Dingoonity.org

GCW Zero => Development => Topic started by: Shin-NiL on June 19, 2014, 06:02:17 pm

Title: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on June 19, 2014, 06:02:17 pm
Here's one of my old Dingux porting projects: ZDoom (http://zdoom.org/). It's based on the latest OpenAL branch (Oct 23, 2013)

Installing
* Install the OPK;
* copy your WAD files to your device;
* add the ".bin" extension to your WADs (doom.wad -> doom.wad.bin);
* run ZDoom and then select your desired WAD to play.

Settings
* You can set most of the configurations through the options menu. If you want more advanced settings, edit the  /media/data/local/home/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini file.

Known Issues
* There's no music.

TODO
* Enable midi music playback;
* translate pc keys name to GCW-Zero buttons name (escape -> select, enter -> start, etc);
* adjust the save screen to allow enter some unique label (a timestamp, maybe);
* full automate the building process.

Download
ZDoom.opk (2014-06-15) (http://www.mediafire.com/download/o9g7gxkojnvl56y/zdoom.opk)

Note: this is a development build, so there's a lot of things to do.
You can follow my code commits here: https://github.com/Shin-NiL/zdoom/commits/gcw0
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Goggles2114 on June 19, 2014, 07:08:38 pm
Thanks for working on it.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: joebro88 on June 19, 2014, 08:48:48 pm
Hey, thanks a ton!  :D I don't know if this is a dumb question, but is there a way to switch weapons?...or can you map it in the options? Thanks! (Edit)-Nevermind, taken care of
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Goggles2114 on June 19, 2014, 09:31:21 pm
Can someone post the button layout here in thread?

Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Gab1975 on June 19, 2014, 10:07:07 pm
Thanks a lot for this release! :)
I made a quick test with Doom, Doom II, Heretic, Hexen and Strife... all of them seem to run very well... ;)
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on June 20, 2014, 01:25:52 pm
Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Only this way you can find your WAD files using gmenu2x selector. This happens because only files with valid extensions  for its mime-type are listed.

Give a try removing the ".bin" extension ;)
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Goggles2114 on June 20, 2014, 03:47:16 pm
....ew.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: zear on June 20, 2014, 04:27:32 pm
Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Only this way you can find your WAD files using gmenu2x selector. This happens because only files with valid extensions  for its mime-type are listed.
This isn't the right solution. Please report to us what mime-type you need added in gmenu2x file selector and it will be present in the next firmware update.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: surfi80 on June 20, 2014, 08:36:37 pm
muito obrigado amigo
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on June 22, 2014, 02:10:18 pm
Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Only this way you can find your WAD files using gmenu2x selector. This happens because only files with valid extensions  for its mime-type are listed.
This isn't the right solution. Please report to us what mime-type you need added in gmenu2x file selector and it will be present in the next firmware update.

Thanks zear, I didn't know that.
The mime-type is "application/octet-stream" and the file extension is "wad".
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Noisepurge on June 27, 2014, 09:17:05 am
thanks for working on ZDoom! :)
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: KickingCooler on June 30, 2014, 09:33:22 pm
I made a video about running Brutal Doom with this engine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzRU8nGFaTU

Sorry about my weird voice. I'm 10 years old.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: opt2not on July 01, 2014, 12:37:20 am
I made a video about running Brutal Doom with this engine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzRU8nGFaTU

Sorry about my weird voice. I'm 10 years old.
Thanks for taking the time to upload a video, KickingCooler! Your voice isn't weird! 8)

Man, I'm really happy to see this working!
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on July 01, 2014, 03:40:17 am
I made a video about running Brutal Doom with this engine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzRU8nGFaTU

Sorry about my weird voice. I'm 10 years old.

Thanks for sharing your nice video,  KickingCooler  ;D

Hey guys, anybody knows if is possible to run timidity as standalone on GCW-Zero? ZDoom is trying to execute the follow command through execvp():
Code: [Select]
timidity  -EFchorus=0 -EFreverb=0 -s22050 -OdS1 -id  /tmp/zmidsHBLYSBut there's no timidity on the path ???

EDIT: I've tried to compile timidity exe by own, but I'm getting the following errors:
Code: [Select]
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x8f4): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x8fc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x92c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x934): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x950): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x968): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x974): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa74): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa7c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa94): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xaac): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xad8): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xadc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xaf0): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xafc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xb58): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xb5c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'

Any help? Thanks.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: johnnyonflame on July 04, 2014, 05:18:17 pm
I made a video about running Brutal Doom with this engine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzRU8nGFaTU

Sorry about my weird voice. I'm 10 years old.

Thanks for sharing your nice video,  KickingCooler  ;D

Hey guys, anybody knows if is possible to run timidity as standalone on GCW-Zero? ZDoom is trying to execute the follow command through execvp():
Code: [Select]
timidity  -EFchorus=0 -EFreverb=0 -s22050 -OdS1 -id  /tmp/zmidsHBLYSBut there's no timidity on the path ???

EDIT: I've tried to compile timidity exe by own, but I'm getting the following errors:
Code: [Select]
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x8f4): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x8fc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x92c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x934): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x950): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x968): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0x974): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa74): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa7c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xa94): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xaac): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xad8): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xadc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xaf0): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xafc): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xb58): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'
alsa_a.c:(.text+0xb5c): undefined reference to `[email protected]_0.9'

Any help? Thanks.

That won't work. You'll have to code your own midi backend, or adapt the one already present in the game.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on July 05, 2014, 04:31:26 pm
Thanks for the info, Johnny ;)
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: zear on July 06, 2014, 08:03:58 pm
Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Only this way you can find your WAD files using gmenu2x selector. This happens because only files with valid extensions  for its mime-type are listed.
This isn't the right solution. Please report to us what mime-type you need added in gmenu2x file selector and it will be present in the next firmware update.

Thanks zear, I didn't know that.
The mime-type is "application/octet-stream" and the file extension is "wad".

Turns out the doom wad mime-type is already present in the released FW. Goes under "application/x-doom".
For the full list of available mime-types, consult: https://github.com/gcwnow/shared-mime-info/blob/6039c5a5de02b021a920bc6e6c13fde95d696cfc/freedesktop.org.xml.in
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: TimeDevouncer on July 06, 2014, 08:21:41 pm
Thanks for your work ;).

I hope you can enable the music soon  ;D
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on July 07, 2014, 10:41:33 pm
Also why do wads need tovbe renamed to .bin?
Only this way you can find your WAD files using gmenu2x selector. This happens because only files with valid extensions  for its mime-type are listed.
This isn't the right solution. Please report to us what mime-type you need added in gmenu2x file selector and it will be present in the next firmware update.

Thanks zear, I didn't know that.
The mime-type is "application/octet-stream" and the file extension is "wad".

Turns out the doom wad mime-type is already present in the released FW. Goes under "application/x-doom".
For the full list of available mime-types, consult: https://github.com/gcwnow/shared-mime-info/blob/6039c5a5de02b021a920bc6e6c13fde95d696cfc/freedesktop.org.xml.in

Thanks again, zear. I was looking for this list a long time...
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Orion4874 on July 08, 2014, 09:24:39 am
I've tried most of the wads from this page, http://zdoom.org/wiki/IWAD and can confirm they all work. I haven't gotten too far in most of them but what I've tried so far ran great. Thanks for all your work Shin-Nil!!
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: JRRacing64 on July 18, 2014, 06:42:55 am
Keeps crashing back to the wad select screen. Renamed them to .bin.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Shin-NiL on July 23, 2014, 01:43:19 am
Keeps crashing back to the wad select screen. Renamed them to .bin.
Make sure the game full path does not contain blank spaces.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Noisepurge on July 30, 2014, 12:03:29 pm
good to see some progress :) hopefully you can crack the audio issues Shin!
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Hman41 on August 07, 2014, 02:47:06 am
 So Ive been having a problem with running zdoom. This script shows up in the log viewer every time i run a .WAD file:

/zdoom: can't load library'libopenal.so.1'

Can anyone help me solve this issue?
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Gab1975 on August 07, 2014, 06:55:05 am
So Ive been having a problem with running zdoom. This script shows up in the log viewer every time i run a .WAD file:

/zdoom: can't load library'libopenal.so.1'

Can anyone help me solve this issue?

I'm not a "big expert", but if I remember well the OpenAL library is supported by the latest firmware... are you sure to have installed the correct firmware (2014-05-05) in your device?

I replied you also in your other thread: http://boards.dingoonity.org/gcw-help/zdoom-crashes-cant-update-help!!/
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Hman41 on August 09, 2014, 04:33:59 am
So i got zdoom to work, but ive been unable to get any of my total conversion mods (aliens TC) to work. Is that an unavailable feature, or am i doing something wrong?
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Vato on August 10, 2014, 03:32:14 am
So i got zdoom to work, but ive been unable to get any of my total conversion mods (aliens TC) to work. Is that an unavailable feature, or am i doing something wrong?

i just tried the alien tc and it works here.
you need to add the wad path to the config file found at /usr/local/home/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini

[Doom.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/ATCLEV.WAD.bin
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Hman41 on August 10, 2014, 05:35:16 am
So i got zdoom to work, but ive been unable to get any of my total conversion mods (aliens TC) to work. Is that an unavailable feature, or am i doing something wrong?

i just tried the alien tc and it works here.
you need to add the wad path to the config file found at /usr/local/home/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini

[Doom.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/ATCLEV.WAD.bin
I can use this with files not stored on the GCW's internal disk as well, yes?
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Gab1975 on August 10, 2014, 05:53:48 am
I can use this with files not stored on the GCW's internal disk as well, yes?

You can put your wad files in an external Micro SD-card without any problem! ;)
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Hman41 on August 10, 2014, 08:04:45 pm
I tried to alter the .ini, but it wont work. I put in the path, but i have no clue if i put it in right. There are sections that say [doom.AutoExec] and [doom.autoload]. What exactly am i suppose to put in and where in the .ini?
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Gab1975 on August 10, 2014, 08:24:24 pm
It's not needed to modify the .ini file... it's enough to make a folder (in the internal memory or in the SD card) and put inside the wad files specifically renamed (e.g. doom.wad => doom.wad.bin). The first time that you run zdoom you can navigate to find the right folder.

PS: to reset the ZDoom settings you can delete the zdoom.ini file ($home/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini).
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Hman41 on August 10, 2014, 08:32:08 pm
The problem isnt finding them its running them. It will not let me run anything not listed in the .ini file. Im trying to run any of my total conversion mods, but it crashes and tells me to alter the .ini every time. It tells me to add the wad to the .ini, which i do, but it still dosent work.

EDIT: is it at all possible for someone who has Aliens TC mod working for them to send me a copy of their .ini file?

EDIT 2: After attempting every type of modification i can to the .ini, including deleting it to reset the settings, i have gotten zero results. I am completely confused, and have zero ideas on where to go from here.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Gab1975 on August 10, 2014, 09:20:55 pm
Of course... before I didn't understand well your problem... the games supported through the default .ini file are:
Doom1, Doom2, Doom TNT, Doom Plutonia, Freedoom, Heretic, Hexen, Strife, Chex, Chex 2, Chex3, UrbanBrawl and Harmony...
Obviously, for different WADs, the .ini file needs to be modified... I'm sorry, I tested ZDoom only with "default" games and I didn't make a custom version of zdoom.ini, maybe other users will be able to help you!
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Vato on August 11, 2014, 02:46:00 am
from what ive read, the aliens tc needs ultimate doom to run. the readme even says it may not work right with zdoom.
also, from playing a bit, i can say it doesnt work 100% correctly. the enemy sprites revert to regular doom creatures when theyre killed.

heres an excerpt from my zdoom.ini to use as an example:
Code: [Select]
# This file was generated by ZDoom 2.8pre-162-g67f02d3 on Sat Oct  2 03:55:35 2010

# These are the directories to automatically search for IWADs.
# Each directory should be on a separate line, preceded by Path=
[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=.
Path=$DOOMWADDIR
Path=$HOME
Path=$PROGDIR

# These are the directories to search for wads added with the -file
# command line parameter, if they cannot be found with the path
# as-is. Layout is the same as for IWADSearch.Directories
[FileSearch.Directories]
Path=$PROGDIR
Path=$DOOMWADDIR

# Files to automatically execute when running the corresponding game.
# Each file should be on its own line, preceded by Path=

[Doom.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

[Heretic.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

[Hexen.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

[Strife.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

[Chex.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

# WAD files to always load. These are loaded after the IWAD but before
# any files added with -file. Place each file on its own line, preceded
# by Path=
[Global.Autoload]

# Wad files to automatically load depending on the game and IWAD you are
# playing.  You may have have files that are loaded for all similar IWADs
# (the game) and files that are only loaded for particular IWADs. For example,
# any files listed under Doom.Autoload will be loaded for any version of Doom,
# but files listed under Doom2.Autoload will only load when you are
# playing Doom 2.

[Doom.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/brutal19.pk3

[Doom1.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/ATCLEV.WAD
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/ALITCSF.WAD
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/ALITCSND.WAD

[Doom2.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/pirate.pk3

[TNT.Autoload]

[Plutonia.Autoload]

[Freedoom.Autoload]

[Freedoom1.Autoload]

[FreeDM.Autoload]

[Heretic.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/hocx.wad

[Hexen.Autoload]
Path=/media/data/miscellaneous/hexdd.wad

[HexenDK.Autoload]

[HexenDemo.Autoload]

[Strife.Autoload]

[Chex.Autoload]

[Chex3.Autoload]

[UrbanBrawl.Autoload]

[Harmony.Autoload]

[LastRun]
Version=210

[GlobalSettings]
vid_winscale=1
fullscreen=true
vid_maxfps=200
mouse_capturemode=1
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: gideonkain on January 08, 2015, 02:33:54 am
I put together a guide on how to get Brutal Doom to run:

This is what I had to do to get everything to work:

1)
Download & install newest firmware from official site
(http://www.gcw-zero.com/updates)
- special anti-corruption mini-update
- 2014-05-05
- 2014-08-20

2)
Downloaded brutal doom v19 from moddb
(http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads)
Renamed to brutal19.pk3.bin
Copied brutal19.pk3.bin to /media/data/miscellaneous/

3)
Downloaded config.ini from mediafire
(https://www.mediafire.com/?avjx5dizj7n35xa)
Copied the config.ini to /media/data/local/home/.config/zdoom/

4)
Downloaded zdoom.opk (http://www.mediafire.com/download/o9g7gxkojnvl56y/zdoom.opk)
Copied zdoom.opk in /media/data/apps/

5)
Renamed wads to Doom.wad.bin and Doom2.wad.bin (haven't tried others)

6)
Run ZDoom, choose wad, play!

Hope that helps someone.
Title: Re: ZDoom
Post by: Timika on November 02, 2019, 10:41:38 am
I put together a guide on how to get Brutal Doom to run:

This is what I had to do to get everything to work:

1)
Download & install newest firmware from official site
(http://www.gcw-zero.com/updates)
- special anti-corruption mini-update
- 2014-05-05
- 2014-08-20

2)
Downloaded brutal doom v19 from moddb
(http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads)
Renamed to brutal19.pk3.bin
Copied brutal19.pk3.bin to /media/data/miscellaneous/

3)
Downloaded config.ini from mediafire
(https://www.mediafire.com/?avjx5dizj7n35xa)
Copied the config.ini to /media/data/local/home/.config/zdoom/

4)
Downloaded zdoom.opk (http://www.mediafire.com/download/o9g7gxkojnvl56y/zdoom.opk)
Copied zdoom.opk in /media/data/apps/

5)
Renamed wads to Doom.wad.bin and Doom2.wad.bin (haven't tried others)

6)
Run ZDoom, choose wad, play!

Hope that helps someone.

Hello, I dig up the subject, is it possible to run ZDOOM on the rg350 retriever? It's the same Ingenic, so I think so