Author Topic: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)  (Read 17233 times)

johnnyonflame (OP)

  • *
  • Posts: 212
Re: [RC] ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2014, 03:37:55 am »
Icon updated, post updated! I'm glad ya'll liked the release.

iames85

  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2014, 05:53:14 pm »
The current ECWolf engine supports:
Wolfenstein 3D fullversion (.wl6) and shareware (.wl1)
Spear of Destiny fullversion (.sod) and demo (.sdm)
Spear of Destiny Mission 2: Return to Danger (.sd2)
Spear of Destiny Mission 3: Ultimate Challenge (.sd3)
Super 3D Noah's Ark (.n3d)

... maybe the next releases will be able to support also:
- Blake Stone: Aliens of Gold
- Corridor 7: Alien Invasion
- Operation Body Count
- Rise of the Triad: The Hunt Begins
Spear of Destiny 2 and 3 are also .sod files. So when I go to transfer these files they just overwrite Spear of Destiny 1. Anyone eles have this issue? Thanks for the great release!

DPA09

  • *
  • Posts: 101
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2014, 06:45:48 pm »
Awesome - thanks!

Gab1975

  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2014, 08:22:47 pm »
Spear of Destiny 2 and 3 are also .sod files. So when I go to transfer these files they just overwrite Spear of Destiny 1. Anyone eles have this issue? Thanks for the great release!

Maybe you have wrong versions... the files needed are:
(gamemaps.sd2; maphead.sd2; vswap.sd2 - Mission 2: Return of Danger)
(gamemaps.sd3; maphead.sd3; vswap.sd3 - Mission 3: Ultimate Challenge)

iames85

  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #19 on: July 10, 2014, 04:17:15 pm »
Thanks Gab. That sorted it out  :D

Gab1975

  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #20 on: July 11, 2014, 11:04:06 am »
@iames85: you're welcome! :)

@johnnyonflame: you made a very good work, thanks! :) As far as I have been able to observe, just the "key/button" labels need to be renamed for a "perfect" release ! ;)

zear

  • * Moderator
  • Posts: 2378
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #21 on: July 11, 2014, 11:05:25 am »
@iames85: you're welcome! :)

@johnnyonflame: you made a very good work, thanks! :) As far as I have been able to observe, just the "key/button" labels need to be renamed for a "perfect" release ! ;)
More than that, actually. Most of the game options are redundant and some (like resolution change) can freeze the visuals.

Gab1975

  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #22 on: July 11, 2014, 11:12:36 am »
More than that, actually. Most of the game options are redundant and some (like resolution change) can freeze the visuals.

Therefore I was too optimist! :P In any case, the engine seems to work very well...

JRRacing64

  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: [RC] ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2014, 04:27:11 pm »
I solved the "issue"... my .wl6 files must have been updated to the last version... to make it I used the "patch utility" on the Original Website.
What's original website? Having the same issue.

Gab1975

  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
Re: [RC] ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2014, 04:43:51 pm »
What's original website? Having the same issue.

Here ... the section is "Patch Utility" ! ;)

JRRacing64

  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2014, 03:26:19 pm »
I'm still kinda new to linux.  I don't under stand "Open a terminal and use cd to change to that directory" What do I type exactly? It's in downloads/wolf3d. Sorry if I'm being a noob at this.

Gab1975

  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2014, 04:23:50 pm »
I'm still kinda new to linux.  I don't under stand "Open a terminal and use cd to change to that directory" What do I type exactly? It's in downloads/wolf3d. Sorry if I'm being a noob at this.

You need to put the "patchutil.exe" in the same folder where you put the ".wl6" files (Wolfenstein 3d data files)... then it's enough to run the patchutil.exe and automatically the files will be updated.

PS: obviously, if you use Windows OS, you need to download "Wolf3D Patch for Windows"  (and run the patch with the "administrative permissions").

JRRacing64

  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2014, 03:48:15 pm »
Thanks you! works great. Thanks for being patient with me with all the questions. :-)

AskaLangly

  • *
  • Posts: 106
Re: ECWolf Engine (Wolfenstein 3D, ...)
« Reply #28 on: November 27, 2017, 07:06:41 am »
Any word on updates?
Specifically ones involving the analog Y-axis remap issue, and allowing slower movement with analog?
Also any word on mod support? I'm not looking to modify it with HQ graphic packs, but the 3DO music, the Mac version weapons, as well as the ability to have 199 ammo.
But now I have been wondering... how to get at the debug features?!?

 

Post a new topic