• HomeBoards
  • RulesRules
  • HelpHelp
  • WikiWiki
  • Donate

Author Topic: Skinning Gmenu  (Read 2974 times)

shirohagen (OP)

Skinning Gmenu
« on: July 08, 2013, 12:57:04 pm »
Hi guys

I'm no coder, but I am a graphic designer, so I'd like to contribute by maybe doing some work with Gmenu skins. I know that Gmenu has appeared on many of our open handhelds since the GP2X, so I was wondering where good resources might be found to understand how Gmenu works generally, and then also with regard to how to tweak the configuration and build skins/icon sets etc.

Is it worth me disassembling Gmenu skins I find online for other devices? Are Gmenu skins and resources from other platforms compatible with the Zero?

Any useful places you guys can point me to?

?

Deagle275

Re: Skinning Gmenu
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 04:50:06 pm »
Good luck, and remember , the Gcw has a 320x240 screen .

hi-ban

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 09:16:31 pm »
the info in the dingoo section should be useful: http://boards.dingoonity.org/dingux-themes/

shirohagen (OP)

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2013, 11:06:51 pm »
Thanks guys!

zear

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2013, 12:30:42 am »
I have just one request - if it is your intention for us to include your skins with the GCW firmware, you need to have full copyright to them. Ie. you can't use random sprites/images you have found on the net. Otherwise we won't be able to include it.

gustavolatil

« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2013, 03:56:32 am »
is there a tutorial of how you can do the themes, i would love to try and make one!

shirohagen (OP)

« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2013, 02:42:39 pm »
Hey zear, thanks for the heads-up. I hadn't even thought of that, but I'd be honoured to get a skin into the official firmware. Will definitely be mindful of the IP issue. It's my intention to create new assets, after all, that's the fun part - but of course there will be likenesses of consoles etc, just originally created.

zear