discover.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 21, 2010, 06:01:28 am
FM works: (so far i can only get it to work with headphones)
* goto radio tab
* 3rd option down radio setup
* FM Region, set to U.S.A
* Choose FM Play, set to searches channel
* leave radio setup.. go to first option, Radio
* third option Update FM Playlist
* chose Automatically search

should work after that .. reception problems in my area so i cant get a very clear signal

hope that helps  ;D

[Edit] for ver. 1.0 firmware
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 21, 2010, 09:36:05 am
@ Hellblaze. According to Gemei official forums firmware update 1.1 improves wireless performance. Not sure if you have updated or are testing on the original firmware. As for the D-pad I can perform fireballs ect. a lot more consistently with the GA330 than I ever did with A320. Not sure if that's just personal preference or better quality but I prefer the GA330 D-pad.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 21, 2010, 01:28:29 pm
@HammerHeart  - I had already set up the radio, but they don't seem to send any sound to the speakers. They only seem to work with the headphones plugged in (which improves reception anyhow...)

@1wiierdguy - I'm testing on original firmware first. Will update and then retest.

Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Frank_fjs on December 21, 2010, 01:41:02 pm
@HammerHeart  - I had already set up the radio, but they don't seem to send any sound to the speakers. They only seem to work with the headphones plugged in (which improves reception anyhow...)

Maybe it's designed to only work with the headphones plugged in as it is using them as an aerial. A lot of mobile phones seem to do this as well.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 21, 2010, 04:10:00 pm
Maybe it's designed to only work with the headphones plugged in as it is using them as an aerial. A lot of mobile phones seem to do this as well.

Yeah, seems that way. No big deal, just wasn't what I was expecting since the a320 worked with or without headphones. 

Some other observations:

- Works on XP
- A while back I broke the power switch on my a320, so I have to use my pocket knife to turn it off and on. So I really like the fact that there are multiple ways to turn the GA330 off. However, if you leave the power switch in the off position, it will only charge the unit when you plug it into the computer. You will not have access to the internal memory or miniSD card unless the unit is turned on.
- audio player supports lyrics (*.lrc file extension).
- I only have two ROM's on the units right now: Contra is in the NES Folder and Street Fighter Alpha 2 is in the CPS2 folder. The UI seems to put all your ROMs into a single "Internet Games" list if you have them on internal memory.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 21, 2010, 06:18:38 pm
had a few more minutes to play around:

- On the a320, pressing X will usually take you to the top Menu, regardless of where you are in the UI. On the GA330, I need to press B multiple times to get back to the top menu.

- put some pics, a video and some NES ROMs on 2 GB card. Video played fine, automatically starting up from the spot where I was watching on the a320. Didn't ask me if I wanted to start from the beginning or not though. Pics viewer worked fine. Able to rotate images and view a slideshow. Don't remember if a320 auto rotated pics for best fit, but the GA330 does.

- Could not get emulator to recognize that I had NES ROM's on the card. I have 1,148 files, split up in 6 folders, no more than 300 files per folder. Locks up when I update the Jukebox... help? 
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 21, 2010, 08:27:46 pm
- I only have two ROM's on the units right now: Contra is in the NES Folder and Street Fighter Alpha 2 is in the CPS2 folder. The UI seems to put all your ROMs into a single "Internet Games" list if you have them on internal memory.

In the settings menu change "Browse Type" from All files to Directory browsing.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 21, 2010, 11:38:06 pm
The A330 also support Sega Genesis roms.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 22, 2010, 11:55:45 am
There is a vid up on youku showing wireless play with 1.1 firmware. Apparently the range has been improved to 12 metres(35-40 ft)as well.

http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMjMxMjk3NTY4.html
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Denku on December 22, 2010, 03:34:25 pm
Hellblaze:
since the very first time i transfered quite many files (roms) my gemei locks-up when i (properly) disconnect from usb, when i change the language and when i update the jukebox. and i can't access my musics anymore, the only workaround i found is to go to "Folder Once" in the music tab, only here i can see and listen my songs.
updating the firmware several times with differents versions (1.0 beta, 1.0, 1.1, 1.1 with hacked theme) didn't fix the issue i have when it comes to update some settings.
i suppose my germei flash memory's hidden files are somehow fucked up. any way to access/restore them? are they in some hidden partition maybe? both linux and windows won't show me them, well it's obvious since gemei decided to hide them just like dingoo did with the a320. i wonder which linux or windows tool could help me out!
Hellblaze, can you see your roms displayed now? cheers to 1wiierdguy who explained you the trick: "system setup" > "browses types": "directory browsing".
although even with this setting it sometimes happened to me to have the nasty "No File Found!" stuff when it comes to displaying my roms! i managed to fix this issue by connecting to usb, resetting the settings, updating the firmware etc, i always fixed that problem but i don't even exactly know how, there are so many things i tried to sort that out, and unfortunately with a little bit of time my gemei is working properly again, *but* the music feature is always completely bugged since it won't update the jukebox anymore.
many cheers :)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 22, 2010, 06:09:50 pm
Can anyone tell me if Gemei A330 is MAME Rom compatible ?
Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 22, 2010, 06:44:23 pm
Can anyone tell me if Gemei A330 is MAME Rom compatible ?
Thanks

No but you can play CPS1 and CPS2 that can be taken for some Mames Roms (but only Capcom Roms).
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 22, 2010, 06:51:05 pm
That suxx... damnit..
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: mandrake88 on December 22, 2010, 07:25:27 pm
That suxx... damnit..

wait for dingux..
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 22, 2010, 07:26:37 pm
wait for dingux..

Thats exactly what i am doing at the moment  :D  :-\
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: Hellblaze on December 22, 2010, 08:58:05 pm
It's also possible someone will port MAME to native, just like alekmaul did for the a320.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: streigh on December 22, 2010, 09:17:23 pm
What's emulation like for CPS1, CPS2 & Neo Geo? On my A320, the performance is only acceptable when overclocking to 400 MHz. Do these run smoothly on the A330?

The answer is two posts above....
Megadrive/Genesis emulator is the only one with slow down and sound issues.All games I've tried so far on the other Emus all run really well.

Ive only tested NES and SMD  - they are both great as far as i can tell - a few framing issues here and there but the speed seems fine
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 22, 2010, 09:26:04 pm
Which File Types are supported by the Gemei A330 ?
Anyone got a list ? Does it also support ZIPPED Files ? Because i see that neo geo roms are splitted in more files (all with .ROM ending). Will this work ?
Still waiting for my A330 to arrive :(
Thanks
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: streigh on December 22, 2010, 09:40:42 pm
Which File Types are supported by the Gemei A330 ?
Anyone got a list ? Does it also support ZIPPED Files ? Because i see that neo geo roms are splitted in more files (all with .ROM ending). Will this work ?
Still waiting for my A330 to arrive :(
Thanks


oh - i forgot - ive also tested GBA and GBC (which ive had to rename to either GBA or JGC for the unit to recognize them

as for neo geo - i havent tested them cause i am lazy - they seem to need conversion as is the info about zip - but it seems the only zip supported is cps1
more info is in the wiki http://dingoowiki.com/index.php?title=Gemei_a330
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 22, 2010, 09:53:40 pm
Me too waiting for Dingux ... that can take many months to have it ... got to be patient ...
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 23, 2010, 01:04:04 am
It's also possible someone will port MAME to native, just like alekmaul did for the a320.

How, only a recompile with the SDK ?

How we can make this ?
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: blopa on December 30, 2010, 07:42:22 am
On fw 1.1 we lost the "multiplayer" option for GBA games? D:
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: SittButt on December 30, 2010, 01:16:50 pm
On fw 1.1 we lost the "multiplayer" option for GBA games? D:

It's right ... the GBA games only work on Single Games menu.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 30, 2010, 01:52:25 pm
I received it today.. i already hate it.. The Display "Protection" sucks. Also if i plug it in Windows recognizes it but there is no Drive i can see anywhere. it Displays USB and something in Chinese.. after a few seconds an Icon with 2 arrows pops up, again something in chinese and i am back in main menu. The Gemei Battery icon on the top right Charges. But i cant get it to work, what am i doing wrong ?

Edit 1: When i first inserted the MiniSD Adapter into the gemei it got stuck.. had to pull it out with all my strenght.. now the adapter is wrecked, i hope the gemei is ok, will have to wait till my new Adapter is here.
Got the Protection Sticker on the Gemei without any bubbles! I am very proud of myself.
The Gemei doesnt work with my Windows 64bit. Had to install a 32 bit version. Now i can copy files to gemei.
First impressions: It is very very small.. The Screen is ok, i have nothing to compare it with, so i will just be happy with it. Speakers suck big time, very bad quality. Will test further....

Edit 2: The Sound lags on almost every game i tried and every platform. Is this normal ?!
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: 1wiierdguy on December 31, 2010, 12:18:49 am
Nes andMegadrive/Genesis have sound lag. I have not noticed sound lag on any other platform on mine.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: HammerHeart on December 31, 2010, 03:48:09 am
anyone figure out how to use the "strategy guide" section of the options menu on the GBA emu... would make my life playing FF Tactics a whole lot better!  ;D
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: jagotu on December 31, 2010, 10:48:30 am
On a320 it opened txt file with the same name as rom. For expample for FFT.gba it opened FFT.txt
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on December 31, 2010, 12:13:32 pm
Ok at least Marvel VS Street Fighter (CPS2) works almost perfect. I hope that they make progress on new firmware and emulators.
I tested the Super Nintendo (SFC) Emu and its quite good. Mortal Kombat 1-3 doesnt work, but some others work perfect, Many RPGs and Sports Games.
It seems CPS2 runs best (some speed issues on some games but other than that, very good working).
NES got some weird colours, or is my memory just so bad ? i can really remember how it looked back then, but well those have been 50/60hz TVs.
Some of the best Titles for Neo Geo dont work, most of them have bad GFX issues. Others dont seem to boot as it gets stuck in the Neo Geo Logo Loop.
Sega Mega Drive works pretty well, except for the sound (sound speed and sound lag) Hope that those get fixed because Mega Drive is one of my all time favorites.

I also got the one with the decent MPS Logo (which looks better than the MPS with the crazy Font in my opinion). I am still a bit disappointed by the screen, maybe i will open it up and see how it is connected, maybe i will install another screen with the same resolution/interface.


EDIT: I found out that the reason why not so many Neo Geo Roms worked is because i somehow got BAD Roms.. i found a place with correct ones, now almost everything works.. Yes.. :D


(http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/5747/dsc02143q.jpg)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: heilong79 on January 01, 2011, 11:51:09 am
oh, you got the one with the "boring" font on the front ;D

I got the stylized font which I like the look of better.

It can play HD MKV files which is a big deal as even a hacked xbox(original) media center cant do that.
Screen is a little small but fine for games. Glad they released a Snes emu. It is way better tan a Iphone for emulation so  I am happy, Just waiting for BooBoo to release Dingux which realistically should not take long as Geimei is supporting him and he just need to recompile so it can work on a arm processor.
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: blopa on January 01, 2011, 10:21:07 pm
On fw 1.1 we lost the "multiplayer" option for GBA games? D:

It's right ... the GBA games only work on Single Games menu.

Why did they removed this option? ;/

Another question... can someone tell me how to save a game without having to use "save state" option? Is it even possible?
Thanks and happy 2011 to everybody! =)
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: izze on January 04, 2011, 03:08:05 pm
Hey blopa.. i havent tried saving a game without save state, because save state is so much more comfortable.
No need to use other saving methods in my opinion.. What are you looking for exactly ? Any special game?
Greets
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: blopa on January 04, 2011, 05:31:48 pm
Hey blopa.. i havent tried saving a game without save state, because save state is so much more comfortable.
No need to use other saving methods in my opinion.. What are you looking for exactly ? Any special game?
Greets

Hello izze!!
Well, my need is to continue playing some games I was already playing on my phone. I've many .sav files. I've used SRAM and TRIM patch on Link to The Past rom (for GBA) and somehow, I menaged to play with my sav file. But I can't do it on SNES emulator, no matter what. I was hopping to get this to work, because there's a game for SNES that has 4 parts, and to continue part 2, you need to use the save file from part 1. The game is BS Zelda
Title: Re: Official Gemei 330 Review Topic
Post by: streigh on January 18, 2011, 06:51:29 pm
Hey blopa.. i havent tried saving a game without save state, because save state is so much more comfortable.
No need to use other saving methods in my opinion.. What are you looking for exactly ? Any special game?
Greets

in bios v1.1 with the new sim's there are 10 save states - i havent tried yet but i assume that means 10 different saves