Dingoonity.org

Dingux (Dingoo Linux) => Releases => Topic started by: zear on November 08, 2010, 09:56:43 pm

Title: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on November 08, 2010, 09:56:43 pm
Yep. The longly-postponed update to eduke32 is finally up :)

(http://dl.openhandhelds.org/dingoo/screenshots/eduke6.png)

There's a lot of new stuff in this release, let's just name some bigger changes:
* D-PAD aiming and D-PAD weapon/item selection
* savestate autonaming
* better button mapping in menus
* ability to change/delete button mapping via the game menu
* removed the security camera preview while standing next to it for performance improvement (you can still just use it to see the cam view)

A lot of these changes (namely: D-PAD aiming & weapon/item selection, savestate autonaming, minor performance fixes) were made by the original eduke32 developers, so I would like to take this moment to thank them for interest and help with this port despite not having the Dingoos themselves. If anyone would like to thank those guys (and motivate them to support Dingoo platform in the future), you can always donate to the project (http://eduke32.com/) on their official website.

I have playtested and completed all the three original episodes on the Dingoo, so I can proudly announce that with this release, Duke Nukem 3D is 100% playable and completable on our handhelds. And it was a lot of fun too (especially with the boss battles).

Download: mirror 1 (http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/dingoo.cgi?0,0,0,0,30,138) (includes source code)

Note: Since the game now reads from and stores to the current directory, /local/home/.eduke32 dir is redundant. So if you are updating from an older version, it is a good idea to remove that dir so it won't interfere with the new version. And remember to read the readme.txt
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: campusten on November 08, 2010, 11:28:32 pm
Awesome, thanks Zear!
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Solstice on November 09, 2010, 05:35:14 am
Thanks! Duke is awesome  ;D
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: mrkingoo on November 09, 2010, 07:41:10 am
Great work zear!
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: mate on November 09, 2010, 07:20:28 pm
nice work, thank you!
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: samir on November 10, 2010, 06:59:20 pm
Thanks Zear!! Excellent work!
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: campusten on November 11, 2010, 04:44:51 pm
Is it just me or is this update a lot faster than the previous version?  It's almost too fast.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on November 11, 2010, 04:59:20 pm
Is it just me or is this update a lot faster than the previous version?  It's almost too fast.
Well, the autorun is on, as you need to run in order to complete some levels, though I think autorun was always on, or at least, I always had it on. I see no speed change myself.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: sebosnia on November 12, 2010, 01:10:04 am
weird stuff: I updated but it now shows the game "fullscreen" and I all I see is a little quarter of the screen.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Hellsing1 on November 12, 2010, 01:16:19 am
Ok.... copy the file eduke32.cfg in the eduke32 folder to:

\local\home\.eduke32
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: sebosnia on November 12, 2010, 02:16:57 am
thanks! i'm a just a tiny bit noob with dingux
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on November 12, 2010, 11:51:48 am
Ok.... copy the file eduke32.cfg in the eduke32 folder to:

\local\home\.eduke32
NO. You both definitely didn't read readme.txt nor my release post.
This version does not use $HOME anymore, it reads the config file from the local directory.
All you have to do is to remove /local/home/.eduke32 because it will interfere with the current config.

@sebosnia
Not following the readme, you copied all the duke3d datafiles, instead of just duke3d.grp, didn't you? So you also copied the original config file which wasn't set for 320x240.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Hellsing1 on November 12, 2010, 02:39:49 pm
Must have done something wrong the first time as i've downloaded it again and it now works without copying the config file.

Strange :o
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Pingouin on November 20, 2010, 11:07:46 am
Yay, thanks for the update zear!  ;D
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Chris23235 on November 21, 2010, 03:07:40 pm
Many thanks for the update Zear.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Pingouin on November 23, 2010, 12:06:19 am
Worked great, but then hanged after saving. It took a while to autonaming, then another while to get back to the game, and then it either hanged or got very very slow :(
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on November 23, 2010, 09:18:19 am
As told before, eduke32 needs to be used with SWAP, otherwise it will run out of ram like that.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Pingouin on November 24, 2010, 08:43:13 pm
But it used to work :(
Good news: the save was not corrupt and after rebooting the Dingoo I could load it and carry on to the next level.
Bad news: it crashed again when I saved again (although this time I managed to save once w/o issue before it crashed on the second save attempt).
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on November 24, 2010, 08:50:26 pm
But it used to work :(
You could have been just lucky.
Saving was ALWAYS failing to me if i didn't have SWAP enabled.
If you really want to play eduke32, SWAP is a must (and it will be a default option with OpenDingux anyway).
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: HelmeetElGato on December 21, 2010, 11:11:38 am
Link appears to be dead. I wonder if perhaps would someone kindly repost it? thanks in advance  :)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on December 21, 2010, 11:25:11 am
Link appears to be dead. I wonder if perhaps would someone kindly repost it? thanks in advance  :)
Link fixed :)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 13, 2011, 10:01:30 pm
Just something I'd like announce.
Apparently the release #3 supports the new net code of eduke32 and it is possible to pair two dingoos (with the use of a PC middleman) for a multiplayer match.

Here below is a picture of a dingoo <- pc -> dingoo connection me and mindw0rk have tested today:
(http://wstaw.org/m/2011/01/13/duke_multi2.png)
From the left: me (zear), pc host, mindw0rk

The connection is quite stable and one can play, although there are still minor bugs related to the new net code.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: mindw0rk on January 13, 2011, 10:04:38 pm
Now if only the A320 had USB host...  ::)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Meneer Jansen on January 13, 2011, 11:32:35 pm
Just something I'd like announce.
Apparently the release #3 supports the new net code of eduke32 and it is possible to pair two dingoos (with the use of a PC middleman) for a multiplayer match.

The connection is quite stable and one can play, although there are still minor bugs related to the new net code.
Are you kiddin' me?! Would you be so kind as to enlighten us mere mortals on HOW to do that please? Preetty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty please?  ;D
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 14, 2011, 12:30:44 am
Well, it works with the usb networking feature of the Dingux. But it also requires a linux pc (unless someone figured out how to make usb networking work with windows).

So, you'll need to have the following:
* a linux pc
* usb cable(s)
* dingoo(s)
* an svn version of eduke32 for your host pc (you'll have to compile it yourself, but that shouldn't be a problem)

Once you have all of that, you:
* plug your dingoo to the pc
* set the newly created usb0 ethernet card to 10.1.0.1
* at this point your pc can access your dingoo at 10.1.0.2.

You can now set up a pc <-> dingoo eduke32 connection.
If you want to play with a second dingoo though, read further on..

If the second dingoo is over the internet, the guy on the other side has to do all the already mentioned steps on his machine, and then the person joining the game (so not hosting) has also to forward the internet connection to his dingoo, so he can connect to the remote addresses. Here's a wiki article (http://dingoowiki.com/index.php?title=Dingux:Tutorials:USB_Networking) which i wrote the other day, explaining how to do this step.

If the second dingoo is connected to the same machine as the first dingoo, do the following:
This is a little tricky. You can do this step either by logging to the dingoo through telnet, or by running a shell script on it from gmenu2x.
Telnet method:
* telnet into your 1st dingoo:
Code: [Select]
telnet 10.1.0.2* run the following command on the dingoo's shell remotely through the telnet connection:
Code: [Select]
ifconfig usb0 10.2.0.2* at this point your telnet connection will terminate since you have changed the ip address of your dingoo
* now set the usb0 ethernet card on your pc to 10.2.0.1
* your 1st dingoo is now accessable at 10.2.0.2
* plug in your 2nd dingoo
* set the newly created usb1 ethernet card to 10.1.0.1
* your 2nd dingoo is now accessable at 10.1.0.2

Script method:
* you have to mount the dingux's sd card on your PC and then create the following script (this requires your text editor to follow the unix endline standard. If you do this step from a linux machine, you shouldn't worry about this):
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
ifconfig usb0 10.2.0.2
* name the script whatever you like (can be "2nd_dingoo.sh") and put it somewhere on the card
* plug your second dingoo
* set the newly created usb1 ethernet card to 10.2.0.1
* now add the script to the gmenu2x and execute it
* your 2nd dingoo should be now available from the PC at 10.2.0.2

Setting up eduke32 game for multiplayer:
* edit the eduke32.dge script you can find in your eduke32 dingoo folder
* change it's second line from:
Code: [Select]
./eduke32 -cachesize 8192 -usecwd -game_dir ./to
Code: [Select]
./eduke32 -connect 10.1.0.1 -cachesize 8192 -usecwd -game_dir ./(if your dingoo is the second machine, change it to 10.2.0.1, or if you want to connect to a remote address of your friend's server, replace it with your friend's ip)
* on your host PC, run eduke32 binary as:
Code: [Select]
./eduke32 -server* now execute the modified eduke32.dge script on your dingoo(s)
* you should be all in game now :)

This all might look a bit complicated, but if you are familiar with linux, it is really simple and you shouldn't have bigger problems :)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: clach04 on January 14, 2011, 01:11:44 am
Well, it works with the usb networking feature of the Dingux. But it also requires a linux pc (unless someone figured out how to make usb networking work with windows).

I updated the wiki FAQ fairly recently on that. NDIS under Windows does seem to work pretty well.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Meneer Jansen on January 14, 2011, 01:37:18 pm
@Zear: Thank you very, very much for the How To!!! My friends are NOT going to believe that you can multi-play w/ a device this cheap. Now they'll buy one.
 
P.S. I use Linux per default now a days so meddling w/ shell scrpts etc. shouldn't be a problem. :)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 14, 2011, 01:56:17 pm
@Meneer Jansen
This method will also work with other multiplayer capable games on Dingux. Namely:
* prboom (czdoom)
* d1x/d2x-rebirth
* openjazz

SDLquake unfortunatelly won't work due to an in-game bug freezing the device which tries to join.

I hope China Chip or Dingoo Tech are reading this, so they can see how VERY important a wireless (or wired via usb host) connection on their handhelds is. Moreover, I have a remood (doom/heretic engine) dingux port brewing on my pc which is cappable of a split-screen multiplayer up to 4 players. Would be neat to play this with wireless controllers and tv-out :)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: mindw0rk on January 15, 2011, 05:11:53 pm
Quote
I hope China Chip or Dingoo Tech are reading this, so they can see how VERY important a wireless (or wired via usb host) connection on their handhelds is. Moreover, I have a remood (doom/heretic engine) dingux port brewing on my pc which is cappable of a split-screen multiplayer up to 4 players. Would be neat to play this with wireless controllers and tv-out :)

Now if they did that, I'm already seeing mmo's on the next CC/DT console.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: criminalbyte on January 25, 2011, 07:54:39 am
Fantastic release thankyou, although mine seems to crash during the loading screen at differant % on episode "THE BIRTH" any ideas please :'(
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 25, 2011, 10:50:46 am
Fantastic release thankyou, although mine seems to crash during the loading screen at differant % on episode "THE BIRTH" any ideas please :'(
You basically need swap to run the 4th episode. You can try disabling the music, that should free some ram, although there's still a chance it will freeze on loading, so swap is still necessary. Also, try to skip the intro.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: spn-x on January 26, 2011, 03:18:01 pm
I wanted to install "NAM" .. it works,but the screen isn't 320*240 .. it's bigger ..how di I fix this ?
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: abstauber on February 05, 2011, 05:12:59 pm
Hi zear,

I've just checked it and I'm totally impressed - the performance is just breathtaking!

There's also one tiny issue: the right trigger doesn't work. When I set it up, the game recognizes it as 'backspace' but in the game, nothing happens.

Apart from that, this port is totally amazing! 

Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on February 06, 2011, 06:31:09 pm
There's also one tiny issue: the right trigger doesn't work. When I set it up, the game recognizes it as 'backspace' but in the game, nothing happens.
Right trigger is mapped as weapon/item selection. By itself it doesn't do anything, but if you hold it down, D-PAD up/down will work as weapon selection, while D-PAD left/right as item selection.

If for some reason this doesn't work, you can just go to "keyboard setup" in the options menu and map the right shoulder as "DPAD SELECT".

Also keep in mind that duke3d requires swap to be enabled for some heavier levels. If the game freezes on loading a map, it's a signal you need to turn the swap on ;)

I wanted to install "NAM" .. it works,but the screen isn't 320*240 .. it's bigger ..how di I fix this ?
NAM must be using it's own config file. Find it and change the default resolution. You could also do it from the in-game options menu.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: abstauber on February 09, 2011, 07:55:00 am
Ah alright, thanks for sorting this out. Unfortunately I totally suck at Duke3D without dedicated strafe buttons - but hey, it's fun at "Piece of Cake" ;)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on February 09, 2011, 11:18:31 am
Ah alright, thanks for sorting this out. Unfortunately I totally suck at Duke3D without dedicated strafe buttons - but hey, it's fun at "Piece of Cake" ;)
Well, B + left/right works very well as strafe. You just have to get used to it. I completed the whole game on "Let's rock", and the only problem with this way of strafing was during the boss battles, where you had to run strafing, facing the boss and shooting at him at the same time. But after few tries I was able to beat the bosses.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: topera on June 17, 2011, 12:37:22 pm
Same problem here, i cant save. duke bronken and when i try angain crash again. i did everything from instructions but can't load or save
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on June 18, 2011, 09:47:31 am
Same problem here, i cant save. duke bronken and when i try angain crash again. i did everything from instructions but can't load or save
Turn the swap on. I remember saving/loading was a problem for some levels if you had no swap.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Chibiko on January 24, 2013, 09:51:40 am
Well, it works with the usb networking feature of the Dingux. But it also requires a linux pc (unless someone figured out how to make usb networking work with windows).

This is great! And really works.
But there's a question. If I have one Dingoo a320 with OpenDingux and a PC with Linux? I have failed to make possible the game through the multiplayer. Dingoo was just a gamepad for eduke32, who acting the role of the server on PC.
And how to make it possible have multiplayer between the dingoo and PC?

Dingoo: OpenDingux First end-user release; eduke32 release #3
PC: Linux 3.2.0-35-generic x86_64; old eduke32 (http://dukeworld.duke4.net/eduke32/synthesis/old/) versions
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 24, 2013, 12:41:47 pm
You have to have a compatible version of the networking code. The best way is to compile the x86_64 version from the sources bundled with the dingoo build. I suggest the PC is the server, it's more reliable for this task.
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: Chibiko on January 24, 2013, 04:46:57 pm
You have to have a compatible version of the networking code. The best way is to compile the x86_64 version from the sources bundled with the dingoo build. I suggest the PC is the server, it's more reliable for this task.

they connected (PC version and Dingoo version), but Dingoo version act like gamepad for pc version. When I put buttons on dingoo -> i play duke on dingoo and on PC in one time....

I'd try compile on PC eduke32 (Changelog: Release #3 08/11/2010 updated the game to svn1724) version svn1724, but they can't connected, PC version say that dingoo's version is too old (duke is a hystory) ...

may be u have normal versions or try somehow do it itself? And tell me and to other how play multiplayer with dingoo and PC? 8)
Title: Re: eduke32 release #3
Post by: zear on January 24, 2013, 05:27:41 pm
It sounds like for some weird reason you switched the viewport on PC to show the dingoo player (iirc. L to switch back).