Author Topic: 3DOh - 3DO emulator  (Read 7495 times)

gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
3DOh - 3DO emulator
« on: May 01, 2016, 08:08:26 pm »
Ok guys, here's 3DOh, a 3DO emulator that uses libSDL.
For now, it is not running fullspeed though... but it is running faster than Mednafen's PSX emulation.

Installation
3DOh requires a 3DO bios in order to play games.
You will have to place it in  /media/data/local/home/.3doh.
Rename it to bios.bin

If the folder does not exist, start the emulator and select an ISO file.
The folder will be created.

Download
Sauce repo
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 02:03:18 pm by gameblabla »

wepecko

  • Posts: 80
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 07:31:04 am »
thanks! i'll give it try tonight...

Sent from my XT890 using Tapatalk


Optimus

  • Posts: 107
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2016, 10:50:40 am »
Wow, something new to run on my GCW0 that's interesting to me. (recently I got a real 3DO and even tried some homebrew  coding). I am definitely gonna try this and hopefully it's fast enough for some 3d games or at least super street fighter turbo.

gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2016, 03:58:16 pm »
I have released a small update to 3DOh : it's a tiny hair faster now.
If you have no 3DO games, there are some homebrew games (including mine) and some proto & unreleased games out there you can try.

Icebreaker 2 (with the permission of Andy)
Helicopt3rs (Swing copters clone)

Wow, something new to run on my GCW0 that's interesting to me. (recently I got a real 3DO and even tried some homebrew  coding). I am definitely gonna try this and hopefully it's fast enough for some 3d games or at least super street fighter turbo.
Ha, interesting. What are you working on for 3DO ?
Also, i don't want to break your hopes but even something like Street Fighter is going to be slow. (like 5 FPS)

TheScammerWolf

  • Posts: 24
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2016, 06:06:51 pm »
Thanks man. Just about ~50 days and i will get my zero cant wait to try this.  ;)

Optimus

  • Posts: 107
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2016, 01:39:26 pm »
Ha, interesting. What are you working on for 3DO ?

I was involved in making some demo effects for a demo (which is mostly a preview right now)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oj2LrdX-sMU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4LrTO62A5o


Question: Does the ROM file need a specific name like bios.rom or something? I put it in the folder but not renamed, not sure what to rename it with, doesn't boot when I click an ISO.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 01:51:45 pm by Optimus »

gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2016, 01:58:43 pm »
Question: Does the ROM file need a specific name like bios.rom or something? I put it in the folder but not renamed, not sure what to rename it with, doesn't boot when I click an ISO.
Oops, i forgot.
Yes, rename your bios to "bios.bin".

Also, these demos are impressive, sign me up when it's released !
You should tell the guys at 3do.cdinteractive.co.uk !
I've been trying to figure fast pixel drawing routines for a long time for my NES emulator for 3DO and your demo
is doing it like it was a no-brainer...
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 02:02:50 pm by gameblabla »

Senor Quack

  • Posts: 223
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2016, 01:51:30 am »
Thanks for the port, gameblabla!

I was involved in making some demo effects for a demo (which is mostly a preview right now)

That's awesome, I love niche demoscene stuff. Be sure to post a link when demo is completed.  I really like your 'Goldilocks' demo.. link for others  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6pF4gIAsuI
« Last Edit: May 06, 2016, 01:53:35 am by Senor Quack »

kaio

  • Posts: 216
    • All about GCW-Zero on Russian + Repo
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2016, 06:52:55 am »
Does anybody start the Flashback game?
GCW-Zero | JXD S602

dmitry_smagin

  • Posts: 423
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2016, 01:37:17 pm »
So, what's the performance/speed? Any good games to test? ;)
GCW-Zero prototype, Dingoo a320, Ritmix rzx-50, Dingoo a380, Xperia Play

gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2016, 03:14:18 pm »
So, what's the performance/speed? Any good games to test? ;)
Yo dmitry_smagin !
The emulator is pretty slow and it doesn't really matter which game you are using.
You can try with Icebreaker 2 if you want.
It's slow even for 2D games like Street Fighter 2...

An ARM-to-MIPS recompiler would really help this one.

finalmix

  • Posts: 42
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2016, 01:59:55 am »
So, what's the performance/speed? Any good games to test? ;)
Yo dmitry_smagin !
The emulator is pretty slow and it doesn't really matter which game you are using.
You can try with Icebreaker 2 if you want.
It's slow even for 2D games like Street Fighter 2...

An ARM-to-MIPS recompiler would really help this one.
The speed is same to Mupen64Plus running on GCW0.

通过我的 SM-G9300 上的 Tapatalk发言


gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2016, 10:10:18 pm »
The speed is same to Mupen64Plus running on GCW0.
LOL i wish but this clearly isn't case. It's much slower than the JIT version of Mupen64Plus.

gameblabla (OP)

  • Posts: 1364
Re: 3DOh - 3DO emulator
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2018, 01:00:45 am »
Dmitry had fixed the audio code and was about to work on a JIT.
However, he barely started working on the JIT of course...

I pulled his changes (along with some minor changes) and audio should now sound better.
It's unlikely however that the emulator will run much faster but you can give it a try.

Let me know if this works properly.
Same link as usual

 

Post a new topic