Dingoonity.org

Dingoo Official Firmware => Hardware => Topic started by: omgmog on May 09, 2010, 12:05:08 am

Title: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 09, 2010, 12:05:08 am
Note: this is a review of a SAMPLE version of the A330, and any hardware or software configurations presented in this SAMPLE A330 might change in the final model.

If you?re frequently visiting Dingoonity, no-doubt you?ve already got yourself a Dingoo A320.

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_menu_full.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_menu_full.jpg)

Dingoo Digital Technology Ltd has released a new revision of their Dingoo A320, called the Dingoo A330.
I won?t be doing much of a software review for the Dingoo A330, as it?s pretty identical to the Dingoo A320 with respect to the native OS and the available homebrew and emulators.

Packaging
The Dingoo A330 came in a similar-sized box to the Dingoo A320. The box contains the following:


The various cables came packaged in individual tear-to-open packets - this is much higher quality than the clear plastic wrapping the cables from the A320 came in.

Specification
For the most part the Dingoo A330 specs are identical to the Dingoo A320. The main differences in this new model are the amount of RAM, and the addition of a 2.4ghz wireless controller receiver. The specs follow:


The LCD screen seems more colourful, and is definitely an improvement over the one found in the Dingoo A320. The Dingoo A330 is using the same IL9331 LCD Controller as found in newer versions of the Dingoo A320.
The Dingoo A330 has a near identical IO/button layout to the Dingoo A320, with some nice differences. These can mostly be seen as enhancements:


Along with these improvements come a host of problems however:


The Dingoo A330 is pretty much the same size as the Dingoo A320. The left/right edges are now curved so that they fit more ergonomically into your hands, and the back side of each end is slightly thicker, again adding to the ergonomics.
Unlike the Dingoo A320, the plastic ?nubs? covering the screw holes on the back of the unit seem quite firmly secured

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a320-a330_sidebyside.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a320-a330_sidebyside.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-a320_thickness.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-a320_thickness.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_back_grip-speaker.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_back_grip-speaker.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_bottomedge_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_bottomedge_close.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_leftshoulder_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_leftshoulder_close.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_rightedge_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_rightedge_close.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330_rightshoulder_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330_rightshoulder_close.jpg)

Look wise, as noted by many people, the Dingoo A330 resembles a PSP in its aesthetics, but that?s where the similarities between the Dingoo A330 and a PSP end. It would be foolish to consider this a PSP clone.
Below you can see some photos comparing the size of the Dingoo A330 against other handheld devices:

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-dslite_closed.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-dslite_closed.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-dslite_open.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-dslite_open.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-ipodtouch.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-ipodtouch.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-psp3000.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-psp3000.jpg)


The Wireless Controller
The most notable difference between the Dingoo A320 and the Dingoo A330 is that the Dingoo A330 now has support for a wireless controller.  This controller improves the playability of the Dingoo A330 when connected to a TV via the TV-out mode.

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/f16_topdown_close.jpg) (http://)

The controller is about the same size as an Xbox 360 controller, and about the same weight as a PS3 controller. It requires 2xAAA batteries.
The controller features:


Testing of the controller has revealed that currently the additional controls found on the controller are mapped to existing controls.

The left analogue stick handles d-pad directions, and the right analogue stick handles a/b/x/y buttons. The L1/L2 buttons both function as the left trigger on the Dingoo A330, and the same for the R1/R2 buttons as the right trigger.

Currently the clickable buttons on the analogue sticks do nothing.

On the front of the controller there is a red LED which flashes to indicate that it isn?t connected, and stays on when it is connected.

Connecting the wireless controller to the A330 is as simple as turning the controller on, and pressing the wireless connection button twice.

More photos of the wireless controller follow:

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/f16_shoulderbuttons_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/f16_shoulderbuttons_close.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/f16_back_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/f16_back_close.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/f16-360_sidebyside.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/f16-360_sidebyside.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/f16-360_topdown.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/f16-360_topdown.jpg)


Native OS
The Dingoo A330 features the same native OS 1.2 as the Dingoo A320, with subtle differences including a new menu theme, and a new animated bootscreen. These small changes give the Dingoo A330 more polish out of the box than the Dingoo A320 had.

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-a320_sysinfo_far.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-a320_sysinfo_far.jpg)

(http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/tmb/a330-a320_sysinfo_close.jpg) (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/a330-a320_sysinfo_close.jpg)

Dingux
Because the Dingoo A330 features the same IL9331 LCD Controller as the Dingoo A320, and the hardware isn?t majorly different, installing Dingux is no problem.

You can follow the guides for installing on the Dingoo A320, but make sure you pick the IL9331 LCD controller.

I've successfully got the Dingoo A330 running a localpack put together by z_man3007, and all apps/games/emulators seem to run just fine.


Update:

I've opened up the Dingoo A330 now, and the F-16 wireless controller, and carried out some memory/cpu/control tests with help from Harteex, Flatmush and Zear.

Internal pictures of the Dingoo A330 and the F-16 Wireless Controller can be found here - http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/guts/

The CPU - This is still a JZ4740 like in the Dingoo A320, but it seems to be capable of clocking up to 460mhz under Dingux.

The RAM - There are physically 64MB of RAM in the Dingoo A330, but it's not all being utilised right now. The native firmware is only using 32MB.

The wireless controller - The wireless controller is just an additional wireless daughterboard attached to the mainboard in the Dingoo A330, with a corresponding daughterboard inside the control. There is nothing spectacular about the controller, it might just be a rebranded third-party PS2 controller.

The TV chip - This is the same as in the Dingoo A320, so any improvements made to the TV-out capabilities will be purely done in software. As this firmware is the same as the Dingoo A320, I doubt these improvements have been made yet.

We're actively discussing this in the #Dingoonity channel on Freenode, if you want to join us - http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=dingoonity
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: X-kunio on May 09, 2010, 01:43:53 am
woo,dingoo a330,it looks like psp,and I wonder when it will be selled :)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: jkd on May 09, 2010, 01:50:58 am
The TV-OUT has better resolution?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: tiagao_extremo on May 09, 2010, 01:59:07 am
Nice topic and nice pics. So is there any difference of performance with the 64mb ram? dingux runs fine? especially for mame and psx4all.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: DannyBoyTheDude on May 09, 2010, 02:08:27 am
So, would you recommend this over a Dingoo A320? Why or why not?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 09, 2010, 02:12:36 am
@X-Kunio - you can preorder the Dingoo A330 from Dingoo-Digital-USA right now - http://dingoo-digital-usa.com/category.sc?categoryId=8

@jkd - unfortunately the tv-out seems to be the same as with the A320

@tiagao_extremo - Dingux runs fine, and dingux apps run fine. Won't see any improvement for apps until the Dingux kernel supports the additional ram. Currently can gain roughly 30mhz more than normal via overclocks though.

@DannyBoyTheDude - if you've already got an A320, stay with that. If you're looking to buy one, buy the A330 -- I can see it being the better option in the long run. It picks up on some of the problems found in the A320 such as the tiny amount of RAM.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: jkd on May 09, 2010, 02:37:22 am
I see disappointed people...  :'(

The World's most expensive 32MB of RAM.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: RodrigoCard on May 09, 2010, 03:32:32 am
TOO BAD there is no wireless transmiter, only a receiver...

Obviously lots of people would buy TWO instead of one if it could have multiplayer
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ddragoonss on May 09, 2010, 03:48:46 am
The World's most expensive 32MB of RAM.


I know most people don't like to open your gadgets but OMGMOG, can you open both(A320, A330) or just the A330 and take some comparison photos?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 09, 2010, 03:51:05 am
I'm still looking forward to pictures of the insides; I want to see what the new board looks like.

Disappointed though that it's still a jz4740 cpu... my optomism is starting to wane.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 09, 2010, 04:16:45 am
Actually the 4750 and 4755 both have alot of issues thats why QI-Hardware chose the 4732 for the Ben NanoNote because of the issues that 4750 and 4755 had. So Dingoo-Tech chose to work with what was best and revise the board and processor for better performance.

When your limited with selection and want to stay with the same class x-burst processor so your OS and apps will work your limited to the options you have.

I will be adding a video review to this some time tomorrow during the day....
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: hi-ban on May 09, 2010, 06:16:52 am
the Jz4740 is the same processor of the 'HK' a320s, probably a china-only version of the Jz4732 processor of the 'export' a320s (the specs in the manufacturer's site are the same for both processors).

The usb port of the a320 is also a standard mini-usb connector, so no improvement there (there is no need to improve that anyway)...

I also want to see photos of the motherboard, just curious to see if i could fit an a330 inside the case of the a320 (i hate the psp design). The placement of everything seems to be the same of the a320, including reset button, usb/earphone plugs, etc...
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Orion4874 on May 09, 2010, 06:35:32 am
Didn't change the reset button and didn't add a dedicated volume control? Too bad, two things I really wanted to see rectified!
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: rekmk1 on May 09, 2010, 06:42:05 am
i will stick with my a320 the a330 does not do anything vastly different for me to warrant a purchase  :(
so its get a330 if not got a320
great review by the way  ;D
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 09, 2010, 06:47:36 am
Hi-Ban 4732 is a standard processor that started in the A320 from November 2008 till about March 2009 at that point it moved to the 4740. As for what the exact difference between the 4732 and 4740 the spec sheets don't say what the difference is...

Better crispier LCD screen

Wirless controller (They are working to get two player working so you can play two player games with two controllers)

Another 32MB ram
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: thismeinteil on May 09, 2010, 07:22:37 am
I will most likely be getting this in a few months when I get my summer bonus.  Especially can't wait to see what the devs can do with the revised chip/board and extra Ram.  The only thing I have a REAL problem about is the location of the speakers.  Does it hurt the ability to hear the games greatly?  Also, do the native emulators for SNES and/or Genesis run any better?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: 10basetom on May 09, 2010, 07:29:18 am
We need to pick a set of games that are known to play poorly on the A320 (e.g., SNES/Genesis games) and play the same games on the A330 to see if they perform any better. Only then can we get an idea if the changes they made to the motherboard/circuitry actually paid off in REAL WORLD testing.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: mrkingoo on May 09, 2010, 08:20:51 am
Thanks for the nice review omgmog. Concise and informative :)

I m a lil bit disappointed specs are so similar to the A320. But on the other hand it seems to be pretty much 100% backwards compatible with applications and games made for A320? If so much less hassle for developers and you get the full A320 library available from the get go :)

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: santino on May 09, 2010, 08:52:04 am
I would definitely buy the LCD. Are there exchange ones? :D
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: zear on May 09, 2010, 09:36:50 am
Wirless controller (They are working to get two player working so you can play two player games with two controllers)
I hope they really are.
From tests omgmog did yesterday the wireless gamepad works in dingux, so that would mean the wireless is handled entirely by the hardware, and the OS has no access to it.
The L2/R2 on dingux are still mapped to the same actions as L1/R1, and buttons under the analogs do nothing.

Basing on that facts I would say, that:
* the gamepad cannot be remapped, and is "hardcoded" to run as the first player controller
* we can forget about pairing twoo A330s together, or remap the gamepad to work as a second player controller

If it's entirely driven by the hardware, can Dingoo Tech really add a support for a second player controller in a firmware upgrade?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: santino on May 09, 2010, 10:18:04 am
Did I get it right that you can overclock to 460mhz?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: darfgarf on May 09, 2010, 10:38:40 am
the spec sheets don't say what the difference is...

think it's something along the lines of die size or something like that, essentially the same, but the newer are faster etc

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Haas on May 09, 2010, 11:10:25 am
I read the A330 is a fake dingoo, so isn't it a change that it is just a frankenbuild of the original dingoo. And it won't get firmware updates and the new features could kill your batteri or the processor?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: SiENcE on May 09, 2010, 11:20:35 am
@Haas: We have a roumor mill in this forum. Please go there! Not here! -> http://boards.dingoonity.org/the-rumor-mill/
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 09, 2010, 11:30:01 am
Wirless controller (They are working to get two player working so you can play two player games with two controllers)

I am quit shocked, that it uses the EXACT same firmware with another theme.
And both show the same date: 23. September 2009
This means NO functional additions at all (except optical Theme/image changes)

Do all the emulators still show version 1.0??
Does the megadrive/genesis emu still shows the vertical tearing?

I am quit sure that the mainboard is exactly the same ... ram chip has been exchanged to a bigger capacity one, and I guess the wireless is on a daughterboard.

How was the wireless integrated?? and how was that done without a new firmware release?
If they directly wired wires from wireless to the physical buttons, than this would be a catastrophe!
Naturally this would also mean that no wireless dualplayer is possible!

I guess it will NOT be possible in the future to use the wireless on the dingoo to connect 2 dingoos wirelessly. So the question is, if the dingoo unit has only a receiver or also a transmitter.
sad .... multiplayer between 2 dingoos would have been a good feature.

or if they would have changed the minisd to 2 microsd slots.

Also what was the thought of the wireless controller analog sticks??

I was hoping that they were included because they updated the processor so that n64 etc. support will be possible.
Are the sticks hardcoded in hardware to the buttons?
Than they would be completely und utterly useless!

Please open up the dingoo and the controller and post high res images of the innards.
So that we can check if the sticks are really independant analog sticks, or just useless second abxy buttons.

Also we could check if there is an optimized motherboard included or not ... the fact that the FW release date is the same as the FW of the a320 is not a good sign.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 09, 2010, 11:42:18 am
Especially can't wait to see what the devs can do with the revised chip/board and extra Ram.
Also, do the native emulators for SNES and/or Genesis run any better?

What revised chip are you speaking of??

The a330 uses the SAME firmware as the a320!!
This means no real change on ANYTHING important. (Otherwise they would have needed to update the firmware)

Why should the emulators work better.
They are running on near identical HW and the same software (Emulator version 1.0).
The emulators would need to be updated to take advantage of the additional ram.
(Neo Geo would be a good target, which could benefit from an update there)

But than again think about the past.
The Emulators have NEVER (not once!!) been updated.
And the "new" A330 uses the same FW as the a320 which is from 2009.

This does not give me much hope.

At least they updated the FW in the past.
Fixed the X/Y bug and added some languages.
Not much seen when it comes to added features. (like PSP added browser, PSN, Skype and other new features)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 09, 2010, 12:03:51 pm
From tests omgmog did yesterday the wireless gamepad works in dingux, so that would mean the wireless is handled entirely by the hardware, and the OS has no access to it.

exactly my line of thinking.
Also supported by the fact that it uses the FW of the A320 from September 2009.

Somebody who has samples: open up the controller and a330, and look if the stick in it is an analog stick, or if it is hardwired to the dpad/x/y/a/b digital buttons.

Also somebody ask dingoo tech (or whatever company is now really selling the a330) and ask them what the usecase for the "analog" stick is.

What use is it?? They ship their "new" product with FW 1.20 ... which does not SUPPORT analog sticks!
So what is their storyline about that?

2 possibilities:
1) HW is indeed capable to support the analog sticks, and to have dualplayer, but the SW was not ready, and needs some additional weeks. So they started shipping the old SW and there will be an update when the new SW is ready.

2) they hardwired it. This means that the analog sticks stay "non functional" (ie. are mapped to digital dpad and xyab) and they lied about the possibility of dual player support (with 2 wireless controllers).

please clarify these questions.

At the moment I have the feeling that selling the a320 mainboard in a new case was not "sexy" enough for them, so they threw in 2 non functional analog sticks, because they look good.
This pessimistic view of mine can easily be rectified, by explaining the story of the sticks.
WHAT IS THEIR USE-CASE!!
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: darfgarf on May 09, 2010, 12:11:30 pm
wow, a triple post, well done sir :P

the controller does seem to be a little useless yes, but then again there's more ram and it can overclock higher (mog got it to 470)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 09, 2010, 12:25:26 pm
the controller does seem to be a little useless yes, but then again there's more ram and it can overclock higher (mog got it to 470)

My A320 from mid 2009 can clock to 450 MHz ...

Overclocking depends cooling and chip placement, traces etc. but usually it is the CPU that limits it.
The a330 uses the same CPU ad the a320 ......

Anyways ... we would need either statistical data of many 320 and 330 users to make valid assumptions about overclocking potential. (you cannot do much from 1 single data point!)

To say something positive:
I do not really understand the problems people have with the new case.
The size difference alone makes it virtually impossible to mistake it for a PSP.
And to be honest the new form factor looks quit good, and comfortable.

I like both versions.
I would loved to see a real update which would offer out of the box new features.
Like N64 emulation built into native, with real analog stick on wireless.

Face it: the casual non tech savy gamer has NO USE for the added RAM ... the native FW does not support it. (if you are optimistic you could say does not support it YET)
Anyways it is a very good addition for dingux.

Normally the linux kernel SHOULD recognize the added ram out of the box.
So reviewer could you take a look at dmesg or do a "free -m" to see how much ram is recognized?

Also somebody who speaks to dingoo tech (or whatever they are called now) and ask if they intend to support the added RAM in native.
If so, they would need to change the FW and add functionality ...
reusing 7-8 month old FW will NOT achieve this!

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Chris23235 on May 09, 2010, 01:14:44 pm
At this moment I am not interested in the A330 either. The additional Ram is a small plus, but regarding the fact, that most games, that don't run in Mame with 32 MB (e.g. NeoGeo) would be to slow either and run fine in fba or native, it is definitely not worth it.

I would have bought it with a faster CPU, but an additional 32 MB don't help in Snes9x and even if they might help in PSX4All as some suggest, with the current CPU and without a 3D chip it is impossivle to get Playstation emulation at a descent speed with Sound.

So the overall value of the additional 32 MB is non existing to me. If my A320 ever fails, I would buy an A330 but as long as it works, I don't think we will see many emulators, that run better on the 330 than on the 320.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: darfgarf on May 09, 2010, 01:21:56 pm
Like N64 emulation built into native
that'll never happen, get a pandora :P

and of course, more points are needed to see what the processor can get to/etc, i'll make sure to do a few tests and stuff

there's already a couple of games i have in mind for the 330, ones that the 320 can run fine, but once they attempt to load any more graphics to use/sounds etc, there's just not enough ram (visualboy advance should be possible aswell, but no idea for speed vs gpsp, it runs gb/gbc games on the 320, but even gbc ones are pushing the ram to the max XD)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: zear on May 09, 2010, 01:47:30 pm
Normally the linux kernel SHOULD recognize the added ram out of the box.
So reviewer could you take a look at dmesg or do a "free -m" to see how much ram is recognized?
That does not apply to dingux, where the ram is hardcoded to 32M.
Of course it's as simple as to recompile the kernel with support of 64M, but the current dingux kernel will allow A330 to use only half of it's ram.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: strider_mt2k on May 09, 2010, 02:01:04 pm
Thank you so much for sharing all this great info!

I wonder if there could be a market for that wireless controller and the tiny control board that they've grafted into the thing.

I don't have any idea of what protocol it's using, but it seems like it may be an interesting hardware control interface for experimenters all on it's own if used with a microcontroller of some kind.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 09, 2010, 02:05:47 pm
Thank you so much for sharing all this great info!

I wonder if there could be a market for that wireless controller and the tiny control board that they've grafted into the thing.

I don't have any idea of what protocol it's using, but it seems like it may be an interesting hardware control interface for experimenters all on it's own if used with a microcontroller of some kind.

You might be interested in these photos of the guts that I took - http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/guts/

As usual folks, we're discussing this more in the #Dingoonity irc channel on freenode - http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=dingoonity
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 09, 2010, 02:12:28 pm
Thanks for the internal pics! This is what I've been waiting for :D

Interesting branding on the cpu...

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: zolini on May 09, 2010, 04:56:47 pm
I translated the review into Brazilian Portuguese, and posted on our website DingooBR. Soon we will also make our review.  ;D
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ddragoonss on May 09, 2010, 05:06:29 pm

You might be interested in these photos of the guts that I took - http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/guts/


Sorry for the bad words, but "It's all the same sh*t".

With + 32M ram(useless to speed improvement in most emulators) and a wireless receiver soldered in the controller circuit(literally a 'remote' control, a really strange thing to a PORTABLE device), only this two improvements, but still they made it incompatible to change to a A320 case because the reset and L-R buttons soldered in different places.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 09, 2010, 05:26:18 pm
Just because the firmware has the same version number doesn't mean it wasn't modified with the new theme probably mods to make it access more memory etc. When I was looking into adding more ram to the A320 there were changes that needed to be done at the OS and Firmware level so those changes needed to be done.

As for processor the only options they had were 4740 or 4750 or 4755 the 4750 and 4755 both had too many issues to warrant using them as they would cause more issues then they would resolve. So they decided to revise the motherboard and processor instead.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ddragoonss on May 09, 2010, 05:53:54 pm
Just because the firmware has the same version number doesn't mean it wasn't modified with the new theme probably mods to make it access more memory etc. When I was looking into adding more ram to the A320 there were changes that needed to be done at the OS and Firmware level so those changes needed to be done.


So if was added more RAM without a Firmware improvement(what seems, not cause the version number, but cause the date too), the +32MB will be literally useless?

Good to know it.

"doesn't mean it wasn't modified with the new theme"
It's very easy to modify the OS theme, anyone can do it(Even I did a really ugly Ys theme), otherwise it's hard to change memory-mapping procedures in a OS.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: darfgarf on May 09, 2010, 05:58:46 pm
not cause the version number, but cause the date too)
if you compare the secret config screen on the 320/330, the os hash is different, so it's not the same, even though the date is
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: hi-ban on May 09, 2010, 06:04:44 pm
do you think it will be possible to put the a330 firmware into the a320?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ddragoonss on May 09, 2010, 06:06:44 pm
not cause the version number, but cause the date too)
if you compare the secret config screen on the 320/330, the os hash is different, so it's not the same, even though the date is

Maybe cause the different theme?

do you think it will be possible to put the a330 firmware into the a320?
Almost sure, If has a .hfx extractor somewhere, ask to omgmog to upload the firmware.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: hi-ban on May 09, 2010, 06:36:08 pm
i mean, the dingoo a330 works at 400mhz, so maybe we can make the a320 to work at 400mhz using a330 firmware? if so, native emus might get a performance boost...
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 09, 2010, 06:37:02 pm
do you think it will be possible to put the a330 firmware into the a320?
Almost sure, If has a .hfx extractor somewhere, ask to omgmog to upload the firmware.

I can't dump the firmware from the A330. The .hxf extractors only work on firmware installer files, not on the contents of the A330 itself

i mean, the dingoo a330 works at 400mhz, so maybe we can make the a320 to work at 400mhz using a330 firmware? if so, native emus might get a performance boost...

The clock can be set using .app's, and set in Dingux. People have already tried overclocking the A320 beyond 438, but it's not possible

Edit, I've updated the first post with a note:

Note: this is a review of a SAMPLE version of the A330, and any hardware or software configurations presented in this SAMPLE A330 might change in the final model.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 09, 2010, 07:02:47 pm
The clock can be set using .app's, and set in Dingux. People have already tried overclocking the A320 beyond 438, but it's not possible

My a320 works well with 450 MHz ...

regarding the different hash ... there is a different theme and a different startimage used ...

dingoo-digital-usa claims that there will be HW and SW changes in the final unit.
So that the sample units are not identical to the final ones .... we will see.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Nickeng on May 09, 2010, 10:21:49 pm
Can you get the theme out of the machine so it could be put on a A320..

Or better still so it can be modified.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ddragoonss on May 09, 2010, 10:52:46 pm
Quote
I mean, the dingoo a330 works at 400mhz, so maybe we can make the a320 to work at 400mhz using a330 firmware? if so, native emus might get a performance boost...

For Native OS:

http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/dingoo.cgi?0,0,0,0,116,43

or

http://flatmush.juliusparishy.com/a320/toolchain/sml_overclock_r61.zip


For dingux use gmenu, it can update each emulator/app indivually and automatically.

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: hi-ban on May 09, 2010, 11:42:42 pm
i already know that, but i just don't want to have to execute the overclocking app each time i turn on my dingoo.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Siloucos on May 10, 2010, 01:10:56 am
i already know that, but i just don't want to have to execute the overclocking app each time i turn on my dingoo.


...and maybe we can have tv out with overclock now! :)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: thismeinteil on May 10, 2010, 08:39:37 am
Especially can't wait to see what the devs can do with the revised chip/board and extra Ram.
Also, do the native emulators for SNES and/or Genesis run any better?

What revised chip are you speaking of??

The a330 uses the SAME firmware as the a320!!
This means no real change on ANYTHING important. (Otherwise they would have needed to update the firmware)

Why should the emulators work better.
They are running on near identical HW and the same software (Emulator version 1.0).
The emulators would need to be updated to take advantage of the additional ram.
(Neo Geo would be a good target, which could benefit from an update there)

But than again think about the past.
The Emulators have NEVER (not once!!) been updated.
And the "new" A330 uses the same FW as the a320 which is from 2009.

This does not give me much hope.

At least they updated the FW in the past.
Fixed the X/Y bug and added some languages.
Not much seen when it comes to added features. (like PSP added browser, PSN, Skype and other new features)

Well, what I meant was what omgmog said in the review about the CPU.  "CPU: 400MHz Jz4740 Revised Processor and Motherboard."

Since the cicuit board for the controller says PSButton on it, does that mean it's from a third party PS3 controller?  And didn't the specs for the controller say it had "motion control?"
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 10, 2010, 09:51:32 am
Well, what I meant was what omgmog said in the review about the CPU.  "CPU: 400MHz Jz4740 Revised Processor and Motherboard."

Since the cicuit board for the controller says PSButton on it, does that mean it's from a third party PS3 controller?  And didn't the specs for the controller say it had "motion control?"

The controller is like some generic PS2 controller, with the wireless receiver daughterboard soldered on where you would usually find the controller cable attached. The "PSButton" is actually the "wireless connect" button, and the controller features no "motion controls" at all.

This is a sample controller however, and might not (hopefully!) reflect the final product -- though motion control would have no place on a console such as the Dingoo
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: SiENcE on May 10, 2010, 10:12:30 am
@omgmog: About the speaker.

They are bigger, right?
Is the sound clearer or louder?
Can i use the tvout as second Earphone out?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Solstice on May 10, 2010, 10:29:45 am
i already know that, but i just don't want to have to execute the overclocking app each time i turn on my dingoo.


...and maybe we can have tv out with overclock now! :)
Yep id much rather have my A320 running at 400 for native all of the time

TV out really needs that extra performance for games also,and that doesnt work with OC app

Would be great
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 10, 2010, 10:33:57 am
@omgmog: About the speaker.

They are bigger, right?
Is the sound clearer or louder?
Can i use the tvout as second Earphone out?

They are the same size as the A320, just positioned on the back now instead of the bottom. I haven't tested but I assume the TV-out on the A330 will work like an earphone jack just as in the A320.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: bobby on May 10, 2010, 01:29:38 pm
back in the old days i when the dingoo just hit I downloaded a 400 mhz firmware for the dingoo from some Asian website, was much faster but it had the YB button bug. Its quite annoying having to start the overclock app all the time. I'd love to have a firmware that is set at 430 mhz. Anyone there who knows how to do that ?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 10, 2010, 07:18:53 pm
I've been looking at the internal photos of the A330 (http://a330.dingoonity.org/photos/guts/) and its wireless controller some more, and came across a few things that might be of interest.

Initially I had been disappointed to believe that the L1 and L2 buttons, and R1 and R2 buttons on the controller were just ganged together because I could only see a single pair of conductors from each set of triggers. I've realized that this is incorrect, the four trigger buttons are indeed wired separately, so there is the possibility that a software update will enable them to work independantly, i.e. L1 and L2 would be two separate buttons, ditto for R1 and R2.

The U4 on the wireless controller appears to be an Atmel chip (ATML silkscreened on it) and this could be a 3-axis accellerometer, though maybe it too is in need of a software update in order to get it to work. It does appear to be wired to the missing U3, which perhaps will be in place on the final retailed products. (i.e. maybe the chip wasn't in place for the initial samples.)

The main processor on the controller appears to be an Elan Tech microprocessor, it's an OTP (one time programmable) device meaning it's burned once at the factory and cannot be updated later on. So odds are that the wireless controllers themselves cannot be flashed or updated after-the-fact, but this may not be an issue (see below).

The 'wireless transmitter' daughterboard on the controller appears to be identical to the 'wireless receiver' daughter board in the A330, which makes me wonder if they might actually be transcievers after all - meaning it may be possible via software to get two A330's to talk to each other.

And finally, the IC that is next to the wireless receiver board on the A330 appears to be an Elan Tech EM78F644N (http://www.emc.com.tw/eng/8bit_prod_dsc.asp?gid=&tid=000004&tt=8bit_fadc_ds&nn=F66x+series%28Win%26trade%3B%29Flash+ADC+Type+with+EEPROM+%28Industrial+Grade%29) which is a microprocessor, flash-programmable. I suspect that this IC is responsible for communicating between the JZ4740 and the wireless daughterboard. The fact that it is flash-programmable means that software updates ought to be able to expand or revamp the way the wireless communications take place -- making two-player gaming possible, and maybe even connecting two A330's together.

The wireless controller functions equally for Dingux as it does the native firmware, which does suggest that all the functionality is handled by hardware. However if I am correct about this IC, then the wireless has its own firmware that is changeable, while still appearing as standard hardware to the Dingoo itself.

Please note this is all based on educated guesswork, study of the images, and some research. I'm sure that we'll continue to learn more, as more reviews are posted and more people get their hands on the A330.

Cheers!

Edited to add: The two analog joysticks on the controller do appear to be wired as analog joysticks -- they each have three conductors per axis which makes sense for analog encoding. The fact that they are currently mapped to the digital buttons is something that could most likely be changed with a firmware update. The controller also appears to have the traces in place to allow rumble to be added - left and right sides of the circuit board have unpopulated markings for the components that I am certain would be for driving two small DC motors, and from what you can see of the hand grips they appear to have moulded spacers for something cylindrical to fit in there. :)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: SiENcE on May 10, 2010, 10:57:27 pm
So whats the conclusion?

They have fix this issues for the final product. Otherwise we are not able to map the buttons like we want.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: 10basetom on May 11, 2010, 11:00:30 am
  • The buttons are quite sticky to press, and often feel like they might get stuck
  • D-pad/buttons aren?t very springy

Sticky buttons? Mushy buttons? *barf* Potential deal breakers if they don't fix these issues in the final production models. For a device that is targeted at gaming first, gaming controls are KING. A gaming device that has inferior ergonomics to the original NES gamepad is just not going to cut it.

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Friendly Neighborhood Dingoonity Troll on May 11, 2010, 11:23:49 am
Yes, those comments about the buttons/dpad scare me. It is what's keeping me from putting an order in at the moment.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 11, 2010, 11:58:29 am
It's almost as if the holes for the buttons are too tight. I imagine this will be fixed in the final product.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: vlad on May 11, 2010, 02:14:20 pm
About the wireless controller .... mistery (let's just call it mistery , because nobody doesn't really seem to know how the heck it works)
There is a risk that the MCU on the motherboard in the A330 is hardwired to the controller inputs in the CPU , which may be a problem,because a software update won't add anything new to the controller.I really belive that that's what it is,a microcontroller which uses the transceiver/receiver to get data from the controller , and then set the button lines high or low , depending on what's receiving.
I believe this because if it was controlled by software , there must have been a "Wireless controller" (or "Wirelass king controla" , as the chinese would call it) in the settings menu , to be able to map your own controls from there.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 11, 2010, 02:32:19 pm
About the wireless controller .... mistery (let's just call it mistery , because nobody doesn't really seem to know how the heck it works)
There is a risk that the MCU on the motherboard in the A330 is hardwired to the controller inputs in the CPU , which may be a problem,because a software update won't add anything new to the controller.I really belive that that's what it is,a microcontroller which uses the transceiver/receiver to get data from the controller , and then set the button lines high or low , depending on what's receiving.
I believe this because if it was controlled by software , there must have been a "Wireless controller" (or "Wirelass king controla" , as the chinese would call it) in the settings menu , to be able to map your own controls from there.

We already know that it atleast has basic controls by hardware alone. Currently the firmware has no mention of control schemes, but if they keep to their word I suspect this will come in the final version of the native OS.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Meneer Jansen on May 11, 2010, 10:50:42 pm
Welcome the PSP Games A-330!

http://dingoo.hk/en_product.asp?id=4

I wonder that the domain and the Dingoo Technology company name remain.

I am also wondering if it comes with the 7 days game .... or will it be renamed to 8 days? ;)
Has the world gone completely mad? ;)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: eule on May 12, 2010, 01:06:07 am
Latest firmware: http://dingoo.hk/bbs/dispbbs.asp?boardid=15&id=18 (http://dingoo.hk/bbs/dispbbs.asp?boardid=15&id=18)
http://translate.google.de/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=de&ie=UTF-8&layout=1&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdingoo.hk%2Fbbs%2Fdispbbs.asp%3Fboardid%3D15%26id%3D18&sl=zh-CN&tl=en (http://translate.google.de/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=de&ie=UTF-8&layout=1&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdingoo.hk%2Fbbs%2Fdispbbs.asp%3Fboardid%3D15%26id%3D18&sl=zh-CN&tl=en)
Can?t download it though...
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: thismeinteil on May 12, 2010, 01:22:17 am
Guys, screw the 330.  Let's get the 360.  After all, it is 30 numbers better.   ;D  

Anyway, so are the ones that DDU is shipping in mid-May preview versions, as well?  Or are they the final product?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 12, 2010, 03:09:01 am
Final
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Friendly Neighborhood Dingoonity Troll on May 12, 2010, 05:48:37 am
The DD and DT sites both have stupid things like that.

And I'm fine with the A330 looking like a PSP. The PSP looks cool. And all that really matters is it's functionality.

But I admit, I'm starting to get annoyed. "PSP Games A320" and "PSP Games A330"? What the hell? That better just be some funny chinglish mistake.

Is there an official name for the product? Is there an official ANYTHING in China?

Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: mrkingoo on May 12, 2010, 10:52:29 am
New A-330 firmware is perhaps on its way, download link doesnt work

http://dingoo.hk/en_service.asp?classid=4
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Meneer Jansen on May 13, 2010, 01:39:03 pm
So far we've only got the review of the sample version of the A330. Is the final release for sale yet? And if so: in what way does it differ from the sample version?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 13, 2010, 02:00:26 pm
So far we've only got the review of the sample version of the A330. Is the final release for sale yet? And if so: in what way does it differ from the sample version?

No, it is not sold yet.

Nobody has spoken up about the differences ...

Oppinions range between nothing, and different firmware and different HW.

last option (different HW) seems highly unlikely to me personally, if they want to meet their own deadline (start selling end may, beginning of june 2010)

we will see.
When the final units arrive than we can REALLY say what the dingoo technology a330 CAN do, and what it finally contains.
In the meantime I am thinking of starting a thread in the rumour mill to collect all the bits and peaces of information.

Also dingoo digital has announced to start selling a successor of the dingoo digital a320 in 2-3 months.
I do not know either company, and they seem to fight at the moment.
dingoo tech has prooved that they are able to (at least minimally) update the a320 ... dingoo digital has not shown any proof of their ability to reegineer the a320.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: philos on May 14, 2010, 12:31:06 pm
I just recieved my A330 from a Hong Kong seller today.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 14, 2010, 12:49:53 pm
I just recieved my A330 from a Hong Kong seller today.

Please share your findings with us.
Are the XYAB buttons on your unit as hard to press as on the sample unit of omgmog?

Did you also buy the wireless controller?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: philos on May 14, 2010, 02:24:13 pm
The XYAB buttons are fine, but the L button got stuck the 1st time I used it.
I also have the wireless controller, in the manual it say's that the left joystick is wired to the direction control key's and the richt one is wired to the XYAB buttons and that the L1 and R1 are wired to the L and R button.

I do not own a A320 so I can not compare them, played a bit of Sega 16Bit on it and the image was not that great when I played Sonic, there where a lot of stripes in the picture when the game got "fast", also the speed of the Sega emu is about 2/3rds of the original as far as I can tell.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Friendly Neighborhood Dingoonity Troll on May 14, 2010, 02:26:43 pm
Is the L button fine now? Are the L/R buttons comfortable to use?

The included Sega Megadrive emulator on the A320/A330 is definitely not something you should use to gauge the machine's abilities. That's one of the worst default emulators. The default SNES is also pretty bad. You need to install Dingux and use Picodrive and SNES9x4D.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 14, 2010, 02:39:55 pm
Philos what reseller was it not trying to get them in trouble but no reseller was authorized to release the A330 yet as official reviews have not come out and public release is not due till May 17th to the 20th or later till official reviews from Tech Radar UK and ByteJacker come out.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Friendly Neighborhood Dingoonity Troll on May 14, 2010, 02:44:30 pm
So the final units are out?

Or did philos get one of the test units, or what's going on?

Are there any changes at all made to the final units?
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 14, 2010, 02:51:08 pm
I do not own a A320 so I can not compare them, played a bit of Sega 16Bit on it and the image was not that great when I played Sonic, there where a lot of stripes in the picture when the game got "fast", also the speed of the Sega emu is about 2/3rds of the original as far as I can tell.

genesis and snes (as already pointed out) are not the strengths of the dingoo.

There is a community update for the genesis emu, which gets rid of the stripes.

You can also get the overclock utility from the dingoonity download section, and try that. (you have to hold down (and keep pressed until other app is started) y when exiting, otherwise the native OS sets back the clock to default!)
Check it by starting the overclock app again ... if done correctly it should show the same clock as before leaving.
Also please tell us what the default clock is. (some say its 400 MHz, some say it is 336 MHz - I would be glad if you could check and tell us)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: grunator on May 14, 2010, 02:57:52 pm
Hello,

I will buy my Dingoo a330 today but i can't find any review about the controller...

On this website (http://www.consoles-mobiles.com/article-dingoo-a330-719.htm (http://www.consoles-mobiles.com/article-dingoo-a330-719.htm)) first controller is free but second is around 16 ?...

I think pad isn't important but i don't know...Order it or not ?


Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: philos on May 14, 2010, 03:03:30 pm
Philos what reseller was it not trying to get them in trouble but no reseller was authorized to release the A330 yet as official reviews have not come out and public release is not due till May 17th to the 20th or later till official reviews from Tech Radar UK and ByteJacker come out.

I bought it from toy_bar on Ebay.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: philos on May 14, 2010, 03:05:12 pm
I do not own a A320 so I can not compare them, played a bit of Sega 16Bit on it and the image was not that great when I played Sonic, there where a lot of stripes in the picture when the game got "fast", also the speed of the Sega emu is about 2/3rds of the original as far as I can tell.


Also please tell us what the default clock is. (some say its 400 MHz, some say it is 336 MHz - I would be glad if you could check and tell us)

How do I do that? It's my 1st dingoo...
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 14, 2010, 03:08:12 pm
Hello,

I will buy my Dingoo a330 today but i can't find any review about the controller...

On this website (http://www.consoles-mobiles.com/article-dingoo-a330-719.htm (http://www.consoles-mobiles.com/article-dingoo-a330-719.htm)) first controller is free but second is around 16 ?...

I think pad isn't important but i don't know...Order it or not ?

There is a review that includes the controller here on Dingoonity. The first post of this thread in fact!

Right now, the Dingoo A330 can only use a single controller, so there is no point to ordering a second one.

Quote
La nouvelle console open source
Ah... not so much.  :-\

Cheers!
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 14, 2010, 03:09:54 pm
How do I do that? It's my 1st dingoo...

here you can find the overclock application from flatmush:

http://flatmush.juliusparishy.com/a320/toolchain/sml_overclock_r61.zip

Here is the fixed genesis emu:
http://www.dingoo-digital.com/downloads/emulators/megadrive-emulator-native-os-fixed
(do not know if it runs on a330 and HK dingoos ... works perfectly on my "old" a320)

PS: also which FW version do you have installed? 1.20 (see the about screen)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 14, 2010, 03:10:44 pm
Philos what reseller was it not trying to get them in trouble but no reseller was authorized to release the A330 yet as official reviews have not come out and public release is not due till May 17th to the 20th or later till official reviews from Tech Radar UK and ByteJacker come out.

DDU - I think a lot of places are already selling the A330. I know ShopTemp / GBATemp has had it for sale for 4 or 5 days now, showing it as in stock.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: omgmog on May 14, 2010, 03:12:51 pm
Breaking the street date before it's final isn't a good idea..  :-\
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: ricsi on May 14, 2010, 03:19:22 pm
Breaking the street date before it's final isn't a good idea..  :-\

I have found 24 hits on ebay ...
somebody has to supply those units ...
I do not think that so many people are selling their "review" units.
(and stephanie is right ... shoptemp is selling them right now as well ...)

I am really wondering where they get their units from, if it is officially unavailable.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Stephanie on May 14, 2010, 03:20:47 pm
I'm also wondering what they are selling, actually. Like, do these places have the final versions already? Or are there truckloads of prototypes that are being sold off?

philos mentioned that the manual for the A330 controller actually says that the analog controllers are mapped to the dpad and xyab buttons. If they printed that into the manual, it makes me worry that they don't plan on 'fixing' the way the wireless controller works at all. Unless the manual is also a 'prototype'... 

I also have the wireless controller, in the manual it say's that the left joystick is wired to the direction control key's and the richt one is wired to the XYAB buttons and that the L1 and R1 are wired to the L and R button.

Sigh... I am concerned that the 'review units' are actually the final units, and nothing is going to be changed.
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: philos on May 14, 2010, 05:31:13 pm
Also by the way the one documented site selling them so far is not documented as selling them yet. Philos can you please send pictures of the A-330 for verification.

Whahaha, just took a picture of my ugly face together with the A330 and my wife said, don't the believe you? haha
Will post in a minute.

(http://www.xs4all.nl/~krasteva/a330.jpg)
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: kswildside on May 14, 2010, 07:15:24 pm
Wow you got one dunno how but you got one last I was told it was not going to be released to the public till May 17th to May 20th, 2010 or till Professional reviews were done.

Hmmmm weird weird I'm perplexed now well I have alot to discuss this with Dingoo-Tech on Sunday and find out how and why it was being sold already. I would hate to jump the gun and sell the few I have in stock if more fixes are in the pipeline...

Below is a reply I got from: So it's either a miscommunication or misunderstanding or something not sure at this point will have more details come sunday....

http://www.consoles-mobiles.com/article-dingoo-a330-719.htm

Hello,
 
I'm french reseller. So i sell Dingoo A330 on french territories...
 
Sofia (www.dingoo.hk) wasn't told us to wait (France only).
 
US and UK customers can't order on my website yet.
 
Good sells !
 
Marc
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: Pinkel on January 19, 2011, 11:01:28 am
Hello!
I think about buying a Dingoo console, but i don't know which one is better for me - a320 or a330. The older one is cheaper, but the newer has better triggers, more RAM and you can buy a joypad for it (playing on TV is important to me :) ). What do you recommend?
One question - does a330 have the same software, including build-in games?
Aw, i forgot about the most important thing. I have Nintendo DS Lite, so is it any reason for me to buy Dingoo?
P.S.
Sorry for my crappy English, I am Polish :) .
Title: Re: Review - The Dingoo A330
Post by: TheCaffeinator on January 19, 2011, 05:10:39 pm
If playing on the TV is important to you, get an A330 and a wireless controller; if portability is important to you, get an A320. I have both; I carry my A320 around and use my A330 only as a home console, but that's just my preference. One reason is that the "A" button on my A330 doesn't work very well, so using it as a home console with the wireless controller works better for me; also, the shoulder buttons on the wireless controller provide a better play experience for SNES and GBA games. Sure, you can use an A320 as a home console, but it's kind of awkward given the TV-Out socket placement and the tiny, fragile shoulder buttons.

Emulation is similar between the A330 and A320 except for the NEO GEO and the GBA. NEO GEO works perfectly on the Dingoo Digital A320 but not on the Dingoo Tech A330 (or Dingoo Tech A320). GBA on Dingoo Digital A320 has better compatibility (including Jungletac games) than Dingoo Tech A330 (and Dingoo Tech A320). Apparently, there are some differences in the 3D games, as well, but I'm not certain.

Should owning a DS Lite prevent you from getting a Dingoo? Well...can a DS Lite emulate the GB, GBC, GBA, NES, SNES, Master System, Game Gear, Genesis, Lynx, Turbo Grafx, CPS1, CPS2, and MAME systems?  If you want to play games for these systems and more with one unit, get a Dingoo (Dingux opens up even more possibilities but is not necessary). The Dingoo is also has a video player, music player, FM radio, and more.