Dingoonity.org

GCW Zero => Development => Topic started by: ker on April 30, 2014, 12:38:51 pm

Title: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on April 30, 2014, 12:38:51 pm
dingux-int port to GCW0

Tasks done:
- Recompiled with GCW0 toolchain
- Deleted all copyrighted stuff **
- Removed chipset and cpu references
- Removed not necessary menu options (volume, clock frequency, ...)
- Moved config/data to $HOME folder (bios must be saved at $HOME/.intel/bios/ folder)
- Fixed sound lack
- Changed some button labels (may be missing some)
- Created OPK

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/download/3uded21z5729bu5/dingux-int.opk

Sources: https://github.com/kerheol/dingux-int

Feedback and advices are welcome. Enjoy!

** I've took @Gab1975 pngs from http://boards.dingoonity.org/gcw-development/dingux-int-(intellivision-emulator)-for-gcw-zero/ thread

[2014-06-01]
- Updated help.txt and background images (thanks to @Gab1975)
- Splash screen problem partially fixed
- Unified emulator menu button implemented. You can press Power slider or Start+Select to enter menu (more info here (http://boards.dingoonity.org/gcw-development/unified-emulator-menu-button-proposal/))
- ROMs last used path saved in new config file
- On screen error messages if bios not found
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on April 30, 2014, 12:56:47 pm
Great! ;) ... as soon as I have some free time, I will be happy to try it! :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on April 30, 2014, 02:38:03 pm
name for the bios files?
all 3?
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on April 30, 2014, 03:06:16 pm
name for the bios files?
all 3?

all 3:
- exec.bin
- grom.bin
- game.bin
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: pcercuei on April 30, 2014, 03:44:50 pm
Are the BIOS files required?
I assume that for these old devices there is an HLE of the BIOS or open-source re-implementations, like on MSX.
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on April 30, 2014, 04:07:48 pm
Are the BIOS files required?
I assume that for these old devices there is an HLE of the BIOS or open-source re-implementations, like on MSX.

I don't know how this (or any) emulator really works. Just a week ago I started to learn C and opened an editor to look in an emulator code.

I can say that code looks for, at least, EXEC and GROM files. If it cannot find them, exists with an error message.
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on April 30, 2014, 06:06:31 pm
I made a quick test... some ROMs don't run while others run very well (I think it's an intrinsic compatibily issue of this emu)... in the main menu the background is black (probably you didn't set background.png correctly)... for convenience, I re-uploaded the PNGs (I made a little change in the icon "dingux-int.png")

Thanks a lot for your work! :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on April 30, 2014, 08:57:19 pm
yes, background not showing
runs some games after reboot

sega zaxxon logo screen?
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on April 30, 2014, 10:34:08 pm
sega zaxxon logo screen?

The SEGA Zaxxon logo screen isn't a PNG... it could be an automatic boot screen which appears when the emulator is initialized...
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Xaijiqq on May 01, 2014, 02:44:21 am
for dracula how do you start the game?  managed to do it once by accident but now it appears i can only change between 1 or 2 player and difficulty options.  it just stays on the 'title' screen

------

ok got it now.  had to first choose 1 player, difficulty setting, then 8 on the keyboard and it starts  :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on May 01, 2014, 02:45:34 pm
I made a quick test... some ROMs don't run while others run very well (I think it's an intrinsic compatibily issue of this emu)... in the main menu the background is black (probably you didn't set background.png correctly)... for convenience, I re-uploaded the PNGs (I made a little change in the icon "dingux-int.png")

Thanks a lot for your work! :)

OPK updated

yes, background not showing
runs some games after reboot

sega zaxxon logo screen?

I've looking at emulator code (it's a bit hard to follow breadcrumb). I think program preloads game.bin on initialization process. If you press SELECT at menu you will see rom is actually ready.

I've managed to display splash screen followed by a black and then menu screen. It's not perfect, but better than Zaxxon option ;)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on May 01, 2014, 06:33:50 pm
I've managed to display splash screen followed by a black and then menu screen. It's not perfect, but better than Zaxxon option ;)

You could try to use this simple splash picture as "boot screen"... ;)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on May 02, 2014, 01:20:21 pm
sometimes you have to reboot to load another game
or it crashes the emulator
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on May 05, 2014, 06:06:55 pm
When you have time, can you add the function to save the ROMs last used path in the config file? (like in Dingux-Caprice) Thanks! :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: toto on May 05, 2014, 10:41:05 pm
for dracula how do you start the game?  managed to do it once by accident but now it appears i can only change between 1 or 2 player and difficulty options.  it just stays on the 'title' screen

------

ok got it now.  had to first choose 1 player, difficulty setting, then 8 on the keyboard and it starts  :)


I was just about to explain you how to start it :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Inertia on May 19, 2014, 06:28:11 pm
I have the grom and exec.bin file in the bios rep, but can't start the emulator, I get the wallpaper then it goes back to odingux.

--> my bad, once again it was the bios files who were bad dump I think.
:)
Thanks again for your work :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on June 01, 2014, 04:16:24 pm
Updated opk
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on June 01, 2014, 06:11:56 pm
Thanks a lot for the update! :)

PS: in the next update you should use the "new" help.txt file, the current help.txt file is old and it has the wrong references (if you need, I can re-send you the correct help.txt)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on June 02, 2014, 10:49:10 am
sometimes you have to reboot to load another game
or it crashes the emulator

Can you be more specific so I can try to reproduce the same situation and try to solve it?

Thanks a lot for the update! :)

PS: in the next update you should use the "new" help.txt file, the current help.txt file is old and it has the wrong references (if you need, I can re-send you the correct help.txt)

I'll move this thread to releases soon. I'll add your updated help file then.
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on June 02, 2014, 02:41:32 pm
new version shows "can't open file" message in red
previous one worked
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on June 02, 2014, 04:03:04 pm
new version shows "can't open file" message in red
previous one worked

I've just download opk and tested on my GCW0 and it works for me =(

By the way, I've reproduced the crash when trying to load a game after playing another one. I'll take a look...
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: ker on June 02, 2014, 08:10:37 pm
Sources added
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on June 02, 2014, 09:36:06 pm
sometimes you have to reboot to load another game
or it crashes the emulator

Can you be more specific so I can try to reproduce the same situation and try to solve it?

it seems to be random, sometimes when you try to load a new game, the emulator crashes, but when you reboot the emulator this "new game" works fine...
maybe I found a way to reproduce the issue, I sent you a PM ! :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on June 02, 2014, 09:45:00 pm
deleting from home all previous traces and reinstalling the .opk now working here  ;D


can't get demon Attack to start though
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on June 03, 2014, 10:26:02 pm
sometimes you have to reboot to load another game
or it crashes the emulator

I noticed that when you load and run a "new game" for an instant is showed a frame of the previous game... maybe the method of "mount/dismount" is the issue, which sometimes it can cause the emulator crash... (this is only an hypothesis)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: DPA09 on June 06, 2014, 01:48:31 am
deleting from home all previous traces and reinstalling the .opk now working here  ;D


can't get demon Attack to start though

That would be the one game I'd like to play again - did you get it to work?

And Atlantis too, that game was great.
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on June 06, 2014, 06:59:04 am
In the current "jzIntv" port Atlantis, Beauty & Beast and Demon Attack don't work... after the ROM is loaded the screen becomes black for about 10 seconds and then the emulator crashes (like when you "reset" the emulator without any ROM loaded).

PS: I noticed that when you enter in the file browser, there isn't a button to come back in the main menu, maybe it could be a good thing to assign this function at the select button! :)
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: AtariHERO on June 10, 2014, 08:41:48 pm
any news of correcting the "you have to restart the emu to make some games work" bug?
Title: Re: Intellivision emulator port [WIP]
Post by: Gab1975 on October 18, 2014, 07:49:54 pm
I renew this topic, because (IMHO) it's a pity to leave this job unfinished! I hope that ker or another user/coder will continue the porting work! :)