Author Topic: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator  (Read 38867 times)

Aeter

  • *
  • Posts: 290
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #105 on: May 13, 2015, 11:55:22 pm »
Hi my friends, can anybody help me, please?
I really can't understand how to get this emulator working! :(
I've got last gcw zero firmware, and I tried both opk and dge version.
Using the first, I can't send the syscard3.bin file in the syscards directory because it appear only when I start Temper.
Using the second, if I follow the procedure described by Timepilot2084, I can't visualize any file, the file manager shows only folders...
Please help me, I really need TEMPER!  :'(
Create the map yourself and put it in, should work.
~cucullus non facit monachum~

Stefano74

Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #106 on: May 15, 2015, 09:30:41 am »
Thank you for the advice, but I think I don' know how to do it... :-[
This is my first emulator console, and my first linux experience.  ???

Stefano74

Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #107 on: May 16, 2015, 02:11:07 am »
I'm trying to use temper with hucard roms I put in my external sdcard, but I noticed that this emulator doesen't remember the rom path. Everytime I want to change game, I have to return manually to the rom directory.
That's very boring!   ???
I'm wondering if there is a way to save the path to the last rom directory used... ::)

superfenix2020

  • *
  • Posts: 194
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #108 on: October 15, 2015, 11:57:34 pm »
I'm trying to use temper with hucard roms I put in my external sdcard, but I noticed that this emulator doesen't remember the rom path. Everytime I want to change game, I have to return manually to the rom directory.
That's very boring!   ???
I'm wondering if there is a way to save the path to the last rom directory used... ::)
+1

gameblabla

  • *
  • Posts: 467
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #109 on: October 16, 2015, 06:10:08 am »
Use Mednafen-GCW0 for NEC PC-Engine, it works pretty well.
http://boards.dingoonity.org/gcw-development/mednafen-for-gcw0

And here is a quick video i did for TomQ :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asy5fITXfeU

Qubits

  • *
  • Posts: 143
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #110 on: May 22, 2016, 07:57:54 pm »
Here is a link to the Temper opk for thoses who are looking for it : https://www.sendspace.com/file/3elek4

The good thing with temper is that it respect the aspect ratio of the game while mednafen is streching the image a little bit (even when pressing Start + B) which make some video games look weird, especially for the typo, you can see something's wrong but mednafen has better colors (much more vibrant) & contrast. The perfect PC Engine emulator would be a blend of the two in my opinion : Correct aspect ratio of Temper & color / contrast of Mednafen.

Qubits

  • *
  • Posts: 143
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #111 on: May 22, 2016, 08:03:57 pm »
Here are some GCW screenshots of the two for a quick comparaison (Temper on top & Mednafen on bottom) :

« Last Edit: May 22, 2016, 08:22:36 pm by Qubits »

davidgilmour

Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #112 on: October 15, 2016, 07:59:13 pm »
If I remember well the CD-ROM bios should be in .bin format... syscard.bin, syscard2.bin and syscard3.bin...

Thanks!

That was it. =)


So I have the dracula.cue and dracula.bin

I also have lots of system cards in the syscards directory.

The cd rom system v1.00.pce , version 2.01, w.10. Some super cd-rom2 card versions and SYSCARD3.PCE.

If I start the last one the cd rom menu comes up.
If I rename the last one to syscard3.bin and I start it up nothing happens.

What am I doing wrong?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2016, 08:15:49 pm by davidgilmour »

davidgilmour

Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #113 on: October 15, 2016, 08:01:18 pm »
Sorry for reviving the topic...

I'm using the temper 0.81 .opk, trying to run rondo of blood but, it just exit the emulator.

The cd files are an .cue and an .iso file, is it the right format to use in temper?

I read someplace that i need to put the bios file (syscard3.bin), but the folders to put the bios only appear when i run temper (in the /mnt folder).

Can someone point me to the right direction? What am i doing wrong?

Ps: the gcw arrived some days ago, and its awesome =D

I was having the same problem, use the dge version.


Worked it out, the syscard3.pce has to be in .temper/syscard directory!
« Last Edit: October 15, 2016, 08:15:24 pm by davidgilmour »

opt2not

  • *
  • Posts: 170
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #114 on: July 06, 2017, 09:44:23 pm »
Just wanted to report that the previous links to the opk version of Temper are all dead.
I recently got my GCW back from repair and have had to reinstall all my emulators and couldn't find the opk version I had previously installed.

But I was able to get gameblabla's version on github working for me:  https://github.com/gameblabla/temper

Same deal as before:
- make sure the  syscard3.bin file is in  .temper/syscard
- update your .cue files to point to the right tracks. You can edit a .cue in a text editor to make sure everything is named properly
- I use .ogg for the audio tracks since .mp3 isn't supported, and I've had bad results with .wav's.

I'm back up and running with this emulator now and it's been working really well.  I prefer Temper over Mednafen for the pixel aspect issue noted earlier, but I'm not sure of what other advantages using one over the other are. So far Temper has been working for me.

opt2not

  • *
  • Posts: 170
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #115 on: July 09, 2017, 04:37:46 am »
^ Turns out there's a bug with this version of the emulator when you enable 6-button controller. The controller repeatedly fires left and down and makes games unplayable. In 2-button mode it's fine.

gameblabla

  • *
  • Posts: 467
Re: I NEED TEMPER or another working PcEngine emulator
« Reply #116 on: July 14, 2017, 02:15:47 am »
^ Turns out there's a bug with this version of the emulator when you enable 6-button controller. The controller repeatedly fires left and down and makes games unplayable. In 2-button mode it's fine.
Strange, some said that 6-controller supportr is working just fine.
Maybe this is due to the fact you used an older version of temper ?
Maybe try deleting the .temper folder?

I will look at this, been while since i powered on my GCW zero.

 

Post a new topic