Author Topic: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0  (Read 38385 times)

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #40 on: February 27, 2016, 09:33:47 am »
New build: http://www.mediafire.com/download/p7q5g6joak69ovo/cores-gcw0-20160227.zip

fceumm_libretro.so - NES
gambatte_libretro.so - GB/GBC
genesis_plus_gx_libretro.so - SMS
gpsp_libretro.so - GBA (need bios)
gw_libretro.so - GAME AND WATCH
mame2000_libretro.so - Compatible with MAME 0.37b5 romset
mame2003_libretro.so - Compatible with MAME 0.78 romset
mednafen_pce_fast_libretro_libretro.so - PC-ENGINE / CD

mednafen_psx_libretro_libretro.so - PSX
picodrive_libretro.so - MD
prboom_libretro.so - DOOM (with doom1 shareware, into Makefiles.zip)
snes9x_next_libretro.so - SNES
stella_libretro.so - ATARI 2600

Makefiles: http://www.mediafire.com/download/efleycnoyngoisz/Makefiles.zip

edit: for some more visibility i have made a small article, http://www.open-consoles-news.com/2016/02/retroarch-sur-gcw-zero-cest-possible.html
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 10:36:47 am by SpikeSpiegel »
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

Durrsly

  • Posts: 12
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #41 on: February 28, 2016, 04:22:15 am »
Hi @Durrsly thanks for feedbacks, for prboom_libretro.so you need to place prboom.wad into your rom folder (available into Makefiles.zip). For gpsp you need a gba bios. Hope this could help you.

Ah, I see. I got PrBoom working. It seems perfectly playable.
I also found that Mednafen is picky about it's PS1 BIOS, so I placed the proper BIOS in there. I tried Vib-Ribbon, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure, and Ultimate Battle 22. Vib-Ribbon froze the whole program, Ultimate Battle 22  and JoJo still crashed to desktop.

I also tried Stella, which worked perfectly.

EDIT:
Heh, managed to crash the PCSX-R core "playing" JoJo. I was playing around in practice mode and attempted Dio's knife throw and it crashed.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2016, 04:28:01 am by Durrsly »

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #42 on: February 28, 2016, 07:01:53 am »
Thanks, for psx i am not suprised.
Here a new version: http://www.mediafire.com/download/uaxedqdbtrw2h7h/cores-gcw0-psx-yabause-20160227.zip
yabause is also compiling but don't expect good performances, if games could be launched it will be very, very slow.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2016, 11:31:35 am by SpikeSpiegel »
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

Durrsly

  • Posts: 12
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #43 on: February 28, 2016, 05:55:59 pm »
I tested the MAME 2003 .78 core. It loads CPS2 games then crashes (Tested with the Darkstalkers games), CPS1 loads fine but runs at half speed (tested with Street Fighter II and SF2 CE) CPS3 doesn't load at all (Tested with JoJo's Bizarre Adventure). Neo Geo loads, then crashes. (Tested with Waku Waku 7).
What did work perfectly, oddly enough, is an obscure maze game called I'm Sorry (Sega System 1).

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #44 on: February 28, 2016, 06:38:38 pm »
For neogeo you need the bios if you don't already have it. But if CPS1 run at half speed we can't expect good performances.
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

Durrsly

  • Posts: 12
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #45 on: February 28, 2016, 11:24:48 pm »
For neogeo you need the bios if you don't already have it. But if CPS1 run at half speed we can't expect good performances.

I do have the BIOS (As I have Final Burn Alpha on my Zero), but it still just crashed.
I wasn't expecting CPS3 to work either as the arcade version of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure ran at a solid 3 FPS in OpenDinguxFBA.

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #46 on: February 29, 2016, 12:11:22 am »
do you have a 0.78 mame romset ? If it's not the case issue should come from here.
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

care16la20

  • Posts: 178
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #47 on: February 29, 2016, 01:26:43 pm »
How to make PC Engine ISOS run ?
Loaded the cue and it crashes going back to the OS.
Also, how to exit a game going back to menu?

*The optimizations required are on the .so cores, or on the retroarch opk itself? So far, due to this the only core worth to have running seems to be PC Engine and GB ... The concept of retroarch looks very promising btw

the_gama (OP)

  • Posts: 155
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #48 on: February 29, 2016, 03:44:42 pm »
@care16la20 You need syscard3.pce bios file. 

To get more info about crashes or program exit.  There is a Verbose setting in the menu, if enabled the log file will have lots of information.

After the program returns to gmenu, use LogViewer to see what happened.


I believe, the cores and the frontend itself must be optimized so they run better on the zero.  For instance, the frontend could be optimized by writing a low level gfx driver, using hardware to do scaling and color space conversion.  And find what is the fastest way to render to the gcw0 screen.

pcercuei

  • Posts: 1689
    • My devblog
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #49 on: February 29, 2016, 03:58:41 pm »
I believe, the cores and the frontend itself must be optimized so they run better on the zero.  For instance, the frontend could be optimized by writing a low level gfx driver, using hardware to do scaling and color space conversion.  And find what is the fastest way to render to the gcw0 screen.
The IPU is already here for scaling and color space conversion.

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #50 on: February 29, 2016, 05:41:12 pm »
Hi, @the_gama where do you place the bios file ? someone on our forum has tested by placing it near the cue file, but with no success. Did it needed to create a system folder ? (which is the default location for bios)
« Last Edit: February 29, 2016, 05:42:55 pm by SpikeSpiegel »
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

lunar

  • Posts: 22
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #51 on: February 29, 2016, 07:34:37 pm »
This progress is awesome so far. Really excited that we have a Game Boy emulator now that has the GBC coloration for GB games built into it.

Awakened

  • Posts: 96
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #52 on: February 29, 2016, 11:05:19 pm »
Hi, @the_gama where do you place the bios file ? someone on our forum has tested by placing it near the cue file, but with no success. Did it needed to create a system folder ? (which is the default location for bios)
I created a system directory somewhere, then in RetroArch's directory settings navigated to that directory and pressed "use this directory" to set it as my system directory.

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #53 on: March 01, 2016, 07:14:08 am »
Thanks, i will check that  :)
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

the_gama (OP)

  • Posts: 155
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #54 on: March 01, 2016, 04:17:06 pm »
The IPU is already here for scaling and color space conversion.

Does SDL and gles libraries already use the IPU?  I will test the SDL gfx driver with triple buffer enabled to test performance against the gles driver.

If there is not any significant change I think we should keep using the gles driver, since it adds compatibility to more features.

pcercuei

  • Posts: 1689
    • My devblog
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #55 on: March 01, 2016, 04:21:56 pm »
If you pass a XxY resolution to SDL_SetVideoMode(), you will get XxY to 320x240 scaling automagically with the IPU.

David Knight

  • Posts: 577
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #56 on: March 01, 2016, 04:44:21 pm »
I did some testing on SDL 1 vs SDL 2 with genplus.

SDL 1 code with software surfaces and hardware video mode with HW_TRIPLEBUF flag and IPU resizing ran considerably faster than SDL 2 for per-pixel rendering.

If you want to see how effective the IPU is then run genplus and turn on/off Scaling. It's basically toggling the IPU on and off.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2016, 04:55:18 pm by David Knight »

the_gama (OP)

  • Posts: 155
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #57 on: March 01, 2016, 06:37:05 pm »
Hi, @the_gama where do you place the bios file ? someone on our forum has tested by placing it near the cue file, but with no success. Did it needed to create a system folder ? (which is the default location for bios)

You can put syscard3.pce file in the same folder where the .cue and .iso files are located or inside a 'system' folder as Awakened suggested.  RetroArch will look first in the 'system' folder and next in 'content' folder.  Maybe a different file is needed?  There are three versions of syscard.pce if I remember correctly: syscard1.pce, syscard2.pce, syscard3.pce.

If you pass a XxY resolution to SDL_SetVideoMode(), you will get XxY to 320x240 scaling automagically with the IPU.

Ok, will do some testing later.  Does GLES driver do scaling using the IPU too?  It seems there is no performance penalty between different resolutions, with gles gfx driver.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2016, 06:39:02 pm by the_gama »

zhongtiao1

  • Posts: 249
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #58 on: March 01, 2016, 11:45:25 pm »
Hi, @the_gama where do you place the bios file ? someone on our forum has tested by placing it near the cue file, but with no success. Did it needed to create a system folder ? (which is the default location for bios)

To choose a BIOS folder, edit the location in the retroarch.cfg file and place your BIOS in the folder.


We need to get the mess core working as well. That would add a lot more systems available to our GCW-Zero
« Last Edit: March 01, 2016, 11:52:13 pm by zhongtiao1 »

SpikeSpiegel

  • Posts: 15
    • [OPEN-HANDHEDS-News]
Re: [TEST RELEASE] RetroArch for GCW0
« Reply #59 on: March 02, 2016, 06:56:14 am »
Thanks for your answers, but the problem doesn't come from the bios, issue was the name declared into cue file which doesn't match the bin file. (iso loading is case sensitive)
If this can help some other people, allways check the content of the cue file  :)

edit: mess is a good emulator, but it is wearing the correct name, it's a mess to configure.
Also mess is now part of the mame emulator: https://github.com/libretro/mame
« Last Edit: March 02, 2016, 07:13:54 am by SpikeSpiegel »
_____________________________________________________
[OPEN-HANDHELDS-NEWS]: http://www.scoop.it/t/fth-oc-news
[OPEN-CONSOLES]: http://www.open-consoles.com/ | http://www.open-consoles-news.com/

 

Post a new topic