Dingoonity.org

Dingux (Dingoo Linux) => Emulation => Topic started by: slaanesh on March 11, 2013, 01:02:35 pm

Title: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 11, 2013, 01:02:35 pm
See www.slaanesh.net (http://www.slaanesh.net) for details and downloads.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: samir on March 11, 2013, 05:39:38 pm
Eres el puto amo!! thanks slaanesh!!!!!!  ;D ,really,thanks !!
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: fosamax on March 11, 2013, 05:52:38 pm
Thanks for that one Slaanesh !
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: lemmywinks on March 11, 2013, 10:55:13 pm
Thanks Slaanesh!
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: Gaku_Kano on March 12, 2013, 02:00:04 am
(http://25.media.tumblr.com/6ae1efb1feeb864a01c14aebb957a8e3/tumblr_mhwciuvZoF1rjqzc1o1_400.gif)
Thanks Slaanesh!
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 13, 2013, 05:13:23 am
Can someone with a GCW-Zero see if it works okay? I don't have one, but am curious to know if all is good.

I've also released a Nanonote version which is really excellent to use thanks to it's mini-keyboard.
Whilst not as fast as the Nanonote doesn't overclock over 336Mhz (due to no overclocking software), I find it's easier to use.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: k0en on March 13, 2013, 08:25:49 am
hI slaanesh !

I will test tonight on GCW Zer0. In reality, i have already tested but it not runs actually but perhaps it is a mishandling of mine.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 13, 2013, 09:06:07 am
You will probably need to run it from a telnet session. Actually that's a good point I haven't tested it running from the launcher... I always telnet into my A320, run the "terminal" utility from the A320 and then run it from the telnet session. I was so used to testing it like this.

Anyway I just tested it making a link and I've found that the dosbox.png is corrupt or not compatible with gmenux (the default launcher). So delete this file or override it with your own dosbox icon. Everything else seems to work fine though. :)

I've updated the download to v1.01 - the only thing that has changed is the new working dosbox.png icon.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: k0en on March 13, 2013, 09:18:42 am
I will try to test via telnet too. Thanks. If it's good i will make a video.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 14, 2013, 04:45:52 am
How'd it go?

I've been play a quite a few games - most low-end games seem to run okay.

The Nanonote version is in my opinion is even better thanks to it's little keyboard for direct input.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: k0en on March 14, 2013, 08:53:59 am
Hi !

Ok, I confirm your Dosbox Version doesn't work on Zer0 if i use the Gmenu to launch it (via .dge). I've tested on Dingoo A320 too, and it runs. Can you detail me the process to test via telnet ?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: zear on March 14, 2013, 01:10:10 pm
I can already tell you that it doesn't work due to library differences in GCW rootfs (lib12png.so).
If you want it to work with GCW, recompile it with GCW toolchain: http://www.gcw-zero.com/develop
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: k0en on March 14, 2013, 02:11:59 pm
Ok Thanks Zear ! Slaanesh can you recompile it ? I'm preparing a comparative test between Dingoo A320 and Zer0 and i would like to show how dosbox run on this 2 devices.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 14, 2013, 08:35:48 pm
Yes I will recompile it with the GCW-Zero libraries.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: pcercuei on March 15, 2013, 02:25:38 pm
Once it runs, you should build an OPK (btw, we should make a tutorial for this).
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 17, 2013, 09:39:03 am
I've made quite a few improvements to the code so the next release for Open Dingux and Nanonote will see some nice improvement. I also recommend using a swapfile - I've created a 64MB swap file on my Nanonote and the speed and stability improvement is really noticeable. Finally now I can play Civilization and it's much faster and smoother and reliable.

Also, looks like the file download isn't being updated so I'll just upload the next version as another file.

I'm still setting up my GCW-0 toolchain - I don't have a Linux box.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 18, 2013, 11:06:23 pm
I've released a second version of DOSBox 0.74 for OpenDingux (A320) and OpenWRT (Ben Nanonote).

See http://www.slaanesh.net/ (http://www.slaanesh.net/) for details of changes and downloads.

Much improved speed with this one - you will want to use a swapfile.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: pcercuei on March 18, 2013, 11:14:01 pm
How well does it run on the A320, with the zram feature?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 19, 2013, 05:24:13 am
Actually the A320 handles memory much better than the Nanonote - most likely thanks to the zram feature.
I'll do some tests disabling the swapfile on the A320 and see if it's really necessary or not.

Perhaps a better solution is to enable zram on the Nanonote if that's available on it.
However with the swapfile on the NN, it really performs like a champ.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: RetroChiGuy1212 on March 22, 2013, 05:03:36 pm
Is there a way to leave a game without shutting down the emulator?
Title: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: slaanesh on March 25, 2013, 12:24:34 am
You would have to exit via the game.
Often in PC games there is an option to "exit back to DOS". That would be the best way.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: HercTNT on April 04, 2013, 07:09:27 am
I have copied dosbox to usr/local/dosbox as recommended. However, when i go to add a link in gmenu if i select the local directory it drops me back to desktop. for some reason i cannot create any links from local. I moved dosbox to root and changed Dosbox.conf from usr/local/dosbox to usr/dosbox. This did not work either as the system did not recognize the change despite me saving the file. Please give a noob some help and tell me what i'm doing wrong LOL.

update: figured out how to manually create a link. I have dosbox installed in local. however, on my dingoo there is not  a usr directory, local is right on the root. so currently dosbox is installed on Local/dosbox. I changed the dosbox.conf to reflect this. this is the message i get:

z:\>mount c /local/dosbox/c_drive
Directory /local/dosbox/c_drive Doesn't exist

z:\>c:
Drive c does not exist
You must mount it first. Type intro or intro mount for more information

z:\>cd dosnav
you are still on drive z:, change to mounted drive with c:

Any help would be appreciated, thanks for looking :)
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: hi-ban on April 04, 2013, 11:13:47 am
I have copied dosbox to usr/local/dosbox as recommended. However, when i go to add a link in gmenu if i select the local directory it drops me back to desktop. for some reason i cannot create any links from local. I moved dosbox to root and changed Dosbox.conf from usr/local/dosbox to usr/dosbox. This did not work either as the system did not recognize the change despite me saving the file. Please give a noob some help and tell me what i'm doing wrong LOL.

update: figured out how to manually create a link. I have dosbox installed in local. however, on my dingoo there is not  a usr directory, local is right on the root. so currently dosbox is installed on Local/dosbox. I changed the dosbox.conf to reflect this. this is the message i get:

z:\>mount c /local/dosbox/c_drive
Directory /local/dosbox/c_drive Doesn't exist

z:\>c:
Drive c does not exist
You must mount it first. Type intro or intro mount for more information

z:\>cd dosnav
you are still on drive z:, change to mounted drive with c:

Any help would be appreciated, thanks for looking :)

usr is the root of the sdcard in the dingoo.
So the right thing is to install it on local/dosbox (as you already did) and not change anything in dosbox.conf.
So if you just revert the dosbox.conf file to its original state, it will work.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: HercTNT on April 04, 2013, 07:25:30 pm
I have reverted it to its original state and it does not work. I get the same message. All the other stuff I did was me tinkering around hoping i could figure it out without having to ask LOL. Anyhow, if i put dosbox in local, I cannot use the selector to make a link in gmenu, So i had to create my own link. If the link had usr in the front of it, it would not work. if i removed it it did work. Does dosbox have to be run from local? And does anyone have an idea why i would be locked out of accessing the local directory?

FIXED: after hours of trail and error I got it working. the follow is the syntax I had to use to get the program working on my dingoo:

For doxbox.conf

[autoexec]
mount C /usr/local/dosbox
C:
cd dosnav
DN.COM

I had to remove the c-drive and just use the dosbox directory itself as my c drive. It would not work any other way.

For manually creating my icon in gmenu

title=dosbox
exec=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.dge
icon=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.png

I could not use usr/local or it simply would not work. Why i cannot select the local directory via gmenu and why usr works in the autoexec but not when creating an icon is beyond me. But i have it working now. I hope this helps any others that might have a similar problem.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: karaoke on April 30, 2013, 11:29:50 am
Thank you ~
After running the game
I can not run the Enter key = start.
What should I do?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: HercTNT on May 02, 2013, 09:27:34 am
I apologize. I do not know as I have not faced this problem.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: JoeGWW on August 10, 2013, 12:41:10 am
I have reverted it to its original state and it does not work. I get the same message. All the other stuff I did was me tinkering around hoping i could figure it out without having to ask LOL. Anyhow, if i put dosbox in local, I cannot use the selector to make a link in gmenu, So i had to create my own link. If the link had usr in the front of it, it would not work. if i removed it it did work. Does dosbox have to be run from local? And does anyone have an idea why i would be locked out of accessing the local directory?

FIXED: after hours of trail and error I got it working. the follow is the syntax I had to use to get the program working on my dingoo:

For doxbox.conf

[autoexec]
mount C /usr/local/dosbox
C:
cd dosnav
DN.COM

I had to remove the c-drive and just use the dosbox directory itself as my c drive. It would not work any other way.

For manually creating my icon in gmenu

title=dosbox
exec=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.dge
icon=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.png

I could not use usr/local or it simply would not work. Why i cannot select the local directory via gmenu and why usr works in the autoexec but not when creating an icon is beyond me. But i have it working now. I hope this helps any others that might have a similar problem.

Hey there, I am using the GCW Zero and tried your workaround as I was having the exact same issue. Unfortunately, your workaround doesn't solve my problem. The log file states: /media/data/local/dosbox/dosbox.dge: can't load library 'libpng12.so.0'

Think you can help me out?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: JoeGWW on August 10, 2013, 12:46:12 am
I have reverted it to its original state and it does not work. I get the same message. All the other stuff I did was me tinkering around hoping i could figure it out without having to ask LOL. Anyhow, if i put dosbox in local, I cannot use the selector to make a link in gmenu, So i had to create my own link. If the link had usr in the front of it, it would not work. if i removed it it did work. Does dosbox have to be run from local? And does anyone have an idea why i would be locked out of accessing the local directory?

FIXED: after hours of trail and error I got it working. the follow is the syntax I had to use to get the program working on my dingoo:

For doxbox.conf

[autoexec]
mount C /usr/local/dosbox
C:
cd dosnav
DN.COM

I had to remove the c-drive and just use the dosbox directory itself as my c drive. It would not work any other way.

For manually creating my icon in gmenu

title=dosbox
exec=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.dge
icon=/media/mmcblk0p1/local/dosbox/dosbox.png

I could not use usr/local or it simply would not work. Why i cannot select the local directory via gmenu and why usr works in the autoexec but not when creating an icon is beyond me. But i have it working now. I hope this helps any others that might have a similar problem.

Hey there, I am using the GCW Zero and tried your workaround as I was having the exact same issue. Unfortunately, your workaround doesn't solve my problem. The log file states: /media/data/local/dosbox/dosbox.dge: can't load library 'libpng12.so.0'

Think you can help me out?

So it looks like to solve this I will need 0.74 recompiled using the GCW toolchain. Unfortunately I don't have a linux box :(
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: HercTNT on August 10, 2013, 05:19:53 am
Joe, I apologize. I know nothing of the gcw and if its different than the a320 in regards to opendingux. The problem i was having I fixed through many hours of trial and error.  My system would not allow me to access the Dosbox directory and create an icon, and the method i has to use to mount was different then what the author suggested. I wish i could tell you more. All that i know, is on my a320, it worked.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: pornocrat on January 26, 2014, 07:59:22 am
I tried some games, results are not good (Dingoo a320, Opendingux, DosBox 0.74 v2):
Abuse - message about lack of memory.
Alien Rampage - same result.
Nectaris - not launching.
X-Com UD - freezed at Microprose logo.
Master of Orion - lags in opening intro, game started, but i can`t push any of interface buttons.
Battle Isle - game started, sluggish, absolutely frustrating controls (any action needs confirmation from special keys).
Battle Isle 2 - message about lack of memory.
Power Dolls - lags in opening intro, can't do anything on start screen (can`t push on Start Game not with virtual mouse or keyboard).
Knights of Xentar - can't do anything on start screen.
Is any Compatibility list for DosBox?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: 60659 on September 15, 2014, 06:21:18 pm
I wonder if DOS version of Dyna Blaster would go on this.
Has anyone tried so far?
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: joyeux on July 12, 2016, 03:36:55 am
May I consider that games requiring more than 2MB won't run in A320 DOSBOX (max memsize=2MB)? Can not get some games to work, for instance, Leisure Suit Larry 7.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: HercTNT on July 26, 2016, 06:58:40 am
very sorry for a late reply on this. opendingux has a scummvm port that runs games like leisure suit larry just fine. I have not had much luck with dosbox otherwise as the dingoo a320 is just very hardware limited and most dos games i have tried do not run or run very poorly.
Title: Re: DOSBox 0.74 Open Dingux A320 released
Post by: joyeux on July 26, 2016, 09:07:09 pm
thanks for replying. I already played LSL6 in ScummVM, but LSL7 is not supported.