• HomeBoards
  • RulesRules
  • HelpHelp
  • WikiWiki
  • Donate

Author Topic: ReGBA, GBA emulator version 1.45.5 (hardware scaling)  (Read 167300 times)

gamefreak_joey

  • Posts: 138
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #60 on: September 25, 2013, 06:25:45 am »
I'll try and recreate it then. I was playing the English patched version of Mother 3. I don't think it does it with any other applications but I'll check, as well.

No, I wasn't holding down the power press combo.

 I'll keep you posted.

opt2not

  • Posts: 203
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #61 on: September 25, 2013, 07:35:55 am »
Thanks for the updated version Nebulon!

Also I tried Alpha 3, and the volume doesn't fade for me. 

pcercuei

  • Posts: 1698
    • My devblog
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #62 on: September 25, 2013, 10:19:37 am »
Never say never!
The power switch daemon is 3 years old, we would have seen such a bug by now.

Vato

  • Posts: 75
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #63 on: September 27, 2013, 02:26:27 am »
I'll try and recreate it then. I was playing the English patched version of Mother 3. I don't think it does it with any other applications but I'll check, as well.

No, I wasn't holding down the power press combo.

 I'll keep you posted.

I actually started a game of Mother3 [1.1 english patch] too (i had been playing on my DSTwo, but gave it over to my kiddo when my Zero arrived). From my time playing i havent had any volume decreasing and I'm a good hour or so into dinking around in a new game.

Shin-NiL

  • Posts: 355
    • Shin-NiL's Personal Web Page (Brazilian Portuguese)
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #64 on: September 27, 2013, 04:16:31 pm »
Never say never!
The power switch daemon is 3 years old, we would have seen such a bug by now.

I've reproduced this bug testing my Sonic Robo Blast 2 port today. It will happen after you press power + x buttons.

pcercuei

  • Posts: 1698
    • My devblog
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #65 on: September 27, 2013, 06:12:44 pm »
There's nothing assigned to power + X...

Shin-NiL

  • Posts: 355
    • Shin-NiL's Personal Web Page (Brazilian Portuguese)
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #66 on: September 27, 2013, 06:19:10 pm »
I forgot what was the combination for taking screenshots, so I pressed these buttons. After that, the up and down keys affected the volume.

pcercuei

  • Posts: 1698
    • My devblog
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #67 on: September 27, 2013, 06:41:49 pm »
Like if the power switch was kept pressed all the time?

Shin-NiL

  • Posts: 355
    • Shin-NiL's Personal Web Page (Brazilian Portuguese)
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #68 on: September 27, 2013, 07:38:38 pm »
Exactly, I didn't try another combo though.

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #69 on: September 27, 2013, 11:52:34 pm »
It appears as if this problem is not related to ReGBA, but to something in the Power switch handler daemon. I have started a thread about this in /GCW Zero/Help, Power button press/release issues, firmware 2013-09-13, and copied some of you guys' posts into it.

Please continue discussing your volume, brightness, unresponsive input and Power button issues there. It may get more targetted insight over time.

gamefreak_joey

  • Posts: 138
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #70 on: September 27, 2013, 11:58:45 pm »
Come to think of it, I did take screenshots and tried both combinations of x and y a little before it happened.

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 3]
« Reply #71 on: September 29, 2013, 11:27:20 pm »
ReGBA alpha 4, the "start of a menu" edition, is now available.

Download it here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/106475413/gcw-zero/regba-alpha-4.opk

In this version, the menu has started to become a thing! However, settings are currently not saved to any file.



  • You can set these three settings, as well as look at various performance statistics and ROM information for the running game, return to the game, reset it or exit the emulator.
  • The menu has returned to the Y key, as used in gpsp.opk compiled by pcercuei. As a result, X and Y don't act as rapid-fire anymore. As a result of Exit being in the menu, X+Y does not exit the emulator anymore. I did this because Start+Select sent the first button to the game as well as ReGBA.
  • The Analog Up and Down directions do not change the screen scaling anymore. Use the menu for that.

The last commit that went into this build is commit d617825: "OpenDingux, gui.c: Update copyright as commit 1d30cc1 was a rewrite."
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 11:31:02 pm by Nebuleon »

RupeeClock

  • Posts: 234
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 4]
« Reply #72 on: September 30, 2013, 01:18:05 pm »
Cool, I will try out alpha 4 soon.
I hope you can implement some remapping options soon as I prefer to use X/B for B/A whenever possible, more comfortable direction, and also my GCW Zero's problem with the stiff A button.

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 4]
« Reply #73 on: September 30, 2013, 11:18:11 pm »
Cool, I will try out alpha 4 soon.
I hope you can implement some remapping options soon as I prefer to use X/B for B/A whenever possible, more comfortable direction, and also my GCW Zero's problem with the stiff A button.
Everything starts somewhere, and this start-of-a-menu in alpha 4 is just that. I plan to add much more in terms of settings. :)

Speaking of which, here's the backend for the button remapping - it only needs a frontend: source/opendingux/gcwinput.c Li 67

And here's a commit by JohnnyonFlame which adds save-to-file support for any menu option I already have and any I add in the future: commit 422a440

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 4]
« Reply #74 on: October 01, 2013, 12:04:20 am »
Ah, and hey.

ReGBA alpha 5 is available, it includes JohnnyonFlame's settings code which works with my 3 first menu options :D

Download: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/106475413/gcw-zero/regba-alpha-5.opk

  • Saves settings from the menu into a text file at /boot/local/home/.gpsp/global_config.cfg.

The last commit that went into this build is commit cd6670ae: "Clean up commit 422a440.".

RupeeClock

  • Posts: 234
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 5]
« Reply #75 on: October 01, 2013, 01:11:53 am »
Oh cool, better to try alpha 5 then.  :)

The menu works very nicely, it doesn't need to look fancy but it does everything it needs, as you've compiled it so far.
Have you thought about things such as scrolling through the list? As you continue to add features to the menu you may need to implement scrolling, or at the very least pages to flip through.
I really look forward to the button remapping implementation because that'll let me take full advantage of ReGBA.

I've tested a number of games on ReGBA now and emulation seems near perfect. The only anomaly I've found is a slight text rendering bug in Mario & Luigi Super Star Saga.

As you can see, in enlarged text there is a horizontal line not rendered for some reason. Other than that, no problems yet.

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 5]
« Reply #76 on: October 01, 2013, 01:24:52 am »
[a)] Oh cool, better to try alpha 5 then.  :)

[b)] The menu works very nicely, it doesn't need to look fancy but it does everything it needs, as you've compiled it so far.
Have you thought about things such as scrolling through the list? As you continue to add features to the menu you may need to implement scrolling, or at the very least pages to flip through.
[c)] I really look forward to the button remapping implementation because that'll let me take full advantage of ReGBA.

[d)] I've tested a number of games on ReGBA now and emulation seems near perfect. The only anomaly I've found is a slight text rendering bug in Mario & Luigi Super Star Saga.

[e)] As you can see, in enlarged text there is a horizontal line not rendered for some reason. Other than that, no problems yet.
a) Yep. :D

b) I have thought about it; I think it'll just be pages, separated by functional area. (video settings for frameskip/scale/ffwd/etc., audio settings, hotkeys and button remapping as 2 menus, saved states as another)

c) Me too. I look forward to using an SNES-like button map for the Super Mario Advances.

d) That carries over from gpSP-Exophase 0.9 and was present in TempGBA/DSTwo as well - I don't know if I can fix that. But hey, it's open-source ;)

e) And the 55 rendered FPS... AFAIK that game should be a constant 60. Unless the screenshotter preparing to write the PNG image stole CPU away from ReGBA just when it was about to calculate the FPS :p

RupeeClock

  • Posts: 234
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 5]
« Reply #77 on: October 01, 2013, 01:41:39 am »
a) Yep. :D

b) I have thought about it; I think it'll just be pages, separated by functional area. (video settings for frameskip/scale/ffwd/etc., audio settings, hotkeys and button remapping as 2 menus, saved states as another)

c) Me too. I look forward to using an SNES-like button map for the Super Mario Advances.

d) That carries over from gpSP-Exophase 0.9 and was present in TempGBA/DSTwo as well - I don't know if I can fix that. But hey, it's open-source ;)

e) And the 55 rendered FPS... AFAIK that game should be a constant 60. Unless the screenshotter preparing to write the PNG image stole CPU away from ReGBA just when it was about to calculate the FPS :p

[a}] Yup!

[b}] That aught to work just fine, like you said menus aren't your strong point. Maybe down the line another developer could help you with that if they felt like it, but it's not the important point of ReGBA, performance is. :)

[c}] Actually one of the advantages of the Super Mario Advances, is that the R shoulder button doubles as the B button. You can hold that down to run, whilst using A to jump and B to perform actions like shooting fireballs, pulling up turnips, swinging your raccoon tail etc.

[d}] I suspected as much, I was gonna try out gpSP quickly on my Caanoo to compare but now I don't have to.
My other suspicion was it might have to do with the alternative BIOS courtesy of Normatt, the one derived from VBA-M. I really doubt it though since VBA-M is very solid itself.

[e}] I've used the screenshotter in other applications too, and it usually does have a slight delay after performing a screenshot, that's normal I think.
A number of the ReGBA screenshots report slightly under 100% speed because they were taken in rapid succession like that.
Actually sometimes the FPS reads 59/59, I was wondering why 59 and not always 60?

Nebuleon

  • Guest
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 5]
« Reply #78 on: October 01, 2013, 01:59:37 am »
[...]
I've used the screenshotter in other applications too, and it usually does have a slight delay after performing a screenshot, that's normal I think.
A number of the ReGBA screenshots report slightly under 100% speed because they were taken in rapid succession like that.
Actually sometimes the FPS reads 59/59, I was wondering why 59 and not always 60?
The GBA outputs at a frame rate of 59.73. Weird, I know, but this caused problems in alphas 1 and 2 where the image would be output at a frame rate of 60 to the GCW and after 5 minutes of gameplay the sound would be 4096/11025ths of a second too late and wrap back horribly to the start, glitching and clipping. Alphas 3 and later actually skip a frame every 230 to resynchronise with the sound.

So there you go, the story of why the "this game is running fine" FPS is 59 instead of 60 :)

RupeeClock

  • Posts: 234
Re: ReGBA, GBA emulator [alpha 5]
« Reply #79 on: October 01, 2013, 02:16:12 am »
The GBA outputs at a frame rate of 59.73. Weird, I know, but this caused problems in alphas 1 and 2 where the image would be output at a frame rate of 60 to the GCW and after 5 minutes of gameplay the sound would be 4096/11025ths of a second too late and wrap back horribly to the start, glitching and clipping. Alphas 3 and later actually skip a frame every 230 to resynchronise with the sound.

So there you go, the story of why the "this game is running fine" FPS is 59 instead of 60 :)

Huh, how peculiar that the GBA has a refresh rate of 59.73Hz, that's quite the idiosyncrasy. That's a good solution to the sound synchronization issue though.
It doesn't seem like you could drop a frame in the audio at the same time as the video, a skipped frame is impossible to notice, a skip in the audio might be more noticeable though.