• HomeBoards
  • RulesRules
  • HelpHelp
  • WikiWiki
  • Donate

Author Topic: C# Mono 3.2 now supports MIPS CPU  (Read 6909 times)

zezba9000 (OP)

C# Mono 3.2 now supports MIPS CPU
« on: August 15, 2013, 06:03:31 am »
What would it take to ship Mono 3.2 with MIPS support on the GCW Zero??

I'm a C# dev and have a cross platform C# API I would like to port at some point to the GCW Zero for use with GLES2.
Mono has licence issues when you try to embed it on some platforms.  So for some that might know, how hard do you think it would be to get it running on the GCW Zero now that Mono supports MIPS?

My API is located here: https://github.com/reignstudios/ReignSDK
Its a personal project I hope to take further in the future.

Skyline969

Re: C# Mono 3.2 now supports MIPS CPU
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 06:52:59 pm »
I'd be all for the Zero getting Mono support. I'm more confident in C# than any other language at this point, so I'd be more inclined to start developing applications for the Zero (as opposed to ones that work with the Zero).

mth

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 10:39:09 am »
Getting it to cross compile would be the first step. I heard Mono wasn't easy to cross compile in the past, I don't know if that changed with the new release.

What license issues are you talking about? There were issues on iOS, but those were caused by Apple's restrictive rules for the iTunes Store, not by Mono itself. I'm not aware of other license issues.

There are also concerns about possible Microsoft patents. While software patents are certainly a problem, it is not clear to me that Mono is more vulnerable to this than other software. So unless the problems become concrete, I don't think this should block the inclusion of Mono.

zezba9000 (OP)

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2013, 06:04:38 pm »
"What license issues are you talking about?"