Author Topic: I think I broke my power switch...  (Read 2866 times)

TheChristoph (OP)

I think I broke my power switch...
« on: January 15, 2016, 01:02:20 am »
I got the 3d printed d-pad and installed it today. It was pretty easy disassembling and reassembling the unit. I'm not a complete novice to this sort of thing; I've swapped a GBA SP case, stuff like that. But I think I broke my GCW Zero...

The switch now has no resistance when I raise or lower it. There was no spring or anything of the like that fell out; I don't know what happened. The wiki says that the electrical switch is easy to break, but I can't visually tell what happened. The photos on the wiki don't help and I couldn't visually see anything that attached the slider to the power switch in the first place...

So can anyone recommend a course of action here? Anything obvious that I may have overlooked?

Surkow

• * Administrator
Re: I think I broke my power switch...
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 02:08:36 am »
The power switch can be replaced with basic soldering skills. Any generic PSP style power switch will do.

Quickman

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 02:09:09 am »
 Man, that really sucks I'm so sorry!
This amongst many other reasons is why am so weary to upgrade or modify my zero since it was so hard to acquire one.

However, if there are any administrators seeing this, it should be moved to the top of the "Help" category.

Or  The original poster should copy and paste it in the help category.

People are usually quick to respond there! Hope you're able to get it fixed soon buddy!

Edit:  while I was writing then posting this, an administrator  must've chimed in at the same time.  sorry
« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 02:10:50 am by Quickman »

Surkow

• * Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2016, 02:12:46 am »
Moved the topic as per suggestion.

Note: even with a broken power switch, you can still turn on your unit with the reset button.

TheChristoph (OP)