Author Topic: Idea  (Read 1195 times)

Everett

Idea
« on: July 03, 2010, 03:18:43 am »
Not sure if it's the right place for this, but it seemed fitting.

I'm new on these boards but I often show up on the irc channel as Everett1911. You can call me Everett or just "Sammy".

since a few weeks, I've been thinking about something. Now, I have no idea how feasible it'd be, for the simple reason I have no coding knowledge at all, but with the recent release of a virtual mouse driver, I became convinced to talk about my idea, since the virtual mouse would greatly benefit it.

It would be a windows 3.x-like gui for both the dingoo a320/a330, and the ben nanonote, allowing some multitasking (for exemple, listening to music while reading a pdf file or the offline version of wikipedia, or for the nanonote, browsing the web-- the thing supports sdio, right?) for apps the user could set in a properties menu as either multitask or singletask, meaning that it would be possible to run some lightweight games (ressource-wise) along with your music listening (again.), while singletasking would unload the gui from the device's memory to free as much memory for more ressource-intensive applications, with the gui retaining all informations relative to what the user had opened prior to launching the singletasking app. Think of it as a more active hibernation function, function which can be modified in its relevant control panel (for exemple, allowing the user to choose if the gui keeps track of what apps were open, or if it only keeps track of what group the user was browsing at the time it lanched the singletasking app, allowing the gui to load much faster as it wouldn't have to load a 32/64mb file that has all the ram's content.