Dingoonity.org

Other Portable Consoles => Dingoo Technology A380 => Topic started by: VerbalKint27 on November 25, 2013, 11:54:48 am

Title: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: VerbalKint27 on November 25, 2013, 11:54:48 am
Hey guys,

My wife and I just received our shiny new Dingoos from ThinkGeek, however we seem to be having trouble with the SNES Emulator. Everything seems to run too fast on it, which is not great, obviously. NES appears to work okay. Haven't tried the others yet.

Neither of us have experience with these devices and were kinda expecting to work as advertised. Any ideas? Is there  a setting to fix this that I've missed?
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on November 25, 2013, 02:01:57 pm
I think that someone is selling fake Dingoo A-380 consoles.  ???

The SNES emulation on the original Dingoo Technology A-380 console didn't run too fast. It's also strange that you call it a Dingoo A-380e.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: VerbalKint27 on November 25, 2013, 10:58:16 pm
Again, I bought it from Think Geek: http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/f280/

The box calls it the A380 E. Seems genuine to me.

And yes, both of our SNES emulators are running fast. A google search seems to suggest that it's not an isolated incident?
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on November 26, 2013, 05:35:17 am
I don't think that the A380 from ThinkGeek is a Dingoo Technology console. This is probably a fake Dingoo A-380 console that doesn't use a Linux OS and it probably doesn't have an internal MicroSD slot. Without it it won't be possible to use the CFW.

Don't you think it's odd that ThinkGeek never mentions on their site that this is a Dingoo Technology console. They just call it an A380.

I don't know where or from who ThinkGeek bought those consoles to resell it, but they aren't original Dingoo Technology A-380 consoles. With that said the price is much to high for such a console. It should be priced somewhere around half the amount they're asking now and I still wouldn't want one.  ::)
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: dmitry_smagin on November 26, 2013, 06:54:43 am
It's not necessarily fake. It might be a320e with a different box saying 'a380e'. If so, it's mini os inside and not much could be helped.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on November 26, 2013, 02:02:06 pm
Without pictures of both the console and box it's difficult to say if these are genuine or fake. But the fact is that they aren't original Dingoo A-380 consoles.

Maybe the answer is in the firmware if you can find anything about the firmware and console version.

Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on November 27, 2013, 07:10:00 pm
their profit margins are too high for a 119 bucks original A380...
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on November 30, 2013, 10:10:35 am
It's not necessarily fake. It might be a320e with a different box saying 'a380e'. If so, it's mini os inside and not much could be helped.

You're right my friend. The A-380e is probably just a renamed A-320e.

I was never interested in a Dingoo A-320e so that won't change because they probably hexedited the firmware and replaced the 2 with an 8.  ::)
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on November 30, 2013, 02:59:07 pm
yep A380e s can be had for 70us$ but are 320e s
not "real" A380

i wonder how can thinkgeek offer GCW for 149 us$ when they remark so high...
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: 9600 on December 01, 2013, 05:38:44 am
I too was sucked into the ThinkGeek Dingoo A-380E thinking it was an actual A380. So far, the device has been useless. The Megadrive emulator rom directory isn't mapped, SNES performance is horrible due to an ALWAYS overcranked frame skip and the Open-Source emulators module doesn't do...well...anything. 

I purchased some extra SD cards expecting to be able to install a CFW for this "380" only to find NAND flash inside. I'm thinking this is just another A320e. I found some old links to the A320E-DINGUX package and am going to attempt an installation. Though from what I read, Dingux never really progressed much on the 320e.

Womp.
 
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 01, 2013, 08:48:14 am
Someone should get fired for releasing the Dingoo A-3280e.  >:(

A few months a go they were asking for suggestions for a new console: http://boards.dingoonity.org/offtopic/what%27s-your-suggestion-on-next-dingoo-console/

I don't see any of those suggestions on the Dingoo A-380e. The least I expected was that Dingoo Technology would continue to make the Dingoo A-380 if there's no money for research and development for a new console. The Dingoo A-380e can't replace the Dingoo A-380. It's probably nothing more than a Dingoo A-320e so it can't replace this one too.

Epic fail for Dingoo Technology because nobody was really interested in a Dingoo A-320e.  ::)
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on December 02, 2013, 02:14:03 am
We should start a new thread alerting people that A380e is not an a380!
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: 9600 on December 03, 2013, 06:57:23 am
Agreed. I'm about to send mine back to ThinkGeek. Want me to post a tear-down before its returned? I suppose it would be good to have some internal pics of this particular model.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on December 03, 2013, 01:14:00 pm
Agreed. I'm about to send mine back to ThinkGeek. Want me to post a tear-down before its returned? I suppose it would be good to have some internal pics of this particular model.

yep start a new thread with bold fonts and pictures alerting,
we will bump it regularly

nobody should fall for this
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: super_joker on December 16, 2013, 02:54:08 am
FML!!! I'm on the same boat, GBA worked fine, however the buttons L and R do not work.

This sux!!!

@ 9600 did you have any luck with the return?

@ Alien Grey, could you please recommend a site where I can purchase the right A380 please?

Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 16, 2013, 06:59:50 am
@ Alien Grey, could you please recommend a site where I can purchase the right A380 please?

There's a few sites that still seem to sell the real Dingoo A-380. I don't know if it's true but it's possible that they still have them in stock.

http://www.isharegifts.com/dingoo-a380-portable-console-wifi-2players-gaming-black-p-1338.html

http://www.etronixmart.com/dingoo-a380-mini-console-2players-gaming-wireless-controllers-p-793.html

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Shipping-Dingoo-A380-original-new-3-2-LCD-Game-Console-game-player-4GB-Built-in/520524994.html
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ransak on December 29, 2013, 01:54:22 am
Hi there. I decided to mess around with handheld emulators a bit, so I did the same thing. I just picked up a A380e from Thinkgeek myself (it was listed as a A380, so yea, incorrect advertising). I took it apart to have a look at the 'ping in a poke' I just got stuck with. Here's the pics:

http://i.imgur.com/YrhpSyq.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/D0q2b2N.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/o6TaLIz.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/flvNOvO.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/6RYz79e.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/4WZlNxK.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/fJ6BbT9.jpg

No internal TF card slot, so I'm not sure if it's possible to upgrade the firmware. The SNES emulator is pretty bad, I've tested several games with it and they all seem to skip frames and the audio crackles constantly. I haven't had a chance to thoroughly test the NES emulator, but the few times I fired it up it seemed to do a more passable job than the SNES emulator. No luck at all with the few games I have for the NEO GEO emulator, it just crashes.

On a related note the credit card payment processor that isharegifts and etronixmart uses (credit-pay.com I think) has been offline for days (I think both of those sites are actually the same company).

What's the top of the line, king of the hill handheld emulator console these days? The A380 looked great but they appear to be hard to find for sale.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: dmitry_smagin on December 29, 2013, 06:58:19 am
This is a relabeled a320e, at least the PCB looks _absolutely_ identical (www.dingoo.hk_v1.0)
Compare wit this review:
http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=ru&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fa320.emulate.su%2F2012%2F05%2F05%2Fobzor-dingoo-a320e%2F&act=url (http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=ru&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fa320.emulate.su%2F2012%2F05%2F05%2Fobzor-dingoo-a320e%2F&act=url)

You can probably install dingux for a320e on external card if you are lucky to find A320E-DINGUX.zip archive. After that you can use emulators for a380.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 29, 2013, 09:19:28 am
If you can find 999 friends who wants one you can buy the real Dingoo A-380 on Alibaba.  ;D

http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/dingoo-a380.html


Maybe it's possible to make a dual boot with the Dingoo A-320e Dingux for the Dingoo A-380e. But if it isn't exactly the same than you can easily end up with a brick and no way to recover.

I know that writing an image to a MicroSD card isn't the best way to update the firmware (CFW) but it's bullet proof. I never heard of anyone ending up with a brick after trying to update his Dingoo A-380 with the CFW. Also if you don't get the CFW to work for some reason you can just put the original MicroSD card with the factory firmware back.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: greinertech on December 30, 2013, 04:33:16 am
Hi all,

I received an 'A-380e' for Xmas and am deeply saddened by all this (mostly the SNES disaster >:( ). Is anyone gonna try the fixes suggested here? Is this thing just boned from the get-go? I would love to get this thing running better!
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 30, 2013, 08:39:45 am
If you compare the About this unit pictures from the A-380e and the A-320e you'll notice that they don't use the same firmware version. The Dingoo A-380e uses an older version.  ???
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on December 30, 2013, 02:06:17 pm
Hi all,

I received an 'A-380e' for Xmas and am deeply saddened by all this (mostly the SNES disaster >:( ). Is anyone gonna try the fixes suggested here? Is this thing just boned from the get-go? I would love to get this thing running better!

RETURN IT!

its not a proper a380
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on December 30, 2013, 02:10:07 pm
Hi there. I decided to mess around with handheld emulators a bit, so I did the same thing. I just picked up a A380e from Thinkgeek myself (it was listed as a A380, so yea, incorrect advertising). I took it apart to have a look at the 'ping in a poke' I just got stuck with. Here's the pics:

http://i.imgur.com/YrhpSyq.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/D0q2b2N.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/o6TaLIz.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/flvNOvO.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/6RYz79e.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/4WZlNxK.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/fJ6BbT9.jpg

No internal TF card slot, so I'm not sure if it's possible to upgrade the firmware. The SNES emulator is pretty bad, I've tested several games with it and they all seem to skip frames and the audio crackles constantly. I haven't had a chance to thoroughly test the NES emulator, but the few times I fired it up it seemed to do a more passable job than the SNES emulator. No luck at all with the few games I have for the NEO GEO emulator, it just crashes.

On a related note the credit card payment processor that isharegifts and etronixmart uses (credit-pay.com I think) has been offline for days (I think both of those sites are actually the same company).

What's the top of the line, king of the hill handheld emulator console these days? The A380 looked great but they appear to be hard to find for sale.

a CFW modded a380 is way better than the buggy GCW right now
but as you say checkout on isharegift and etronixmart does not work

 :o
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 30, 2013, 03:45:36 pm
a CFW modded a380 is way better than the buggy GCW right now
but as you say checkout on isharegift and etronixmart does not work

 :o

Did you try to get in contact with someone from Etronixmart or Isharegift to ask them why it isn't possible to pay with a credit card?
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: AtariHERO on December 30, 2013, 04:20:08 pm
a CFW modded a380 is way better than the buggy GCW right now
but as you say checkout on isharegift and etronixmart does not work

 :o

Did you try to get in contact with someone from Etronixmart or Isharegift to ask them why it isn't possible to pay with a credit card?


Gateway payment does not work, and they don't take paypal
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on December 30, 2013, 05:59:53 pm
Gateway payment does not work, and they don't take paypal

Makes me wonder if both webshops date from the Ming dynasty.  ;D

That explains why they still have them in stock.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ransak on December 31, 2013, 04:27:47 am
That's sad/funny, you're right, the box specs are EXACTLY the same:

http://i.imgur.com/P6dC4dO.jpg

Pic from the side of my A380e monstrosity. I may get gutsy and try A320e mods, I have to do some reading about them first.

This is a relabeled a320e, at least the PCB looks _absolutely_ identical (www.dingoo.hk_v1.0)
Compare wit this review:
http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=ru&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fa320.emulate.su%2F2012%2F05%2F05%2Fobzor-dingoo-a320e%2F&act=url (http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=ru&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fa320.emulate.su%2F2012%2F05%2F05%2Fobzor-dingoo-a320e%2F&act=url)

You can probably install dingux for a320e on external card if you are lucky to find A320E-DINGUX.zip archive. After that you can use emulators for a380.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ransak on January 06, 2014, 05:50:56 am
Just an FYI. I received a reply from isharegifts a couple of hours ago, their response about their payment processor being down was basically 'darn', and pointed me to willgoo.com. No A380s for sale, just an A330 with a wireless controller. And a few dozen Droid based 'gaming tablets', of which I know nothing.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on January 06, 2014, 06:11:20 am
Willgoo doesn't sell the Dingoo anymore. Maybe they got tired of waiting for new real Dingoo A-380 consoles because they've been out of stock for a very long time.  :(
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ydocvader on January 13, 2014, 04:33:38 am
Hi, I made an account just for this thread. Does anyone know where I could get an A380? I would love to have one, but I'm afraid of getting an "e" version. I know Alien Grey posted some sites but what Ransak said worries me.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on January 13, 2014, 10:39:28 am
Hi, I made an account just for this thread. Does anyone know where I could get an A380? I would love to have one, but I'm afraid of getting an "e" version. I know Alien Grey posted some sites but what Ransak said worries me.

Try this site here: http://www.martwill.com/dingoo-a380-3-2-inch-2-4ghz-av-out-with-g-sensor-game-player.html
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ydocvader on January 13, 2014, 08:00:43 pm
Should I email them first about their stock and see if it's A380e or not? Or should I just go ahead and buy one?
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on January 13, 2014, 08:56:00 pm
It's better to email them first before you buy one.
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Ydocvader on January 15, 2014, 05:03:11 am
A little cryptic, but I guess they don't have them. They got back to me stating "Sorry, the Dingoo brand were all out of stock."
Title: Re: Help with my Dingoo A-380e's SNES Emulator
Post by: Alien Grey on January 15, 2014, 08:46:45 am
Well... I'm running out of  webshop links.

It looks like there's not a single Dingoo A-380 console available for sale anymore and the a-380e isn't a good replacement.  :(