Author Topic: Where does he get those wonderful toys??  (Read 36757 times)

Offline ZeroCorpse

  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #105 on: February 09, 2010, 09:58:55 PM »
I did an ebay order from a seller that seems to be an ebay storefront for TGBUS.com, a Beijing dealer.

Unfortunately, I have no details about the company itself, since their website is in Chinese. They have a lot of positive feedback spread across their many ebay storefronts. No feedback mentioned anything about the Dingoo being defective or problematic.

Their photos show a pawed unit, but there's no serial number (and that could be done with photoshop for ebay).  The watermark for their website is in every photo. They have several listings, from different seller names, but all lead back to Beijing, China and have the same layout/photos/watermark.

Anyone else use them yet? I can't believe a seller with that big a presence on ebay wouldn't be responsible for many of the Dingoo units out there.


Offline jeremymtc

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #106 on: February 11, 2010, 02:43:01 AM »
Mine is on the way from toy_bar, one of the TGBUS.com ebay storefronts. I'll report on its type when I get it. Incidentally, I bought from them because they have overwhelmingly positive feedback, and because I was ignorant of the existence of Dingoo-Digital USA - had I known that there was an authorized US dealer, I would have made the purchase there.

Offline xa2er

  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #107 on: February 14, 2010, 10:12:48 AM »
I bought mine in http://www.zococity.es an spanish shop. There are both white & black dingoo's (mine is pawed).
I recommend it.


Offline blastyrant

  • *
  • Posts: 100
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #108 on: February 18, 2010, 01:53:48 AM »
here is some info i've just been e-mailed from thinkgeek's tech support..

"I can actually just let you know that these are the HK versions specifically made for us though."

they were unable to comment on the battery size, the type of memory, etc.

Offline wiredredneck

  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #109 on: February 18, 2010, 04:46:15 AM »
yeah i didn't think to e-mail thinkgeek about mine when i bought it but works fine not many problems with it's froze up a few times with certain emulators but i think it might have just been the roms. i have bricked it tho and got the red and blue unauthorized screens thank god joyrider had a fix for it. its unpawed with a30 made in china on the back but the serial # is 4g a320bk9600729 no hk in it besides the minor lockups now and then i am happy with it everything works fine just the occasional glitch but everything has minor problems eventually. not willing to open it up to find out the specs of the hardware tho but if you find out let me know.

Offline ravage2002

  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #110 on: February 21, 2010, 01:43:11 AM »
Dingoo-Digital-USA.com also ship to Canada for those interested, also, bought mine from gamersection.ca which sell at a higher price but got shipped and received it only 2 days later, so well worth the money. (Btw, gamersection sell the Chinese white 4gb with the serial ending with HK, but like I said in another post doesn't seem to have any problems with native apps or dingux for that mater.)  ;D

Offline ZeroCorpse

  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #111 on: February 25, 2010, 07:22:55 AM »
OK, so my Dingoo from store.cn, one of the TGBUS.com fronts, arrived today. Here's what I can tell you thus far:

There is a Paw on the back.

Back says:
Dingoo Digital
A-320
made in china

Serial number near left speaker has a BK in it near the beginning, but has no HK in it.

LCD is ILI9331

Firmware is 1.2

When I installed Dingux, I had to use Puppy Linux (I'm on 64-bit Windows 7 and that didn't work). Once there, I discovered that the Dingoo wouldn't even go into the install mode when I used the standard hwinit.bin file. I had to substitute the hwinit_2_9331.bin instead, and then everything worked.

(I'll also note that the "idiot's guide to installing Dingux" screws up on the linux terminal commands, and omits the necessary "1" between usbtool-linux and  zImage_dual_boot_installer. I finally figured it out myself.)

So far, I've had a few freezes, most notably in some third-party native Dingoo emulators. However, it works pretty well and Dingux installed without my pulling out too much of my hair, so all is well.

I got the official sleeve and silicon skin for the Dingoo with the order, and they're both pretty nice. I don't like the silicon skin for gaming, though, as it impedes the D-pad a little too much (fireballs in Capcom games were tough with it on). He also had a bunch of games loaded on the NAND; Pretty much all of the ROMs were in Chinese, and very few of them had filenames that describe the game; Instead, everything is made to appear pretty generic with numbers instead of names. Still, there's some interesting stuff loaded on it. For someone who doesn't want to do any searching for ROMs, this is a good buy.

The unit itself initally gave off a sort of burny smell, and I have to say, after owning a GP2X Wiz, that the speakers on the Dingoo are horrible in comparison. The unit itself feels better than the Wiz (especially the ABXY buttons) but I can't get used to the R & L shoulder buttons yet. They're too small!

I can endorse store.cn (and other related storefronts) as a decent seller *at the moment* if you're looking for a Dingoo. Shipping speed was decent, and extras included were impressive, and (for now, at least) he doesn't seem to be selling the HK or unpawed units.


Offline jeremymtc

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #112 on: February 26, 2010, 03:23:59 AM »
^^

I got mine the day before yesterday, and can report the exact same experience as above. Also had to use the newer version of hwinit in order to install dual-boot.

Offline bloodgnome

  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #113 on: March 18, 2010, 03:47:57 PM »
Since Dealextreme sucks monkey-balls with their shopping system (In stock when i ordered it 2nd December, then temporary out of stock since xmas, back in stock first week of jan., and now sold out) i ordered yesterday 2 white Dingoos on

http://www.gameyeeeah.com

Stupid shop-name but good prices. I used the cheapest shipping and a 5% discount code (videogame).

Today i got a mail that the dingoos are shipped...yay.

I will post back when I get them...hope it will be the paw-version *keepsfingerscrossed.

Sorry for the late update. I got the white Dingoos about 4 Weeks ago. BK-Serial. Everything fine so far. But it was the first time i had to go to the customs office to get them (And pay some extra $). Never happend with dealextreme, but I guess i was just lucky back then.

Offline ReiketsuNariseba

  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #114 on: March 20, 2010, 09:57:47 PM »
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.23032

It seems that black Dingoos are back in stock, and DE's techical support answered already that they are pawed.
Can someone provide additional information? I thought I might finally be able to get me a nice handheld instead of sucky S60 emulators.

Offline Ragdon

  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #115 on: March 27, 2010, 03:06:50 PM »
I found this from Focalprice. Either it's a real good fake or there's a typo in the name and it's actually the real thing. I still wouldn't buy it atleast yet.

ddragoonss

  • Guest
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #116 on: March 27, 2010, 03:39:48 PM »
Buy mine from Bestofferbuy cause they have the dingoo in stock, unlike the DX.

Offline joepie91

  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #117 on: April 04, 2010, 08:11:15 PM »
I found this from Focalprice. Either it's a real good fake or there's a typo in the name and it's actually the real thing. I still wouldn't buy it atleast yet.
Seems like a fake. Especially since it's called "Dingguo" in the description as well.

Offline blastyrant

  • *
  • Posts: 100
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #118 on: April 08, 2010, 03:10:57 AM »
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.23032

It seems that black Dingoos are back in stock, and DE's techical support answered already that they are pawed.
Can someone provide additional information? I thought I might finally be able to get me a nice handheld instead of sucky S60 emulators.

I ordered 2 Dingoo's from DX and both had problems. The first took me just under 2 months for them to "allow" me to send it back for a replacement, which arrived a month later. The second took just under 4 months for them to "agree" to give me a full refund. They would not refund the cost of shipping because the entire process of complaints lasted over their "30-days" in which a product must be sent back by. I finally received a Paypal refund just under 6 months after the time of purchase.

FYI -- DX has a hit or miss customer support. The prices are right but if you get a faulty product expect a large headache while trying to get it made right.

Personally I won't buy anything over $10 from them again.

I can only comment on my experience I can not comment on what they are currently selling. But I will add that no matter how hard it can be to get your point across, I have never been lied to by a DX staff member.

Offline ValdikSS

  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Where does he get those wonderful toys??
« Reply #119 on: June 06, 2010, 07:27:34 PM »
Hi guys!
Where should I buy dingoo: dealextreme or superufo?
Is the pawed version better that non-pawed?