Author Topic: UAE4ALL RC-3  (Read 11427 times)

Chui (OP)

  • *
  • Posts: 34
UAE4ALL RC-3
« on: April 05, 2011, 11:08:24 am »
I just released a new version of UAE4ALL for Dreamcast and Dingoo-A320 after we fix STOP problem in  FAME M68K core. Main changes:

- 30% speed increased: Sound and Video render improved.
- Savestates support: The length of a savestate file is 200-300KB, so SD-Card is needed.
- Dreamcast SD-Card support.
- New option menu for screen position.
- Uses latest  FAME  Motorola 68000 core: More stable, fast and accurate.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAzfUeefSMw" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAzfUeefSMw</a>

MORE INFO AND DOWNLOADS AT UAE4ALL SITE

MythomizeR

  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 01:02:11 pm »
Thanks Chui, nice update!
(I will prove it as soon as I can)

Coccijoe

  • *
  • Posts: 366
    • Underground Portables
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 04:15:46 pm »
thanks chui! it's a very good news!

StreaK

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2011, 06:18:09 pm »
in menu L and R are switched.

run(L) -> pressing L in menu gives warm reset
reset(R) -> Pressing R in menu gives run :)

btw.  a L+R bug's still present in this version.

mrkingoo

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2011, 07:17:49 pm »
Excellent work Chui! Gonna try it as soon as I can :)

samir

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2011, 11:52:29 pm »
Excellent!! Thanks, thanks, thanks!

Rosenkranz

  • *
  • Posts: 114
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2011, 12:20:27 am »
Thank you Chui!!! It is really faster, and with screen positioning it is easier to see lower parts of the screen that were cut... by cutting upper :). Still it is a great improvement. Thank you so much.

wy_scorpio

  • *
  • Posts: 368
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2011, 11:14:01 am »
i test it
i run the game "another world",but it runs very slow...
where is my wrong?

dingooforever

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2011, 12:11:36 pm »
Tested Spedball 2,Lotus Turbo Challenge 2,Turrican 3 and after one minute of play got on all those three games a segmentation fault.Anyone experienced the same problem?

Coccijoe

  • *
  • Posts: 366
    • Underground Portables
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2011, 01:43:50 pm »
same issues on lotus 3

StreaK

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2011, 03:14:08 pm »
strange. New uae4all seems to be much slower than previous on OC settings -430mhz.

z_man3007

  • Guest
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2011, 02:49:59 pm »
strange. New uae4all seems to be much slower than previous on OC settings -430mhz.

It's very very very slow.  Those roms that I was able to open with previous version, now this so called new version won't even load them.   :'( :'( :'( :'(

tuki_cat

  • Guest
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2011, 03:31:54 pm »
Hi,

I have been doing some tests for Chui on UAE4all. I can only OC to 400mhz so all tests were done on that basis. So I can't help with that issue.

@z_man3007 - With regard to roms I can test the ones you mention, which roms did you use that now don't work?

I always has issues with Turrican II segfaulting, always happened in part of the underwater level, is it doing it in the same place?


tuki_cat

  • Guest
Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2011, 11:06:23 am »
I have tested the following and get these are the results:

 - Lotus 2 works fine on Throttle 0 (it is slow on this setting, almost unplayable) but above that it seg faults. This happened on RC2 so it is nothing new. I don't see any real speed increase between this and RC2.

- Speedball 2 works fine on Throttle 60 and runs at a good speed. I didn't get any segfaults.

- Gods works well, it is a game that runs better on a lower throttle setting, on 20 it works well, no segfault issues.

- Blues Brothers, works fine on throttle 60 and good speed.

- Turrican 2, This is a little faster than RC2. I have been trying on throttle 40. This game never worked before unless you used the secure version. (always segfaulted)

- Another World, very strange result with speed is very good but GFX are messed up, even on 0 throttle.

- Frontier: Elite 2: Tried this on throttle 40 and 60 and it is slow, but this was also a slow game on the original Amiga 500.

- APB: Tried this on throttle 20 and I there is a speed increase.

All of these tests were done at OC 40mhz as that is all my Dingoo will OC to. The segfaulting issue could be due to the use of the throttle option. Try reducing the throttle if segfaulting continues.

If someone gives me the name of the rom they had working in RC2 that now doesn't work in RC3 or is slower, than I can test.


mrkingoo

Re: UAE4ALL RC-3
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2011, 01:17:59 pm »
Ok so I finally began testing RC3.

First question: How do I overclock? I set oc to 400MHz for uea4all  in gmenu2x but when I load a game it still says its running at 338MHz  ???

edit: oops never mind it's in the readme :)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 01:20:31 pm by mrkingoo »

 

Post a new topic